HD camcorders vs format wars - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 03-15-2007, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jake Ironshirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Mohave
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With either Canon or Sony HD camcorders will there be a conflict with using a Blu-Ray or HD-DVD player because of the different formats? I'm leaning toward Blu-Ray for a player as I think they will win out. I have a XP media and Pinnacle 10 so I know that would have to be upgraded, any suggestions there would be helpful. Any comments or advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
jake
Jake Ironshirt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 03-15-2007, 09:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,724
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 1592
I know that many people have burned HDV footage to regular DVDs and played them successfully on HD DVD players. I'm not sure about BR.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-15-2007, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
blackbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The cams and the format wars are 2 different things and you should not confuse them. You can put anything from any cam onto blu ray or hybrid hd dvd and it will work... just depends on the format that you decide to convert to, and the programs that you use.

As to which format you would want to choose is of your own free will. But you should be aware that NEITHER format are fully function as of today's date. Blu ray has the REAL burners and disks out, but lacks the adequate software to do a good job at doing disks, while it seems that HD DVD suffers from the exact opposite problem.

It is possible to do high def on normal dvd media to use for hi def playback in the respective machines... and of the 2 formats HD DVD is better put together for it.

Pinnacle studio, with the hd dvd plugin does a nice job at producing a fully functional authored HD DVD that can even include DD5.1 sound. Although pinnacle does not support blu ray at all as of yet, you can do similar disks in blu ray with Ulead software.... it is not quite as refined though.

I have gone with HD DVD (for the moment anyway) and I use pinnacle to produce. I have a couple of frame grabs from a HD DVD disk..... frame grab 5 and 11. 5 is at a bit rate of 19000 and 11 is at 25000

(scroll down towards the bottom and look for the screen name BLINK3TIMES)

http://www.avid.com/exchange/forums/thread/205076.aspx
blackbill is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-16-2007, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jake Ironshirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Mohave
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the input.
Jake
Jake Ironshirt is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-16-2007, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Jake Ironshirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fort Mohave
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbill View Post

The cams and the format wars are 2 different things and you should not confuse them. You can put anything from any cam onto blu ray or hybrid hd dvd and it will work... just depends on the format that you decide to convert to, and the programs that you use.

As to which format you would want to choose is of your own free will. But you should be aware that NEITHER format are fully function as of today's date. Blu ray has the REAL burners and disks out, but lacks the adequate software to do a good job at doing disks, while it seems that HD DVD suffers from the exact opposite problem.

It is possible to do high def on normal dvd media to use for hi def playback in the respective machines... and of the 2 formats HD DVD is better put together for it.

Pinnacle studio, with the hd dvd plugin does a nice job at producing a fully functional authored HD DVD that can even include DD5.1 sound. Although pinnacle does not support blu ray at all as of yet, you can do similar disks in blu ray with Ulead software.... it is not quite as refined though.

I have gone with HD DVD (for the moment anyway) and I use pinnacle to produce. I have a couple of frame grabs from a HD DVD disk..... frame grab 5 and 11. 5 is at a bit rate of 19000 and 11 is at 25000

(scroll down towards the bottom and look for the screen name BLINK3TIMES)

http://www.avid.com/exchange/forums/thread/205076.aspx

Thank you...you have answered my questions...very clear pictures I might say.
Jake Ironshirt is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-22-2007, 02:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
sync2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbill View Post

As to which format you would want to choose is of your own free will. But you should be aware that NEITHER format are fully function as of today's date. Blu ray has the REAL burners and disks out, but lacks the adequate software to do a good job at doing disks, while it seems that HD DVD suffers from the exact opposite problem.

This is only partially true about HD-DVD authoring. While there are no burners and software apps like Pinnacle Studio will author HD-DVD to 4.7 and 8.5GB disks, it doesn't fully support all the HD-DVD features. You can't build interactive features like video overlays and supplemental content with any of the existing tools - you need to do coding against the HD-DVD spec outlined at the Windows Media HD-DVD site in order to build these things at this point.
sync2play is offline  
Reply Camcorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off