Crestron Adagio vs. Control4 - $15k Budget - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 44 Old 04-10-2008, 08:37 PM
CJO
AVS Special Member
 
CJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks_man View Post

We are moving into a new construction home that has already been "completely wired for the future."

The wiring might be a problem with a Crestron system. Crestron requires Crestnet for communication. CAT5 can be used, but is not supported. Also, the TP's in the size you want (10") could use up most of your budget.

CJ

coneilliv at aol dot com

The Dark Knight Theater
(a bunch of good reference links and material in first 15 posts)
CJO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 44 Old 04-12-2008, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ks-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RearProjection1292 View Post

I made the decision to go with the control 4 system and don't regret it. I have complete control over my PS3 streaming videos stored on my MAC PRO using the 10.5 touch panel. My music hard drives is connected to the Control 4 HT300. The system controls the following


Sony 200 disc blue ray changer
Sony 400 disc changer
Directv HD receiver/dvr
Sony G90
Lexicon MC12HD sound processor
Sony PS3
Scientific Atlanta 8300HD cable box
Yamaha 6090 receiver
Pioneer 60 inch tv
NEC 42 inch plasma
Pioneer receiver
Seagate 500 gb music hard drive
Lights in the home theater room, TV room, Great room, kitchen
3 panasonic network outdoor cameras
Panic outdoor and indoor lights
Weather forecast, traffic report on 10.5 inch touch panel

Do you mind my asking about how much that setup cost you (parts and labor)?

Also do you have most of your components hooked up through component or HDMI? I definitely want to take advantage of HDMI for both pic quality and next gen auido formats.

Also I'm guessing you don't have your PS3 in your rack and rather by your tv, is this correct? If you do this how can you have the C4 control the PS3? If it is in your rack, is it a pain to change the disc in it? I'm guessing my rack would be a good 25 feet from the tv I would be using it on.

Thanks for the help.
ks-man is offline  
post #33 of 44 Old 04-17-2008, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
kc130fewardog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fletch999 View Post

The C4 will be cheaper in all ways, good and bad. There is much more to the real cost of a system than what you pay for it.


Price is what you write the check to the installer for. Cost is what you pay over the life of the system.


OT:
It is a coin flip on this system. Might be a little less $$ to go with the C4 system but you get some cool custom GUI with the CA system. Either one installed and designed correctly will work. You just might have more money to upgrade speakers if you went with the C4 system.
kc130fewardog is offline  
post #34 of 44 Old 04-17-2008, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
kc130fewardog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks-man View Post

Do you mind my asking about how much that setup cost you (parts and labor)?

Also do you have most of your components hooked up through component or HDMI? I definitely want to take advantage of HDMI for both pic quality and next gen auido formats.

Also I'm guessing you don't have your PS3 in your rack and rather by your tv, is this correct? If you do this how can you have the C4 control the PS3? If it is in your rack, is it a pain to change the disc in it? I'm guessing my rack would be a good 25 feet from the tv I would be using it on.

Thanks for the help.

C4 can not control the PS3.

And changing the disc in the rack is not that different that changing a disc next to the TV. It just LOOKS much better to have all your av gear hidden. (Less the huge TV of course! )
kc130fewardog is offline  
post #35 of 44 Old 04-17-2008, 05:36 PM
Member
 
TouchToBegin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc130fewardog View Post

C4 can not control the PS3.

There is an IR solution for PS3. C4 can do on screen control via IR which is all you would need anyway as a network movie player.
TouchToBegin is offline  
post #36 of 44 Old 04-17-2008, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ks-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After doing some research I'm definitely leaning now towards Adagio over C4. The main reason being that I want to put $15-20k in it now, but in 2-3 years I can see wanting to put another $15-20k into the system. Perhaps at that time (or years after that) I'll want to put in more money and I think that I may eventually feel limited with C4 but the sky should be the limit with Crestron.
ks-man is offline  
post #37 of 44 Old 04-17-2008, 07:28 PM
Member
 
TouchToBegin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks-man View Post

After doing some research I'm definitely leaning now towards Adagio over C4. The main reason being that I want to put $15-20k in it now, but in 2-3 years I can see wanting to put another $15-20k into the system. Perhaps at that time (or years after that) I'll want to put in more money and I think that I may eventually feel limited with C4 but the sky should be the limit with Crestron.

The sky is the limit with a good programmer. There are tons of hacks out there, so qualify the programmer. If you really want 'sky's the limit' make sure the company who sells you the equipment is giving you a programmer with at least 5 years under their belt.
TouchToBegin is offline  
post #38 of 44 Old 04-21-2008, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
home_audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used to be a dealer for both Control4 and Crestron here in Dallas. It looks like you have alot of answers above that are leading you in the right direction. You will spend more with Crestron due to the unlimited directions you can go with your programming and system options. Having a "cool" touch panel layout is only half of the pie, it has to work as well. Control4 may not have customizable graphics but the gui works. (albeit slow sometimes) You will get different touch panel features and functions from different programmers if you choose Crestron. Check out their touch panel layouts before you go and buy GUI effects. They may have them already. One last question to ask is who is going to be here 5-10 years from now? I put my money on Crestron.
home_audio is offline  
post #39 of 44 Old 04-21-2008, 11:54 AM
Newbie
 
home_audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure what part of the country you are in, but if you have a Tweeter in the area, use them for your LV needs. Ask to sit down with a sales person and their Field Supervisor / Regional Technical Specialist and talk about your system.
home_audio is offline  
post #40 of 44 Old 04-21-2008, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
lilsara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you have control over your PS3? I thought it was Bluetooth? I noticed that there was an option to pick the PS3 in the programming but it has IR next to it. Wasn't sure of what to do? Also do you know anything about the thermostat? for some reason mine keeps setting back to 82 degrees. And what is the hold option? If someone knows can you help me out! Thanks!
lilsara is offline  
post #41 of 44 Old 04-22-2008, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ks-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by home_audio View Post

I am not sure what part of the country you are in, but if you have a Tweeter in the area, use them for your LV needs. Ask to sit down with a sales person and their Field Supervisor / Regional Technical Specialist and talk about your system.

From my experience Tweeter would be my worst option for LV needs. The guys there seem to know less than the Magnolia guys.
ks-man is offline  
post #42 of 44 Old 04-22-2008, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
roddymcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Avon CO
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ks-man View Post

From my experience Tweeter would be my worst option for LV needs. The guys there seem to know less than the Magnolia guys.

When I was younger I worked for one of the now defunct box stores. You can never get the same person on the line. I think this is huge...
roddymcg is offline  
post #43 of 44 Old 09-14-2012, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
Antonio Gaspard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by home_audio View Post

I used to be a dealer for both Control4 and Crestron here in Dallas. It looks like you have alot of answers above that are leading you in the right direction. You will spend more with Crestron due to the unlimited directions you can go with your programming and system options. Having a "cool" touch panel layout is only half of the pie, it has to work as well. Control4 may not have customizable graphics but the gui works. (albeit slow sometimes) You will get different touch panel features and functions from different programmers if you choose Crestron. Check out their touch panel layouts before you go and buy GUI effects. They may have them already. One last question to ask is who is going to be here 5-10 years from now? I put my money on Crestron.

It has been 4 years and C4 still here!!
Antonio Gaspard is offline  
post #44 of 44 Old 09-18-2012, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Mizzer-d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You know this is a four-year-old thread, right?
Mizzer-d is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off