Have the HV20 and already watching HD-DVD Videos on my Toshiba A2 HD-DVD Player - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-28-2007, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
westerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I put in a pre-order with B&H early in March and received the HV20 last Thursday. I have tried a few test video clips in different modes and am really impressed with this camera.

Using the techniques under the HD-DVD authoring section of the HD-DVD Software forum, I was able to capture the video with CapDvhs, run VideoRedo, make an HD-DVD folder with Ulead DVD Moviefactory, and then burn a HD-DVD on DVD with Nero. The HD-DVD played back flawlessly on my Toshiba A2 HD-DVD player!!

I can see a definite difference between 24P and 60i. I tried some video in only 24P Cine mode and thought everything looked soft. I also found the zebra stripes aren't accurate for Cine mode because the contrast range is a lot larger than the peaking represents, so my videos looked flat and underexposed. The 24P mode does show some stuttery motion compared to 60i too. I am still trying to decide which mode I like the best. I don't think I like the Cine mode though for straight to HD-DVD videos because the clips seem to be too soft with very low contrast. I think they can be greatly improved if they were pulled into a video editing package.

I can post some raw clips if anyone is interested and has a place where they can be hosted.
westerman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-28-2007, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
blackbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Slightly off the topic... but what I'd really like to know is what type of audio your using on your disks?

I ask because I have the A1 and I use dolby digital5.1 on my disks. It sounds great and I've thought about upgrading to the A2 but there have been reports that the A2 is having trouble with DD5.1 on the hybrid hd dvd's.

Have you done DD5.1 on the A2?
blackbill is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-28-2007, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
westerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Presently I am using the Mpeg audio as it was recorded from the camcorder. I needed to switch the output of the Toshiba to PCM in order to get audio out of the optical output. I haven't tried using the Dolby Digital with the player.
westerman is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-28-2007, 07:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
blackbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah... others have not had problems with the mpeg audio... it's the DD5.1 that seems to be a sticking point.

At any rate, hopefully I'll have the HV20 by the end of the week and I'll be able to try it on HD DVD. I just hope I made the right decision with this... that new JVC cam looks pretty good and I wanted to wait... but I have shoots in April that I have to be ready for.
blackbill is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-29-2007, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
westerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you use to convert the mpeg audio to DD5.1? If I have the right software, I could give it a try with the DD5.1. I have been trying to do minimal manipulation to my HD footage since my computer doesn't have the horsepower to do an real video editing without spending a week on a half hour piece of video. I could de-mux the audio and convert to DD5.1 and then re-mux. Does Ulead DVD support DD5.1 without hurting the video?

I have Sony Vegas 6, but it just takes forever to do anything with HD on my system.
westerman is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-29-2007, 04:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
blackbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do all of my HD DVD burning with Pinnacle studio 10.7, which will burn a HD DVD directly from the timeline, and will include a choice of audio... DD5.1 being one of them.

I actually do my capture/edit in vegas 7 then export to studio where I will setup the dd5.1 and then burn. Works fine for the A1 but those who have tried thus far with the A2 say there is "skipping" in the audio... so if this is true, something has clearly changed with the A2
blackbill is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-29-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have always thought 24P looked inferior to other sources. I despise the look. When I get my HV20 I'll never touch 24P.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-29-2007, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
blackbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star56 View Post

I have always thought 24P looked inferior to other sources. I despise the look. When I get my HV20 I'll never touch 24P.

I think it's like anything else.... it depends on how and where it's used... but I'm of the same general opinion when it comes to home video... I think it's quite out of place. I do however like the idea that it enables better low light abilities.... We'll see... I may like it... and then I may be listing it on Ebay... who knows
blackbill is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-29-2007, 05:28 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kysersose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,503
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackbill View Post

I think it's like anything else.... it depends on how and where it's used... but I'm of the same general opinion when it comes to home video... I think it's quite out of place. I do however like the idea that it enables better low light abilities.... We'll see... I may like it... and then I may be listing it on Ebay... who knows

I agree, for home video... it's not really needed.

However, even without 24p.... as far as image quality goes... it is supposed to be one of the best camcorders around, much like the HV10.
For the independent filmmaker, there is nothing better than 24p.

To each their own.

Kyser

"Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun."

Ash - Army of Darkness
Kysersose is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off