Which editing program to use? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 04-18-2007, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to the editing and I would like to ask for some help. I have a Canon HV20 and would like to know which editing software to use: Vegas 7, Premier pro, or the new final cut (apple), do I need firewire to download onto my computer because all that came with the camcorder is a USB...if I need firewire then can I use my apple to edit? I thought the HV20 was only windows compatible since apple supports bluray...thanks for all the help!

John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-18-2007, 09:25 PM
AVS Special Member

Hi John91C.

I use a several combinations of software programs to Edit in the HDV format. It starts with getting the HDV off of my HV-10 to my PC. For that, I use capdvhs which is a free ware program. I then load the file into Video Redo for basic cutting and converting the file to a complient MPEG 2 Program Stream. Then I send that file to Ulead Video Studio 10 for adding transitions and music files and the like. Then I use Ulead Movie Factory Six to create HD-DVDs using standard DVD+/-R disks. I set up MF6 to force the audio from MPA (MPEG1 audio which is 2 Channel stereo) to a bitstream Dolby Digital 2.0 compliant mix. That way I can play my created HD-DVD in my Toshiba HD-A1 without having to change the audio out to PCM when it is hooked up using the optical out.
If you would like, I could create a quick guide on my procedure for how I edit and so-forth.