Used Crestron Pricing - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 10-25-2008, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
helene67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a ton of used Crestron that I need to sell for my employers. (They just moved into a house that was teched out beyond their needs so they "simplified.") Beyond ebay and audiogon can anyone suggest where I can find pricing. All items are in excellent working conditions. Some of the components I'm looking for pricing help on are: TPS-3000, LC-1000, PW-120R, MX700, ST-TUNE, TPS-RFGWX. thanks in advance for any help.
helene67 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 10-26-2008, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brent McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ormond Beach Fl.
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EBay has set the used product price standard. Go with it.

Brent McCall
Not A Dealer
Brent McCall is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-29-2008, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
NickUsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe you should call a crestron dealer and see what they will give you for it. Selling items that can only be sold by dealers on the internet take away peoples jobs i hope you and your employers are happy....
NickUsi is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-29-2008, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickUsi View Post

Maybe you should call a crestron dealer and see what they will give you for it. Selling items that can only be sold by dealers on the internet take away peoples jobs i hope you and your employers are happy....

How about all the dealers selling their outdated and overstock equipment on ebay?

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-29-2008, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony A.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada EH?
Posts: 2,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickUsi View Post

Maybe you should call a crestron dealer and see what they will give you for it. Selling items that can only be sold by dealers on the internet take away peoples jobs i hope you and your employers are happy....

not exactly true with crestron. since an average joe can't program crestron, one is always in need of an installer. your comment should be directly to the guys who invented the interent and auto makers who use robotics instead of people. lets get a grip.

Anthony A. is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-29-2008, 04:10 PM
Member
 
dink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickusi View Post

maybe you should call a crestron dealer and see what they will give you for it. Selling items that can only be sold by dealers on the internet take away peoples jobs i hope you and your employers are happy....

lol
dink is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-29-2008, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
roddymcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Avon CO
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I don't think going the dealer route would provide you much luck. We are a Crestron shop and no way would I buy used equipment to resell. I would really be surprised to hear others working in the manner. But I won't count anything out in this day and age...

I am not sure who you would be putting out of work selling used equipment on E-bay.
roddymcg is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-30-2008, 01:45 AM
Member
 
joatmonjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This all raises an even bigger question. What do you do with used Crestron equipment, given that only Crestron Dealers and Programmers can rightfully get the stuff to be more than a door stop, and they usually don't want to get involved with the potential headaches of selling, or working with equipment having expired warranties?
Robotics do cost the jobs of assembly workers, but create jobs for the manufacturers, and services of the robotics. In the case of automobiles, or more specifically, their continued use, jobs are also created, or perpetuated for used car dealers, auto service technicians/mechanics, parts and accessory manufacturers, etc, etc, etc., since the continued use of automobiles is not limited to non-average Joes.
I suppose the best you can do is to try to dump the stuff on ebay, and if that fails, just dump it, and move on. The latter, as if it might be an issue, also creates jobs beyond that just for the Dealers of new Crestron equipment, and Crestron workers. One could argue that with that in mind, Crestron did, at enormous expense, go completely green, but I'd argue that move was more to ensure sales in regions currently, and inevitably down the line regulated by WEEE and RoHS directives, rather than a concern for the environment.
joatmonjf is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 11-01-2008, 04:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just dump it on E-bay. The really old stuff (+10 years) wont sell for enough money to cover shipping. (5-10 year stuff) might bring you a few bucks if the right person see's the add. Five years ago you couldn't buy a VT-3500 for under $300.00 off the bay. Today they are fetching $50.00-$75.00. The longer you sit on it the less you'll get for it.

CHip

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-14-2009, 08:21 AM
Newbie
 
mattcouthoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by helene67 View Post

I have a ton of used Crestron that I need to sell for my employers. (They just moved into a house that was teched out beyond their needs so they "simplified.") Beyond ebay and audiogon can anyone suggest where I can find pricing. All items are in excellent working conditions. Some of the components I'm looking for pricing help on are: TPS-3000, LC-1000, PW-120R, MX700, ST-TUNE, TPS-RFGWX. thanks in advance for any help.

have you gotten rid of the stuff ?
mattcouthoun is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 07-14-2009, 01:06 PM
Newbie
 
audio_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi , I m also selling a lot of new/used crestron and polycom equipment. Most of these items are brand new or have just been slightly used. Also have multiples of a few items.

