Canon HV10 camcorder is the real deal! - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 229 Old 01-22-2007, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am awaiting the HC7 as well, although this Canon looks impressive. One thing I will never get, why 720/60p isn't the de-facto standard for HD camcorders. You don't give up much resolution, and dealing with interlaced video, ESPECIALLY high defintion 1080i interlaced video is a COMPLETE PAIN. Combing artifacts are the norm on most computer players, and I think wmv files created in most video editors have the improper deinterlacing/combing artifacts "burned in" meaning they can't even be fixed on playback.

I am able to get mpeg-2 transport streams to play correctly in some players, but just because I can do it doesn't mean people you send these HD files have their players setup properly to deinterlace 1080i video.

Interlaced video is just a pain, how much extra bandwidth would 720/60p be compared to 1080/60i HDV format? Just seems results would be better all around if everything were 720p instead of 1080i.
uzun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 229 Old 01-23-2007, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzun View Post

One thing I will never get, why 720/60p isn't the de-facto standard for HD camcorders. You don't give up much resolution, and dealing with interlaced video, ESPECIALLY high defintion 1080i interlaced video is a COMPLETE PAIN. .

That's because 1080i can become 1080p with proper deinterlacing while 720p never will. And 1080p just looks way better on a big screen than 720p. The reason we are having this debate about 1080i vs 720p is because of the lack of computer chips to adquately perform this 1080i>1080p task. Does anybody doubt that computer chips will remain the current state of the art for years to come? Pretty soon this issue of having 720p vs 1080i will be moot because there will be no comparison between 720p vs 1080p. You'd better believe that you are better off in shooting all your HDV in 1080i now.
GodobeHD is offline  
post #213 of 229 Old 01-23-2007, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you play back on a decent 1080p HDTV with good 1080i deinterlacing, yes I agree, 1080/60i is better overall vs 720/60p. But the current methods of distributing HD content means most people wont have a 1080p display, and many who do don't have it setup to properly deinterlace 1080/60i sources.

Right now 1080/60i is a total pain in the neck, and 720/60p would be far better looking for MOST setups, and make for better looking wmv and mpeg files for computer playback.
uzun is offline  
post #214 of 229 Old 01-23-2007, 12:38 PM
Member
 
bigbasin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With this and other HD cams, what is your output media? Can you save it on a regular DVDr? or, is it destined to live on tape/hdd until a resonable priced HD DVDr comes out?

Does Adobe Premiere Essentials support HD source yet?

How big are the files, say, for a 30 minute video?

Thanks.
bigbasin is offline  
post #215 of 229 Old 01-23-2007, 04:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbasin View Post

With this and other HD cams, what is your output media? Can you save it on a regular DVDr? or, is it destined to live on tape/hdd until a resonable priced HD DVDr comes out?

Does Adobe Premiere Essentials support HD source yet?

How big are the files, say, for a 30 minute video?

Thanks.

The output media many people use on this forum is a regular DVD disk. The process is shooting in HDV>capturing in PC>authoring in HD-DVD>burning on to a DVD >playing in an HD-DVD player>watching on an HDTV. Nothing fancy, pretty standard just like a SD DV video.

Yes, Adobe supports HDV.

One hour HDV takes 12GB.
GodobeHD is offline  
post #216 of 229 Old 01-25-2007, 07:57 AM
JCL
AVS Special Member
 
JCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodobeHD View Post

The output media many people use on this forum is a regular DVD disk. The process is shooting in HDV>capturing in PC>authoring in HD-DVD>burning on to a DVD >playing in an HD-DVD player>watching on an HDTV. Nothing fancy, pretty standard just like a SD DV video.

Yes, Adobe supports HDV.

One hour HDV takes 12GB.

Someone correct me if it's wrong. The weakest link in this chain would be the ">burning onto a DVD" part, where the resolution is somewhat degraded? What's the output resolution for the material coming out of a DVD. It can't be anything higher than 480p, couldn't it.

I suppose one can burn the stuff onto an HD-DVD or blue-ray but the prices for the drives and media are still prohibitive.
JCL is offline  
post #217 of 229 Old 01-25-2007, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The output from these DVDs will be 1080i or 720p or whatever the original res is.

This question/topic has come up hundreds times on this forum in the past year, so much so that AVS had created a sticky just for that:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6&page=1&pp=30

You do NOT need any HD-DVD/BlueRay burner and media to play HD-DVD/BlueRay. All you need are regular DVD burner and DVD disks and an HD-DVD player like Toshiba HD-A1/A2. One DVD+R/-R holds 23min of HDV and dual layer DVD holds 41min of HDV.
GodobeHD is offline  
post #218 of 229 Old 01-25-2007, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
You can burn High Def content to a standard DVD and play it on a HDDVD player, but you'll only get about 20 minutes per standard DVD-R disc at maximum bitrate of 25mbps.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #219 of 229 Old 01-25-2007, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCL View Post

Someone correct me if it's wrong. The weakest link in this chain would be the ">burning onto a DVD" part, where the resolution is somewhat degraded? What's the output resolution for the material coming out of a DVD. It can't be anything higher than 480p, couldn't it.

