Panasonic FZ1000 4k camera with 1" sensor! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 176 Old 08-03-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,598
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1398 Post(s)
Liked: 1520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattias Burling View Post
Yes but some say "Thou Shall Not Zoom While Recording"
(85% of the times I agree).
That's true. It's the other 15% of the time that will nail you. I'd also like to hear from Billy about the focus stability. That's been an issue for me in non-camcorder style Panasonics.
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 176 Old 08-03-2014, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The FZ1000 is being slagged to the earth.A few years ago i bought a GH2 because of the rave reports it was getting,i far from liked mine,the natural greens had a yellow look,M&A was bad.Lets hope the reverse is the case with the FZ1000 if i ever get one,the very cheap FZ72 i bought for wildlife due to its very long zoom has been a good purchase.
flintyplus is offline  
post #63 of 176 Old 08-03-2014, 07:07 PM
Member
 
ricksastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have both (bought the FZ1000 mostly for vacation mix photography). I posted something similar in the AX100 thread (although I've been doing more comparisons), so I thought I'd post here.

The bad of the FZ1000:
  • The zoom is indeed not nearly as smooth as the AX100...and only one speed. Zooming with the lens ring is not smooth at all...stick with the shutter lever.
  • The aperture does indeed click (and the associated change in brightness) twice through the zoom range even in aperture priority locked at f4. Clicks when changing exposures in Shutter priority. The zoom noises are noticeable, although the camera attenuated the mic during zoom. The IS noises are also noticeable even outside with a quiet ambient noise environment (even with IS off).
  • The Lack of ND is certainly a convenience negative.
  • For 4k, there is no wide angle (it's 37-592mm equiv recording 4k).
  • Focusing is a little fidgety, but not nearly as bad as the GH4 + 14-140...I'd say acceptable. Seems to keep up quite well when zooming.
  • Clicky exposure compensation (if you leave the shutter lever for zooming)


The good for the FZ:
  • IS is much more effective than even active mode on the AX100 and tons better than the RX10
  • You can adjust the image parameters to your preferences for 4k. I've adjusted mine to be a little more similar to the AX100, shifting AWB to reduce the panasonic green/yellow and upping the sharpening a little...pretty happy with where I'm at.
  • You do get more reach with 4k (almost 600mm), although with active stabilization, the AX100 is almost the same.
  • Is a most excellent stills camera...excellent optics overall. SOme are seeing not great 400mm, but I'm pretty picky and mine is nice and sharp at 400 even viewed at 100%.
  • Similar lack of moire as the AX100. Not as super detailed, but a little more filmic.
  • No touchscreen focusing
  • Far more customizable interface (buttons, levers...), custom setting dial...C1 is my "4k video" setting with all camera functions retained in memory.

Overall, I'm definitely keeping the FZ1000, since it's stills capabilities are excellent and it's a super comfortable and convenient do-everything pretty darned well package.

I'm on the fence on the AX100. I feel I'd have to get an external mic and would definitely have to get an ND filter if the FZ1000 were my primary video camera. But with those 2 things, it makes a very capable camera. The zoom things a bit of a bummer, but I find I don't like zooming footage with the AX100 either...it's not a very linear rate of zoom through the range. AX100 focus is smoother and faster and touch focus is wonderful.

Probably the biggest reason to keep the AX is the much wider angle in 4k. If you need that, there are no work-arounds (besides maybe some wide angle adapters which put stress on the lens mechanism and decrease IQ).

Cost-wise, of course the FX1000 is a bargain give it's extreme versatility.

Amazing times for sure!
ricksastro is offline  
post #64 of 176 Old 08-05-2014, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricksastro View Post
shifting AWB to reduce the panasonic green/yellow
May I ask what specific adjustments you are making in regard to reduce the yellowish tint panasonic cameras tend to impart to green foliage? Thanks.
SD90 is offline  
post #65 of 176 Old 08-05-2014, 05:44 AM
Member
 
ricksastro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD90 View Post
May I ask what specific adjustments you are making in regard to reduce the yellowish tint panasonic cameras tend to impart to green foliage? Thanks.
I'm finding the best balance for me (for now) was selecting portrait mode and then adjusting AWB by hitting the down arrow and biasing it M4 (basically shifting it downwards 4 clicks).

