Why no Panny HDC-SD1 talk? - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 175 Old 08-01-2007, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Vikingmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh wait a second now there is the SD7 which is even smaller.
Vikingmd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 175 Old 08-02-2007, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Vikingmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought that I should add a link, because otherwise it might appear as though I was making some kind of tongue in cheek comment about Panasonic releasing a newer version just days after announcing the SD5.

Check out the pics and specs of the SD7:

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/tricky-ma...der-284701.php
Vikingmd is offline  
post #153 of 175 Old 08-19-2007, 12:02 AM
Senior Member
 
grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did the spec compare for SD1 vs SD5 and think the SD1 is probably a good deal ($250 cheaper, bigger CCD and zoom range). And it is available, which helps.

I do have an HD-DVD player that will play regular DVDs that have the HD-DVD file structure on them with hi-def material.

For instance, I got a few calibration patterns and was able to use DVDFactory (I think, it was a Ulead product, but not the heavy editing program, memory fuzzy here, a few weeks back) to burn these onto a DVD-R as 720p and 1080i files, and play them in the HD-DVD (handy for calibrating the PJ). The directions are stickied in the HD-DVD software forum here, but I digress.

The workflow would be:
1) Capture M2ts.
2) Transcode to HD-DVD compatible .264 codec (I assume that this is necessary)
3) Output HD-DVD folder structure
4) Burn to regular DVD-R as 1440x1080i anamorphic
5) Play DVD-R in HD-DVD player.

Anyway, has anyone with an SD1 done this? If so the SD1 is definitely the camera for me.

Thanks in advance.
grinchy is offline  
post #154 of 175 Old 08-19-2007, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well in browsing around the various AVCHD edit threads here it appears it is possible to burn in HD-DVD compatible format, but it requires a container swap to an mpeg-2 container to work on HD-DVD. This will probably take several days on my spare laptop, but that's why you have a spare computer around, to do stuff like this.

Or I guess I could break down and buy a PS3, though I really hate to. Even though AVCHD is a Sony standard, I just hate to go down that path with a Sony camcorder or BD drive/player. Stupid Sony only standards.

Still looking for hard confirmation, but I think I'll get an SD1 to play with anyway.
grinchy is offline  
post #155 of 175 Old 08-19-2007, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SD1 4gb limit?
Islanti mentions 8gb cards - are these compatible with the SD1? I thought it had a 4gb limit?
grinchy is offline  
post #156 of 175 Old 08-19-2007, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dp70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could be wrong, but I think the 4GB limit applies to one individual shot (limit of the filesystem?). I have an 8GB class 6 card in my SD3 and have filled it beyond 50% without any trouble (but with a few dozen individual shots).
dp70 is offline  
post #157 of 175 Old 08-19-2007, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
jhasbeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 8 gb card works great in the SD1. I have about 3 hours total of video and I really enjoy it. After a day of vid with the kids we come home and plug it into the HDMI port on the TV and enjoy the day all over again. It is cool.
jhasbeen is offline  
post #158 of 175 Old 08-19-2007, 08:08 PM
Senior Member
 
grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news. Thanks for the confirm on the SDHC capacity - one day we'll have all 32gb available.

Was at CC today looking at the SD1. They've gone back up to full retail there, and the sales agent was unwilling to sell me the demo unit (they have stopped receiving stock and are going to end of life it soon).

He was surly too. A fond reminder that service really is dead. Was happy to recommend the more expensive and less desireable Sony models - "you'll love Memory sticks, they're fast!" and my favorite "It's all black" (so is the SD5, BTW)
grinchy is offline  
post #159 of 175 Old 08-20-2007, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Islanti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhasbeen View Post

My 8 gb card works great in the SD1. I have about 3 hours total of video and I really enjoy it. After a day of vid with the kids we come home and plug it into the HDMI port on the TV and enjoy the day all over again. It is cool.

