Optics: AX100 vs FZ1000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 07-20-2014, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AJInstitute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Optics: AX100 vs FZ1000

From a cursory look at their spec sheets, these two cameras seem to have very similar optics.

62mm front element f/2.8 - 4(4.5) lens projecting onto a 20MP 1" sensor with direct pixel readout.

The Sony spec is barely slower on the long end at less overall zoom, but are both cameras likely to have similar optical performance?
AJInstitute is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 Old 07-20-2014, 07:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,988
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1007 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
The only thing we can say is that front element size and lens speed tells us little about the lens quality. That question will be answered once the FZ is released. We do know that the Zeiss lenses used in the Sonys have been excellent. Likewise, the Leica lenses often used in the Pannys, are nothing to sneeze at.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #3 of 36 Old 07-20-2014, 09:34 PM
Member
 
P&Struefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The lens on the AX100 is a very good lens in terms of not showing any major weaknesses. Excellent resolving power to let the 8M-pixel image pop out. CAs are almost unnoticeable, very low distortion and low flare. I heard some people say the camera used software tricks to correct the distortion at the wide end resulting in the cropped out frame that narrows the FoV. I don't mind that IMO. What it doesn't show is what is not there for me.

If I have to point out a weakness about the optics of the AX100 it would probably be the size of the system required to cover the 1" image circle of the sensor surely compromised Sony engineers's options to design a more effective OIS into the system. I own a number of Sony smaller handycams equipped with a much smaller 1/2.88" sensor, all have a more effective in-the-lens OIS system, both Standard and the digitally enhanced Active Mode. Not to even mention the gyro-stabilized PJ760V whose OIS is in another class entirely.
P&Struefan is offline  
post #4 of 36 Old 07-21-2014, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AJInstitute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Its probably a bit optimistic of me to think that they will be equivalent at such a price difference. There have been lots of great examples of the beautiful moving images the Sony can take. I can't say that the YouTube Panasonic videos have looked as good. I'd really like to see a comparison video in the hands of a skilled shooter. I'm sure one will be posted here in the next several weeks.
AJInstitute is offline  
post #5 of 36 Old 07-21-2014, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 71
DPR FZ1000 review





http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/pana...x-dmc-fz1000/8

Last edited by jogiba; 07-21-2014 at 01:44 PM.
jogiba is offline  
post #6 of 36 Old 07-21-2014, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJInstitute View Post
Its probably a bit optimistic of me to think that they will be equivalent at such a price difference. There have been lots of great examples of the beautiful moving images the Sony can take. I can't say that the YouTube Panasonic videos have looked as good. I'd really like to see a comparison video in the hands of a skilled shooter. I'm sure one will be posted here in the next several weeks.
I'm sure markr041 will be getting an FZ1000 immediately. As for Ken Ross, he'll skip it but he might get the Panasonic LX8 immediately. Mark might get the LX8 at the same time as Ken. Joking aside, it'll be hard for anyone with an AX100 already to consider the FZ1000.

My Youtube page:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Flickr page:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by Paulo Teixeira; 07-21-2014 at 08:02 PM.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #7 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jogiba View Post
Dpreview still has not reviewed and rated the GH4 which has been on the US market nearly 3 months - yet it reviewed and rated the FZ1000 before it even hit the US market!
SD90 is offline  
post #8 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 28
All the reviews I watched and read say that the FZ1000 drops to F4 very quickly when you zoom in. Basically, it is F2.8 only in full wide mode. Also, it has no ND filter (at least not one that can be manually controlled). No 4Kp24.

The RX10 Mk2 would be the ultimate camera if Sony adds 50+ Mbit/s, 4K, and mechanically faster zoom.

Last edited by Ungermann; 07-22-2014 at 08:12 AM.
Ungermann is online now  
post #9 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,988
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1007 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post
All the reviews I watched and read say that the FZ1000 drops to F4 very quickly when you zoom in. Basically, it is F2.8 only in full wide mode. Also, it has no ND filter (at least not one that can be manually controlled). No 4Kp24.

The RX10 Mk2 would be the ultimate camera if Sony adds 50+ Mbit/s, 4K, and mechanically faster zoom.
C'mon Ungermann, we know you better than that. No matter what they did, you'd find something wrong. I don't think I've ever read a post from you where you were happy with an upcoming or just-released camera.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #10 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,988
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1007 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo Teixeira View Post
I'm sure markr041 will be getting an FZ1000 immediately. As for Ken Ross, he'll skip it but he might get the Panasonic LX8 immediately. Mark might get the LX8 at the same time as Ken. Joking aside, it'll be hard for anyone with an AX100 already to consider the FZ1000.
Mark and I are actually the same person. We (I) have just been trying to find the right time to let the cat out of the bag.
Mattias Burling likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #11 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
C'mon Ungermann, we know you better than that. No matter what they did, you'd find something wrong. I don't think I've ever read a post from you where you were happy with an upcoming or just-released camera.
I can understand limitations like slow (mechanically) lens on the RX10 or slow (optically) lens on the FZ1000, I even can get that 4k60p supposedly needs more power than the AX100 and FZ1000 can deliver. By why no 4k24p on the FZ1000? It requires less power than 4k30p, not more. These arbitrary decisions by product management make me mad. At least we don't have 24p packaged into 30i anymore.
Ungermann is online now  
post #12 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 03:36 PM
Member
 
James Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I think that the most significant difference is that the AX100 lens system includes ND (neutral density) filters. I think this makes a huge difference in bright conditions. It is very difficult to keep the shutter speed at 1/60th. You could close down the aperture but once you do that your image will start to degrade once you get past about f8 due to the diffraction limit. Adding ND filters in front of the lens is not a convenient solution.
James Jimmy is online now  
post #13 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Their are high quality "variable" ND filters out their. The only inconvenience is to take it off if shooting in environments with less than ideal lighting. Heliopan have gotten a lot of praise but Tiffen and Singh-Ray are also good. It also protects your lens but on the other hand, it's makes the camera slightly bigger and slightly more expensive.


My Youtube page:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Flickr page:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by Paulo Teixeira; 07-22-2014 at 08:09 PM.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #14 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
hatchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 55
ND filters are essential for shooting outdoors, no question. Having them built in is a huge convenience worth paying for.
Ken Ross likes this.
hatchback is offline  
post #15 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,829
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo Teixeira View Post
Their are high quality "variable" ND filters out their.
I have one, a $50 Chinese one. It worked fine until it gathered dust inside, now the image lost resolution. OTOH, some may say it looks more like 16mm footage.
Ungermann is online now  
post #16 of 36 Old 07-22-2014, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Mattias Burling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Variable NDs are a bit anoying but since you would pretty much leave it on these cameras its less of a pain. I use the magnetic Xume adapters so I can move them quickly.

On the topic of cheap vs expensive I have had zero luck with cheaper once until now...

Did a shootout,


Last edited by Mattias Burling; 07-23-2014 at 02:12 AM.
Mattias Burling is online now  
post #17 of 36 Old 07-23-2014, 01:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Eek i have pre-ordered one,may need advice as i shall be editing in 1920x1080P,what is the easiest way to record in 4K and downconvert the footage to 1920x1080P for editing,i dont use the expensive complicated softwares
flintyplus is offline  
post #18 of 36 Old 07-23-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,988
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1007 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Wow Chris, coming over to the dark side? I'm sure you'll enjoy the camera.

As for editing, most of the editors simply allow you to set up a 1080p project and then automatically resize your 4K file to 1080p when you drop on to the timeline.

Which software are you using? There may be someone here using it too.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #19 of 36 Old 07-23-2014, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Wow Chris, coming over to the dark side? I'm sure you'll enjoy the camera.

As for editing, most of the editors simply allow you to set up a 1080p project and then automatically resize your 4K file to 1080p when you drop on to the timeline.

Which software are you using? There may be someone here using it too.
Ken thanks mate,i am only using Magix and Coral prox 7 at present,i tend to be a bit slow with the advanced ones As for coming over to the Dark i think like you i am not a Brand
fanatic and use any make if the product suits me, Cheers again.
One thing this or any 4K cam or camera will do is get me close ups like some of this 4080mm equivalent content. https://vimeo.com/101511758

Last edited by flintyplus; 07-24-2014 at 09:10 AM.
flintyplus is offline  
post #20 of 36 Old 07-25-2014, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Will i have to use a SDXC U3 card for 4K video or will SanDisk SDSDXPA-064G-X46 64 GB Extreme Pro UHS-I SDHC 95Mbps Memory Cards suffice.
flintyplus is offline  
post #21 of 36 Old 07-25-2014, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post
Will i have to use a SDXC U3 card for 4K video or will SanDisk SDSDXPA-064G-X46 64 GB Extreme Pro UHS-I SDHC 95Mbps Memory Cards suffice.

