How do I record w 2 mics on a camcorder? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 08-22-2014, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I record w 2 mics on a camcorder?

Hi friends.

I am an amateur with camcorders. I have some intermediate experience with graphic design and with the recording and editing of music, but not with video editing. I am trying to learn fast how to do both filming and editing. (I have two laptops, one is a PowerBook G4 and the other, a Sony Vaio. The one has iMovie, so I think I will be editing with that, for now. With only 2GB of RAM and a 2GHz processor, I don't have much to work with. I am open to using Windows as well.)

In fact, I am in the U.S. on vacation, but I live in South America. I will be going back in ten days, and wanted to buy the camcorder here, to take back and use it there.

Three weeks ago I bought a new Canon HF R500 with only the very basic accessories, and now I need to know which additional accessories to buy--especially the microphones.

My main interest is in recording conversations between two and three people, to demonstrate certain aspects of conversation, persuasion, argumentation, question-and-answer techniques, and other things, mostly using a rehearsed dialog. I hope to edit the videos, shorten them, and present them together with my power-point teaching presentations somehow. (Until now I have been using only text and photos in my presentations, and I am making the videos in order to enhance the program with a little visual variety).

I will eventually be adding subtitles and background music, but nothing much more sophisticated than that, for now.