Canon has released the HV20 users manual. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-22-2007, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Kysersose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You can download it HERE.
Just turn off your pop-up blocker or else it won't open.

Cheers,

Kyser

"Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun."

Ash - Army of Darkness
Kysersose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-22-2007, 11:23 AM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thats early for a release in April? mabey...hopefully...they'll be able to move the release date up to March

I can view the PDF file but it wont let me save a copy to read offline
gvc is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-22-2007, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Kysersose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gvc View Post

Thats early for a release in April? mabey...hopefully...they'll be able to move the release date up to March

I can view the PDF file but it wont let me save a copy to read offline

I saved it quite easily with Adobe Reader.

I hope it comes out sooner than expected!

Kyser

"Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun."

Ash - Army of Darkness
Kysersose is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-22-2007, 05:17 PM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK..got it to save on my winxp laptop...my darkages winme desktop wouldnt let me. I'm waiting for a Vista machine with Cablecard capability. I've read they are also due in or around April... Its looking like April is going to be an expensive month for me
gvc is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-01-2007, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Sean (Alabama)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My local Canon dealer claims the camera is now IN STOCK at his USA distributor. He states it may be available as soon as next week. If so, I won't be able to resist...

Bored? Check out my blog: www.thelonglonghoneymoon.com
Sean (Alabama) is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-01-2007, 08:12 AM
 
Cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northwest Boonies
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I hope user reviews will soon follow. I am interested in how well the top facing mics pick up front sound. As well as overall PQ.

Thanks.
Cyrano is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-01-2007, 09:54 PM
Member
 
Sean (Alabama)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE: My guy was misled... No shipment next week. We're looking at "late March"...with a street price of $925.

Bored? Check out my blog: www.thelonglonghoneymoon.com
Sean (Alabama) is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-02-2007, 03:33 PM
gvc
Advanced Member
 
gvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas NW
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That price seems a bit too low to me for a brand new camcorder model that is many believe is already a hell of a bargain at the list price of 1099. Are you sure he wasn't quoting you the HV10 price?
gvc is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-08-2007, 04:51 PM
Member
 
dixie55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the manual info. Having read it, I can't wait until the release date, hopefully sooner rather than later.
dixie55 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-09-2007, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
tausifs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

does anyone know if the 24p mode displays at 24 Hz or undergoes pulldown to 60Hz ?

Thanks,

tausifs.
tausifs is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-09-2007, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
c.kingsley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I'm pretty sure it is stored as 1080i/60 on the HDV tape with 3:2 flags inserted for your TV to decipher.
c.kingsley is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-10-2007, 01:55 AM
Senior Member
 
tausifs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks, c.kinglsley.

Something I am also curious to know, if the 3:2 flags are not inserted ie. if you don't want 24p and you do not use this mode, would 1080@60i capture 60 different real time interlaced fields?

Thanks again.

Tausifs.
tausifs is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off