Yup, I have an 8GB card which works fine. I haven't tried to record more than 4GB of continuous video though.
Islanti is offline  
post #160 of 175 Old 08-20-2007, 06:36 PM
Member
 
HRTraveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pickerington, OH
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please list the make and model number of 8 GB cards that work.

Enjoy the outdoors. Support the State and Federal Park Systems.
HRTraveler is offline  
post #161 of 175 Old 08-20-2007, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dp70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Transcend Class 6 8GB SDHC Card model TS8GSDHC6, UPC 0760557805496. Bought it at newegg.
dp70 is offline  
post #162 of 175 Old 08-29-2007, 05:27 AM
Newbie
 
NuClear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I have Panasonic Plasma TV 42pz700 and it can play AVCHD recordings from HD camera cos it has SD-card slot.
I do not have HD camera and Yours sample HD videos it can not play.
I thing is it because TV is searching names of directories and supporting files.

Could anybody little (5 sec) sample HD video from SD-1 cam pack whole content of SD-card, please ?

Thank You.
NuClear is offline  
post #163 of 175 Old 08-30-2007, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
sbarrier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: High Point, NC
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NuClear,

PM your email address and I'll email you a short clip.
sbarrier is offline  
post #164 of 175 Old 08-31-2007, 12:59 AM
Newbie
 
NuClear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Email is in Your PM.
Thank You.
NuClear is offline  
post #165 of 175 Old 09-03-2007, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
grinchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: OC
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I flopped and got an HV20 instead. Thanks all for answering my Q on the SD1.
grinchy is offline  
post #166 of 175 Old 09-11-2007, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
almoaibed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am now confused, which one to go

hdc-sd1
hdc-sd3
hdc-sd5
hdc-sd7

I am deciding Panasonic, but please help it seems it there is a marketing game in there?
almoaibed is offline  
post #167 of 175 Old 09-11-2007, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,685
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The Panny SD1 is the best choice: You can find it cheap and it has by far the best lens( 12 X zoom and a great wide angle). I bought the Canon HV20 but the SD1 was my second choice.

Sergio

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #168 of 175 Old 09-20-2007, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
joebrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you're only practical choices are the just released (last week) - SD7 or a SD1 if you can find it. just remember the differences which have been posted:

SD7
1/6" vs 1/4" chip
10-1 zoom vs 12-1
1920x1080 vs 1440x1080
black vs silver
joebrod is offline  
post #169 of 175 Old 11-12-2007, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
mosesma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey people,

Boy this SD1 thru 7 mess is confusing. Talk about making life difficult for the user!

Anyway, I bought an SD1 a while ago and I'm really happy with it. Perfect for what I need to do with it (smaller shoots, like recording auditions, footage for work as a UI designer, etc). I'm so happy with it, I sold off my Panny HVX200 (will be using a RED for the high end stuff).

However, the workflow to get the SD1 footage into Final Cut Pro is a bear. I use a combination of Elecard's Converter and MPEG Streamclip to get the native MTS format files into Quicktime. But the footage is really quite nice, for such a small camera.

Anyway, I'm tempted by the SD3/5, but pretty happy with my current setup, so I won't upgrade until they offer 24p along with 1920×1080 format.

Moses
mosesma is offline  
post #170 of 175 Old 11-13-2007, 07:08 AM
Member
 
bbtrinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like retailers are trying to dump their last stock of the Panasonic SD1, which is a great deal right now.

Best Buy is now sold out online, but some stores still have it.... and Circuit City now has a good deal on the Panny SD1 online. If you're a member of AAA, you can get a 10% off coupon which is good ON TOP OF the other deals at Circuit City. I was able to get a Panny SD1 at CircuitCity.com. Not sure if I can write the price here, so I'm not.