Lot more playing to do but for now that got me closer...

Rick
ricksastro is offline  
post #66 of 176 Old 08-05-2014, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The GH2 i owned had the yellowish tint,but neither of my current FZ models does,quite nice greens on them,i am hoping the FZ1000 is the same.

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-05-2014 at 10:07 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #67 of 176 Old 08-14-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Is this part of the preview of the GH4 correct

[The 4K internal recording is H.264 at 100Mbit/s (megabits per second). The H.264 codec is much more efficient than MJPEG on the Canon 1D C and to save Canon’s blushes we won’t mention the price! The 1D C uses a bitrate of 500Mbit/s just to keep the image quality up. The end result is that you can store just 20 minutes of 4K video per 64GB compact flash card on the 1D C but a much more practical 90 minutes of 4K on one 64GB SD card with the GH4].
from http://www.eoshd.com/content/11934/p...ic-gh4-preview
And does it apply to all 4K or vary from model to model the FZ1000 included.Personaly i have read varying lengths of 4K video that a 64GB card will hold.
flintyplus is offline  
post #68 of 176 Old 08-14-2014, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 29
500 Mbit/s is insane. 100 Mbit/s seems sensible enough for 4K with H.264 or H.265.
Ungermann is offline  
post #69 of 176 Old 08-14-2014, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post
Is this part of the preview of the GH4 correct

[The 4K internal recording is H.264 at 100Mbit/s (megabits per second). The H.264 codec is much more efficient than MJPEG on the Canon 1D C and to save Canon’s blushes we won’t mention the price! The 1D C uses a bitrate of 500Mbit/s just to keep the image quality up. The end result is that you can store just 20 minutes of 4K video per 64GB compact flash card on the 1D C but a much more practical 90 minutes of 4K on one 64GB SD card with the GH4].
from http://www.eoshd.com/content/11934/p...ic-gh4-preview
And does it apply to all 4K or vary from model to model the FZ1000 included.Personaly i have read varying lengths of 4K video that a 64GB card will hold.

It's just arithmetic. If the bitrate is 100Mbit/s then that is 12.5 megabytes per second. The card holds 64GB, so divide that by 12.5 megabytes to get the total number of seconds (btw, on my GH4 I rarely see the bitrate go as high as 80 Mbit/s). Anyway, at the 100 Mbit/s, a 64 GB card will hold 84 minutes. I believe the bitrate for the FZ1000 is the same as the GH4, so this applies to the GH4 and the FZ1000. The arithmetic can be used to calculate how much video the AX100 will put on a 64GB card, with its 60 Mbit/s 4K rate. Answer left to the reader.


Please correct if I have made a mistake (and I know that a 64GB card does not really have 64GBs of space).
markr041 is offline  
post #70 of 176 Old 08-14-2014, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Cheers for that info.
Another point someone may know is ,it says in this review http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/1290...-fz1000-review the camera uses the DMW-BLC12 but according to
http://www.amazon.co.uk/PANASONIC-DM...s=panasonic+dm its a GH2 battery

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-14-2014 at 04:34 PM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #71 of 176 Old 08-14-2014, 06:32 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 60
ALS Ice Bucket Challenge - using FZ1000

Take the challenge, nominate others, contribute or Both!
http://www.alsa.org/

auto everything and splash proof.