For more info please email me at shiv@avt.ca , located in Toronto but willing to ship out. Thanks

Crestron APAD-W
Crestron BB-4L
Crestron C2N-DB8W
Crestron C2N-HBLOCK
Crestron C2N-TTVFM
Crestron C2N-VEQ4
Crestron C2X-B8W
Crestron CAEN-UMP2X2
Crestron CHV-RTHS
Crestron CLS-EXP-DIM
Crestron CLW-DIMW
Crestron CNMSX-PRO
Crestron CNPWS-75
Crestron CNPWS-75
Crestron CNSC-1A/CNSCI-1A
Crestron Crestnet IIMS,
Crestron FT-PWR-B
Crestron IM-FTCC-B
Crestron IM-RXV1
Crestron MC2E
Crestron MK-IM-RX
Crestron MK-QM-RMCRX
Crestron MPS-100
Crestron MT-1000
Crestron MTBKO2766-1
Crestron QM-FTMCSC-BALUM
Crestron QM-TX
Crestron ST-COM
Crestron TPMC-10 with TPMC-10-DS-R
Crestron TPMC-8X
Crestron TPMC-8X-DS
Crestron TPMC-8X-DSW
Crestron TPMC-CH-IMC
Crestron TPS-IMPC
Crestron WMKM-4L
Crestron WMKT-1000L









Polycom MICPOD
Polycom Quad BRI/512K
Polycom SoundStation 2 Direct Connect Interface Module
Polycom Viewstation MP
Polycom Voicestation 100 Wall Module
Polycom Camera VSX 5000
Polycom Sound Station VTX 1000
Polycom Adtran Tripple NT1
Polycom PVS-XX19-Q
Polycom HDX 9000 Series
Polycom VSX 7000 System
Polycom HDX 9004
Polycom 4300T
audio_video is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 07-14-2009, 02:26 PM
Member
 
telmnstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Virginia Beach Va
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just about to buy some Crestron gear on ebay to play with. From this thread I'm getting the idea that there is no way to obtain the IDE (the development environment) for the equipment unless I'm a dealer?

The companies should be nice to anyone looking to use the equipment.

Protectionism for the dealers generally ends up bad.
telmnstr is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 07-14-2009, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Syphon Filter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by telmnstr View Post

I was just about to buy some Crestron gear on ebay to play with. From this thread I'm getting the idea that there is no way to obtain the IDE (the development environment) for the equipment unless I'm a dealer?

The companies should be nice to anyone looking to use the equipment.

Protectionism for the dealers generally ends up bad.

You could always ask an independent programmer to program the kit for you. Plenty knocking around here (myself included).
Syphon Filter is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 07-14-2009, 04:17 PM
Member
 
telmnstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Virginia Beach Va
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love to know how stuff works, and would actually enjoy doing it.

Before I knew what AMX was and thought Crestron was just a large remote control that the gov't wastes taxpayer money on, I was thinking of building my own solution that does something similar based on Linux and a low powered embedded board such as those from technologic systems or similar.

Actually my old notes about the idea:
http://wiki.757.org/doku.php?id=projects:automation

The crestron stuff can be had for pennies. I assume the development environment is actually a cross compiler that targets the CPU, compiles and links the code and then pushes the binary into the controller over the serial/ethernet? Or is it actually an interpreter on the unit and it pushes over the program script?
telmnstr is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 07-14-2009, 11:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Dahwoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL... since no one else has said it yet.... the list of equipment you are selling will probably cost more to ship then its worth. (especially after you include your time to post, sell and ship the items)

"I'm just a dog chasing cars. I wouldn't know what to do with one if I caught it"
Dahwoo is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 08-17-2009, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
cntp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I work with and program Crestron at work, been doing quite a bit of it last month or so.

From what I've gathered, it's cross-compiled for the CPU (Motorola coldfire). The programming itself is done with logic symbols (google search, you can probably find an image). There is Simpl+, which is basically C (only used to write "modules", not entire programs) - It actually uses gcc running in cygwin to cross-compile. I'm not sure if Simpl Windows uses cygwin and gcc as well, but it wouldn't surprise me.

The hardware itself, as I've said before, is Coldfire processors. I think the relays, IO's, and RS-232 ports are connected via ISA, and the ethernet ports are connected via PCI bus.

I've often thought of trying to reverse-engineer at least the compiling process (SVN auto complier!!). I've never had the time, and I'm pretty sure it would violate our agreement with Crestron.

I think the hardest part, if you wanted to run your own code, would be figuring out how the firmware, etc. works, as well as what drivers you'd need (perhaps that's taken care of in the firmware). Good luck if you actually try it.

-Drew

Edit: Crap, just realized this is a pretty old thread. Hope someone finds the info useful.
cntp is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off