I suppose one can burn the stuff onto an HD-DVD or blue-ray but the prices for the drives and media are still prohibitive.

understand where your thinking that a dvd is limited to 480p only but your wrong.

as others pointed out in this case it is simply about the files burned to the standard dvd media and then the hd dvd player can read those files and display it in hd resolution.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #220 of 229 Old 01-26-2007, 09:01 AM
Member
 
sledge1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It has been posted already on AVS, but there is a possible leak on HV20 coming.
It was on listed CircuitCity.com earlier, but it was removed http://www.engadget.com/2007/01/25/c...corder-leaked/

So far it looks like it has the same specs with the addition of HDMI port and mic input.
sledge1234 is offline  
post #221 of 229 Old 01-26-2007, 09:10 AM
JCL
AVS Special Member
 
JCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dssturbo1 View Post

understand where your thinking that a dvd is limited to 480p only but your wrong.

as others pointed out in this case it is simply about the files burned to the standard dvd media and then the hd dvd player can read those files and display it in hd resolution.

Thanks for the clarification. So it's the files, and a necessary HD-DVD player. Hope they got that BD-HD war sorted out so I can decide which format to burn to.
JCL is offline  
post #222 of 229 Old 01-26-2007, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It will be several years before the winner of HD-BD war emerges. One thing has already been crystal clear now though: HD option costs only 15cents (for a DVD disk)while BD option costs $22 (for a BD disk) plus $700 BD burner investment.

The reason for this buge difference is also obvious: Sony's insistence on controling very aspect of the BD process, from content to authoring to disks. I think as consumers we have to send those arrogant manufactures a message that we won't throw away our hard earned $$$ just for endorsing one format over the other. The hundreds of hours I have burned on my home made HD-DVDs have more than paid for the Toshiba player itself.
GodobeHD is offline  
post #223 of 229 Old 01-27-2007, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
blackbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

You can burn High Def content to a standard DVD and play it on a HDDVD player, but you'll only get about 20 minutes per standard DVD-R disc at maximum bitrate of 25mbps.

You can also use a Double Layer disc and drop the bitrate to 19000 (you won't notice much difference) and you will get about 54 minutes on a disc (depending on the type of audio used)

But Toshiba is gearing up to release the HD DVD burner in march or April... no word on the pricing but one toshiba official stated that it will most likely be around 1/2 the price of the BD burners. The HD DVD media (15g) is about $15.

So even when burning REAL hd dvd's, it will be cheaper than BD.
blackbill is offline  
post #224 of 229 Old 02-02-2007, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
AnthemAZ.HDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lincoln, CA
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did anyone watch "The Office" on NBC last night?
During the intro, Dwight was making a video of Michael - he was using a Canon HV10.
AnthemAZ.HDTV is offline  
post #225 of 229 Old 02-02-2007, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 5,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthemAZ.HDTV View Post

Did anyone watch "The Office" on NBC last night?
During the intro, Dwight was making a video of Michael - he was using a Canon HV10.


Good catch, I didn't even notice what camera he was using. Too bad NBC does record the office with the HV10. I think it would look better than the crap they feed us right now!
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #226 of 229 Old 02-02-2007, 08:19 AM
JCL
AVS Special Member
 
JCL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Canon website doesn't seem to have a picture of the HV20. The one shown on the press release doesn't look like the HV10, but perhaps that's is the real deal.
JCL is offline  
post #227 of 229 Old 02-02-2007, 08:23 AM
 
Cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northwest Boonies
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Check out the HV20 thread in this forum.
Cyrano is offline  
post #228 of 229 Old 02-04-2007, 01:48 AM
Newbie
 
geobill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, could you post an image of what you shoot with this extra lens . I bought a kenko converter x0.6 for my Canon MVX2I and the result is ugly.

Thank you
geobill is offline  
post #229 of 229 Old 02-10-2007, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
mdrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Have any HV10 users bought a Canon wide angle lens for the HV10?

I really need to find a solution for my HV10 because it is hard to frame everything at party's in side a house for example with out shooting from the next room.

Mikes Stuff
McIntosh MC207 Amps.........................DarbyVision Darblet
Marantz AV8801 Processor.................Da-Lite Screen
Klipsch Reference Series 7.2................Panasonic BluRay BDT500
Epson Pro 6010 Projector.....................Sony Playstation used for SACD and BluRay
mdrums is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off