Smarthome.com/Insteon/Switchlinc Products = GARBAGE - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 02-19-2009, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After replacing 12+ switchlincs, insteon, and related smarthome.com products since my home was built less than five years ago, I wanted to share my complete dissatisfaction with others.

I'm a mechanical engineer and I wired my own smart home in 2004 if that adds any credibility to my statements. Nearly every light switch and lamp module in my home is from the Switchlinc or Insteon line. Smarthome has replaced countless switches under warranty - mainly due to mechanical issues with the paddle (inferior design with undersized fulcrums that break). Several other switches were bricked for no apparent reason (no overloads, surges, miswiring, etc.). Some switches won't enter X10 programming mode. Lamp modules lose their X10 address after every power outage. The bottom line is that I'm growing very tired of replacing Smarthome.com switches in my home and it has only been five years.

Smarthome.com worshippers: Feel free to refute the above facts - I'll gladly provide photos and mechanical/electrical analysis and details. Sorry you had to read about this here as negative product reviews submitted to the smarthome.com website are simply deleted. But everyone should know about smarthome's lack of assistance, denial of inferior products, and shotty mechanical/electrical switch functionality.

Jason Bell
Bridgeport, WV
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 02-20-2009, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)