On the GH4, which claims also to require SDXC U3 for 4K, I have used that exact Sandisk Extreme Pro card for all of my 4K videos without any problems. That same Sandisk card also worked for shooting RAW with the BMPCC (it is the only card that does), which has a much higher bitrate that the Panasonic 4K.
markr041 is online now  
post #22 of 36 Old 07-25-2014, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post
On the GH4, which claims also to require SDXC U3 for 4K, I have used that exact Sandisk Extreme Pro card for all of my 4K videos without any problems. That same Sandisk card also worked for shooting RAW with the BMPCC (it is the only card that does), which has a much higher bitrate that the Panasonic 4K.
Ok thanks so i should be ok with the SanDisk SDSDXPA-064G-X46 64 GB Extreme Pro UHS-I SDHC Memory Card i have
flintyplus is offline  
post #23 of 36 Old 07-25-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post
Ok thanks so i should be ok with the SanDisk SDSDXPA-064G-X46 64 GB Extreme Pro UHS-I SDHC Memory Card i have

Yes, but do test it out.
markr041 is online now  
post #24 of 36 Old 07-25-2014, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post
Will i have to use a SDXC U3 card for 4K video or will SanDisk SDSDXPA-064G-X46 64 GB Extreme Pro UHS-I SDHC 95Mbps Memory Cards suffice.
On the GH4, if you don't use a U3 card you can get freeze ups and/or card error messages when shooting 1080 in slo mo (96fps) or 1080@200mbps, but the Extreme Pro U1 card is sufficient for shooting in 4K. I personally like to shoot slo mo now and then so two months ago I bit he bullet and paid $125 for a 32 GB SanDisk U3 card. In this 1.5 hour presentation the Panasonic rep talks about cards at some point:
SD90 is offline  
post #25 of 36 Old 07-25-2014, 11:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD90 View Post
On the GH4, if you don't use a U3 card you can get freeze ups and/or card error messages when shooting 1080 in slo mo (96fps) or 1080@200mbps, but the Extreme Pro U1 card is sufficient for shooting in 4K. I personally like to shoot slo mo now and then so two months ago I bit he bullet and paid $125 for a 32 GB SanDisk U3 card. In this 1.5 hour presentation the Panasonic rep talks about cards at some point: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6mKJyhtCO0
Thank you for the info,To be safe i am considering getting a http://www.mymemory.co.uk/SDXC/SanDi...UHS-II-280MB_s of these which should be fine and if the SDXC USH-95 mb/s works ok i will have 2,does that make sense.Also will my integral card reader that i use be ok for reading 4K from the cards.
flintyplus is offline  
post #26 of 36 Old 07-26-2014, 12:12 AM
Senior Member
 
SD90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post
Thank you for the info,To be safe i am considering getting a http://www.mymemory.co.uk/SDXC/SanDi...UHS-II-280MB_s
Yep that's a top quality, ultra fast writing U3 card. Same one I use, except I have the 32 GB version. On page 17 of the FZ1000 owners manual Panasonic specifies U3 cards for 4K recording: http://service.us.panasonic.com/oper.../DMCFZ1000.pdf
However, as others have mentioned here as well as on DVX-user, you may find your Extreme Pro U1 card works too nearly all of the time. I have no experience with card readers as I transfer images via USB cable or using the SD card slot that's built into my laptop.
SD90 is offline  
post #27 of 36 Old 07-26-2014, 02:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ok thanks SD90 and Mark,i have to use card readers on my editing Pc as there are no card slots and i prefer it to connecting my cameras via their usb cables.
flintyplus is offline  
post #28 of 36 Old 07-26-2014, 05:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I have been using the 128GB Transcend U3 SDXC card since day one with my GH4 in 4K and 1080p 200mb/s without any problems .



http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...5_w60mb_s.html
jogiba is offline  
post #29 of 36 Old 07-26-2014, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD90 View Post
Yep that's a top quality, ultra fast writing U3 card. Same one I use, except I have the 32 GB version. On page 17 of the FZ1000 owners manual Panasonic specifies U3 cards for 4K recording: http://service.us.panasonic.com/oper.../DMCFZ1000.pdf
However, as others have mentioned here as well as on DVX-user, you may find your Extreme Pro U1 card works too nearly all of the time. I have no experience with card readers as I transfer images via USB cable or using the SD card slot that's built into my laptop.
One thing i hope i am mistaken on page 21 it says
Creative Video Mode (P34)
Records a motion picture with the aperture value and the shutter speed you specify. In this
recording mode, all the motion picture functions become available. For example, you can
record motion pictures in 4K
Does this meen for video 4k or normal HD you have to set the aperture and shutter all the time,there is no auto mode for video.
flintyplus is offline  
post #30 of 36 Old 07-26-2014, 09:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,988
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1007 Post(s)
Liked: 1091
Chris, every Panny I've ever seen has a full auto mode. But I'm sure you'll get better video quality by overriding some of the auto settings.

Further, the manual mode may be 'part manual' in that it may allow you to set an aperture and then it will automatically set the shutter speed. You can probably also set the shutter speed and it will automatically set the aperture.

Edit: Just looked at the manual and it does seem to imply that 4K is only engaged in Creative Movie Mode. But as I said before, I believe you can set one parameter and the camera will set the others. I can't go through the manual at this point, but I think you'll be OK.

Last edited by Ken Ross; 07-26-2014 at 09:08 AM.
Ken Ross is offline  
Reply Camcorders
Gear in this thread - AX100 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off