William Chiu is online now  
post #72 of 176 Old 08-15-2014, 12:56 AM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post
Personaly i have read varying lengths of 4K video that a 64GB card will hold.
My Sandisk 32GB U3 card holds 41 minutes, 22 seconds worth of GH4 4K video on average. So a 64GB card would be double that. I'd image the FZ1000 would be the same or very similar.
SD90 is offline  
post #73 of 176 Old 08-15-2014, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD90 View Post
My Sandisk 32GB U3 card holds 41 minutes, 22 seconds worth of GH4 4K video on average. So a 64GB card would be double that. I'd image the FZ1000 would be the same or very similar.
Thanks,now i am hoping that DMW-BLC12 is the correct battery as i have ordered spares i should know today when the Camera arrives but one battery will not be enough for an event i hope to record sunday.
flintyplus is offline  
post #74 of 176 Old 08-15-2014, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Played with it today,pleased so far,one thing 4k clips on my Pal version are limited to 20m20s,of course i have only seen footage on 1920 HD monitors so far.
flintyplus is offline  
post #75 of 176 Old 08-16-2014, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
https://vimeo.com/103578418


Testing yesterday,the first day with the camera.
flintyplus is offline  
post #76 of 176 Old 08-16-2014, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Looks real good. Audio is real good too.
SD90 is offline  
post #77 of 176 Old 08-16-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks but i know little about 4k yet,i have a lot to learn,sound was from my external RSVM
flintyplus is offline  
post #78 of 176 Old 08-16-2014, 09:35 PM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Watched your video again this evening on my retina display Macbook. Colors, clarity and exposure look perfect! I really like the audio too...what does "external RSVM" stand for? Thanks.
SD90 is offline  
post #79 of 176 Old 08-17-2014, 12:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD90 View Post
Watched your video again this evening on my retina display Macbook. Colors, clarity and exposure look perfect! I really like the audio too...what does "external RSVM" stand for? Thanks.
SD90 RSVM [Rode Stereo Video Mic]sorry i should have said in full.
but i think my 4k work started too well,of my softwares only Powerdirector pro 7 will edit 4k ,Coral and Magix did not want to know,but now Powerdirector is playing up,the only files from My FZ1000 raw clips that it will render to Video files is low resolution ones,even 1920x1080P 28mbps 50P files are comiing out with sound but no picture,if i render and output to AVCHD or BD diic the fotage is not good,an interlaced mushy look whether i render discs 50i or 24P, or 50P with AVCHD discs,24P also has an awful jerky look but all my softwares do that with 24P renders from all my cameras footage,my pc is up to it for shore ,its the software..

Edit i see my files show as .MT2 others Marks etc MP4

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-17-2014 at 01:00 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #80 of 176 Old 08-18-2014, 04:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Now Using PHOTOfun STUDIO 9.5 P4 from the supplied disc to down convert to MOV FHD which after tests show to have a better bitrate and slightly better PQ than MP4s 1920X1080P
flintyplus is offline  
post #81 of 176 Old 08-18-2014, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pezgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Page 33 of the user manual shows recording times..

For MP4, it says 1h20m for a 64gb card on 4K, 5h for 1080/60p, 6h40m for 1080/30p, 12h45m for 720/30p
AVCHD, 1080/60p is 5h, 1080/60i 8h15m, 5h50m for 1080/30p/24p

Here's some interesting info:
• [AVCHD] motion pictures:
Recording stops when the continuous recording time exceeds 29 minutes and 59 seconds.

•Motion pictures with their file size set to [FHD], [HD] or [VGA] in [MP4]:
Recording stops when the continuous recording time exceeds 29 minutes and 59 seconds or
the file size exceeds 4 GB.
– Since the file size becomes larger with [FHD], recording with [FHD] will stop before
29 minutes 59 seconds.

•Motion pictures with their file size set to [4K] in [MP4]:
Recording stops when the continuous recording time exceeds 29 minutes and 59 seconds.
(You can continue recording without interruption even if the file size exceeds 4 GB, but the
motion picture file will be divided and played back separately.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RecordingTime.png
Views:	22
Size:	122.7 KB
ID:	217401  
pezgod is offline  
post #82 of 176 Old 08-22-2014, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
https://vimeo.com/104123791
Thanks to help i have made 4K films,they dont play with the resolution of the stored clips though.
https://vimeo.com/104920668

Last edited by flintyplus; 09-01-2014 at 08:59 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #83 of 176 Old 08-22-2014, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Chris, may I ask what picture style, white balance and similar settings you are using for these outdoor shots? The colors are absolutely perfect and I am envious. I'd like to see if I could get similar results with my GH4 if I used your settings. Thanks.
SD90 is offline  
post #84 of 176 Old 08-23-2014, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
After a fair bit of testing i find little if any difference between awb/sunlight,and manual card setting,most of what i filmed that day was on sunlight.Staqndard picture style.
Mixed a few lower resolution FZ72 CLIPS including even lower i zoom ones,no room on vimeo.