I've been reading all sorts of reviews on each one. My choice was between a Panasonic SD1/SD5 and Sony CX5/CX7. What was confusing was the differences between the SD1 and SD5.... here are what I found:

What is better about each model (SD1 vs SD5)

Panasonic SD1:
* Microphone input jack
* Headphone output jack (actually a different type of output jack, but can buy a converter to make it a headphone output jack)
* 12x optical (SD5 has 10x optical)
* 5.1 surround sound (SD5 has stereo sound)
* 3 inch LCD screen (SD5 has 2.5 inch LCD screen)
* 3 1/4" CCD sensors (SD5 has 3 1/6" CCD sensors) - larger the sensors, the more light that can get in, therefore the SD1 'SHOULD' perform better in low light.
* Memory card is located on SIDE (SD5 has the memory card located on the bottom near the battery - which some say is hard to change if you're using a tripod)

Panasonic SD5:
* black (vs. white/silver on SD1)
* slightly smaller (about 8mm/6mm/4mm - H/W/L)
* the specs SAY that it is 1080x1920, but it LOOKS the same to every reviewer. (The SD1 is 1080x1440).
* Can film at ONE TIME an entire 8gb sdhc card (approx. 1hr 20mins). The SD1 can only record 4gb at maximum at ONE TIME. You CAN record TWO 40 min clips on an 8gb card with the SD1, and use the entire 8gb.
* A Quick-Start record mode which starts recording within 1.7 seconds of when the LCD opens.
bbtrinet is offline  
post #171 of 175 Old 11-13-2007, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dp70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbtrinet View Post

Panasonic SD5:
* Can film at ONE TIME an entire 8gb sdhc card (approx. 1hr 20mins). The SD1 can only record 4gb at maximum at ONE TIME. You CAN record TWO 40 min clips on an 8gb card with the SD1, and use the entire 8gb.

I'm skeptical about that- most SDHC cards use the FAT filesystem, which supports a max filesize of 4GB (this is where the SD1's limitation comes from). But maybe some sort of workaround has been implemented (such as the SD5 starting a new clip automatically after each 4GB... just a guess).
dp70 is offline  
post #172 of 175 Old 11-13-2007, 07:26 AM
Member
 
bbtrinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand the reasoning behind how the SD5 can get over the 4gb limit either... but I see this more as a 'geeky tech talk' rather than something that is practical.

Why would you ever need to record something straight through without ever having a break in a normal everyday situation? Every event that I would tape have breaks in them, which I can just hit stop, and re-record... PLUS many events last longer than 1hour 20mins, which an 8bg card would hold, and I would have to replace the card anyways. Besides - a tape or MiniDVD camcorder would have to replace the tapes or DVDs anyways.

Maybe when the cards get a lot bigger, like a 32gb card could hold maybe 5-6 hours, I could just leave the camcorder plugged in on a tripod, and film like the ending of a marathon non-stop.
bbtrinet is offline  
post #173 of 175 Old 11-13-2007, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
vladimir80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys.
I own both HV20 and DX1(The same as SD1 but writes to DVD instead flash)

HV20 doing much better in daylight - shooting nature etc. Video resolution is about 30% more sharper then DX1(SD1) in this conditions. HV20 has also more clear image, better DOF and dynamic range looks wider in cine mode.

But when the sun goes down, DX1 brings better low light picture, less chroma noise then HV20, more lovely colors.

So both cams doing like champions in different conditions:
HV20 - #1 CAM! in daylight - most sharper image on a consumer market.
DX1(SD!)- #1 CAM! in night shooting - most lowlight sens. on a consumer market.

Buying SD3 instead of SD1 - is a waste of money IMHO, because SD3 doing about 2-3% sharper then SD1 (no anamorphic scale), but difference in price is about $200 there.
vladimir80 is offline  
post #174 of 175 Old 12-22-2007, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
vladimir80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Fontana View Post

[*]HF1920

I'd really like to see a frame of this chart captured from the SD1 in HF mode as well as a frame from the Canon HV20.

You may take a look HV20 chart here:
http://produktdbimages.slashcam.de/c...so_1080_27.jpg
vladimir80 is offline  
post #175 of 175 Old 02-07-2008, 11:41 PM
Newbie
 
johnswright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Huntington Beach, CA USA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tested the sd5-

It starts a new file at the 4gb limit.
johnswright is offline  
Reply Camcorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off