HD Camcorder, Best under 1.5K - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 02-27-2007, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have about 5 months until wife is due with twins and I plan on having a camcorder in hand by then. I know very little about HD Camcorders, but do know a far bit about HT. I have a HT in basement and a 60XBR in living room. I am a novice camera man so I am looking for something that is compact and displays a nice picture.

My wish list in order of importance are:
1. Compact
2. Excellent picture quality (1080p 24fps would be nice) during day and night.
2. Good sound capture
3. Good battery life.
4. Simple config to give to those not hi-tech. Push button once I set up for them.

I am looking at the Cannon and Sony, but figure since I have 5 months, something better, or more cost effective may be coming down the pipe. What would you all recommend.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-28-2007, 09:59 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony just released the HCR-7 and Cannon will have the HV-20 out in about a month. Both are HDV cameras, the sony is msrp $1399 and the cannon is $1099 I believe. Wait for the reviews, but both look to be good choices for your needs.

I believe only the cannon will offer the 1080p
post #3 of 10 Old 03-01-2007, 05:00 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is there any way to control the Canon's start/stop via a wired remote? With some Sony's you can do that via LANC, but I don't know if there's a way on the Canons.

Does anyone other than Sony make an HD camcorder that records to a hard disk?

See profile for new equipment list
post #4 of 10 Old 03-02-2007, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 410
1. Canon HV20 doesn't record nor output 1080p. It's not in the HDV spec.
2. Canon HV20 comes with a wired remote.