Where to start if I want to program it myself? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 10-22-2008, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to build up a home security/automation system - but I don't want to buy a canned system, I want to program it myself. I'm in the IT field by trade.

I've dabbled in X10 in the past, programming it with a PowerLinc controller, but found it lacking. What are good technologies these days, where I can interface with it from a computer? I'm specifically looking at programming on a Windows-based computer.

The ultimate would be if various security components (such as wired and/or wireless door sensors, etc) can be queried from the computer.

Any help on where I should look to get started?

Thanks,

-Frank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 10-22-2008, 08:54 AM
QQQ
AVS Addicted Member

Liked: 13
www.charmedquark.com is where I would start. Excellent application. I'm sure some others will pop in with other suggestions.
post #3 of 11 Old 10-22-2008, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
okay, since im exploring my options for this as well, i too am interested in responses. from what i gather, i think hardwired is the best thing. so, you would need a home automation panel. then, you can use software for control. in terms of control panels, i have been looking into HAI and ELK. if anyone knows more info on these two, im sure it would benefit us all.

can both of these automation controllers be programmed by a diyer with limited knowledge. if so, i assume one would use the products software first and then use a mainstream software solution for control such as mainlobby, cqc, etc, correct?

post #4 of 11 Old 10-22-2008, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter

I really don't want to use someone else's canned programming software, though - i want to code it all myself, using C++ and/or Visual Basic.

-Frank
post #5 of 11 Old 10-22-2008, 12:37 PM
QQQ