Big confusion re HV20 and 24p - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 73 Old 03-26-2007, 03:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll start off by admitting I'm a novice and have not had as much experience as you guys have with video.

But why the confusion? It's not only in my mind. I've scoured the web and see there's confusion rampant there.

Does the HV20 record 1920x1080p at 25p (or 24p) or not? Some folks seem to be implying that HD is 1440x1080p and that 1920 is interpolated through, perhaps, non-square pixels.

Other folks seem to be implying that 24p is in a 60i framework. If it is, then it's not 24p. Simple as that.

As far as I can see from Canon's web site, the HV20 has a 3mp sensor. In practical terms it's a bit less. The specs on the Sony Web Site quote 2.76mp in 4:3 format and 2.07mp in 16:9 ratio.

Since HD is primarily 16:9 aspect ratio, and since the Canon HV20 sensor has 1920x1080 pixels in widescreen mode, and 1920x14440 pixels in 4:3 mode, why the heck should it (or how can it) record in 1440x1080 mode? It sure doesn't make sense to me. So please enlighten me!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 73 Old 03-26-2007, 04:19 AM

It is recorded in 1440x1080 with non-square pixels. It is a question of bandwidth and balancing priorities. (btw, most tape based recording methods use the same technique)

And it can record 24p, it is just stored in a 60i stream (likewise, 25p is recorded but stored as 50i). It is done that way to work with existing standards.
post #3 of 73 Old 03-26-2007, 05:14 AM
Advanced Member