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-23-2014 at 03:01 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #85 of 176 Old 08-23-2014, 10:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,598
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1398 Post(s)
Liked: 1520
I would agree the color is better than I was ever able to dial in on my GH4 under any picture profile. Colors are not overdone like I experienced on the GH4.

So strange that Panasonic has what appears to be a more accurate color balance on the FZ1000 than their flagship. But it's not the first time I've seen this kind of thing.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #86 of 176 Old 08-23-2014, 10:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,598
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1398 Post(s)
Liked: 1520
Chris, at :30 in your last video, I see the same kind of 'distorted' look to the video that I experienced on my GH4. If you look at that scene, it's almost as if you're seeing heat waves, but I doubt that's the cause. Have you seen this elsewhere?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #87 of 176 Old 08-23-2014, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
So strange that Panasonic has what appears to be a more accurate color balance on the FZ1000 than their flagship.
Yeah its strange. And frustrating for us GH4 owners. The color balance of the GH4 isn't off by alot, but it's not spot on like it is on the FZ1000. Hope Panasonic comes out with a firmware fix.
SD90 is offline  
post #88 of 176 Old 08-24-2014, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Chris, at :30 in your last video, I see the same kind of 'distorted' look to the video that I experienced on my GH4. If you look at that scene, it's almost as if you're seeing heat waves, but I doubt that's the cause. Have you seen this elsewhere?
Yes i see it ken,i dont know what it is,i have checked the origional stored file and its shows clearer there,perhaps someone can give an idea what it could be,i have not noticed it before and normaly would not include bad clips in films.
A question for you,as you say editing 4k on pcs is no problem,i have a pretty powerful pc now,on powerdirector they play fine on the imported media files but when i drag them to the editing timeline playback is very poor,almost impossible to tell whats good and bad,probobly why the clip got in the film.
By the wayIf you are still coming over here bring your winter clothes,i have never in all my years known it so cold in August.

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-24-2014 at 10:09 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #89 of 176 Old 08-24-2014, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
More pieces of 2014s buckham fair.

And here is a strange one, footage recorded with my FZ1000 and my fastest class 3 card 280 MB/s wont play properly on powerdirectors timeline although fine on the input folders,but footage recorded on class 1 cards play on the timeline ok,both cards record identical 692 mb per minute on a clip,what i have found is that with the class 1 cards i cant scroll back through to watch different clips as the camera will lock up,it does not do this with class 3 cards.

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-24-2014 at 03:04 PM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #90 of 176 Old 08-25-2014, 03:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 23
https://vimeo.com/104280074
While i am pleased with the quality of the picture from the camera i wish the sound was good quality as well,but compared to my HF-G30 it is average at best,the onboard mic is as far as i am concerned as good as useless the noise from the sensor is continualy heard,the noise does not come from the power OIS or AF because its there with them turned off,even with my Rode stereo mic its poor compared to the HF-G30,but for me the video quality makes up for the sound.My concern is why footage from class 3 280mbps cards wont play any sense on my timeline while class1 95 mbps will.Use class 1 all the time ! ok for recording but if i try and find clips to check on the camera with a class 1 card it soon locks the camera with class 3 you can.
Taking stills from video is a very nice feature as its possible to pause on an exact spot and get the 8 megapix still,i am not sure if all 4k cameras have this option.

Last edited by flintyplus; 08-25-2014 at 09:36 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
Reply Camcorders
Gear in this thread - FZ1000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off