Lutrons RadioRA2 - Page 44 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1291 of 1302 Old 01-20-2015, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 376
I made my own labels via the Brother Ptouch or similar and I still haven't sent in for engraving...going on 2 years.
dgage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1292 of 1302 Old 01-22-2015, 08:05 AM
Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swancoat View Post
That's one thing that bothers me... Does anyone have any idea what it costs to buy an engraved button? It seems like an impossibility that I have all my buttons picked out on the first go around. I'll almost certainly want to change them even after they've been made 'permanent'.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
I've had my "temporary" Stickers on for about a year in our new home, still hanging on, though we only use a couple main buttons a few times each day. The permanent engraved buttons take 1-2 weeks to get but generally (especially if you are new to automation and more so to scene programming) we recommend waiting for about a month or more until your final program is solid and you're happy with it. You can purchase additional buttons but a new engraved set is in the neighborhood of $60.
Otherwise create button names that are vague enough to be useful and flexible to programming changes... For scene programming specifically, you may want to associate the button name with an activity instead of a room name (e.g. Good Night (I have a 3minute fade to off on halls 5 minutes on bedrooms), Entertain, Clean, Movie, Dine, Exercise, etc... )

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1293 of 1302 Old 01-22-2015, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Swancoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, when you get an engraved button set, is the stack of buttons one unit, or can an individual button be moved from one keypad to another? (I haven't actually taken the front off of a keypad to see how this is all set up).

I think this is one of my main concerns as well. Just thinking back to my Insteon Keypad experience... Some of the buttons are clearly defined from day 1. Some of them, I kind of figure out after a few weeks, but some of them sit blank for while and I think of a use way later.

Part of the reason guys like me want to DIY, is because I can change the buttons from time to time. If I can use an engraving certificate to say, order 6 buttons and split them across a few keypads, and then get 6 later, I'm ok with that. And after that, whenever I have 6 buttons that need to be renamed, I can convince myself to buck up $60 to get 6 more buttons. But if each Keypad is going to be a 'unit' that's engraved all or nothing... I will have a sad.
Swancoat is offline  
post #1294 of 1302 Old 01-22-2015, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Swancoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is a slightly different topic, so I thought I'd just split to another post.

Regarding integration with Indigo... I got the plugin up and running last night. I had trouble with the Ethernet version, so I'm connecting to the serial port via iTach device. Generally works well. You can add each load as a device in Indigo and the updates are very fast (faster than Insteon, let's just say that ).

The keypad button/scene integration is probably a work in progress. Each button is added as a device (on/off). Activating a scene in Indigo works great. Activating a scene outside of Indigo (i.e. pressing physical button or using Lutron app) works well too, with the scene status updating in Indigo promptly (switching to 'on' - reflecting the keypad LED basically). What it doesn't seem to do for me yet is shut the keypad buttons OFF in Indigo.

Example: Go into media room, turn on 'enter' scene. Loads adjust, led lights on 'enter' button on keypad, loads are accurately updated in Indigo, and 'enter' scene in Indigo goes to 'on'. Then, switch scent to 'movie' on keypad. Loads adjust, led on 'movie' button lights, and led on 'enter' button shuts off. Loads are accurately updated in Indigo, 'movie' scene in Indigo goes to 'on', but 'enter' scene in Indigo does NOT go to off, it remains ON.

Now, I only got this running last night, and haven't messed around too much, so maybe I've got something wrong. I'll keep this thread updated as things go on.
Swancoat is offline  
post #1295 of 1302 Old 01-23-2015, 12:06 PM
Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swancoat View Post
So, when you get an engraved button set, is the stack of buttons one unit, or can an individual button be moved from one keypad to another? (I haven't actually taken the front off of a keypad to see how this is all set up). ...
The button Kit is an assemble "Cover"(or Frame with buttons) that snaps onto the backend, you need only remove the wall/switch cover plate.

The Buttons are physically attached via a metal spring clip. I found out the hard way(mixed up Hybrid and Regular KP engraving, they snap on differently) they are individually changeable but it's a little work to be done with some care.

This is what you get when you receive your engraved button kits.


If you can see in the image the buttons have tabs just pressed into the spring plate, they can be carefully removed/relocated.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1296 of 1302 Old 01-23-2015, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Swancoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, wow. So it totally looks DOABLE, but I don't like my odds of doing it without bending breaking anything! Well, I'll wait until I order the first set and we'll see how it goes.

I went ahead and put my stickers on the existing keypad yesterday. I have to say, aside from having a limited amount of choices, they're pretty good. If you put them on carefully and straight, they look pretty decent.
Swancoat is offline  
post #1297 of 1302 Old 01-23-2015, 12:30 PM
Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swancoat View Post
Example: Go into media room, turn on 'enter' scene. Loads adjust, led lights on 'enter' button on keypad, loads are accurately updated in Indigo, and 'enter' scene in Indigo goes to 'on'. Then, switch scent to 'movie' on keypad. Loads adjust, led on 'movie' button lights, and led on 'enter' button shuts off. Loads are accurately updated in Indigo, 'movie' scene in Indigo goes to 'on', but 'enter' scene in Indigo does NOT go to off, it remains ON.
I don't know anything about the actual (internal) programming and communication, but my guess is that the Indigo is seeing the commands sent properly, but since the scene wasn't actually pressed off(if programmed that way), it doesn't know. My understanding of the RR2 side is, (depending on the button logic) the indicator light will go off when any of the light(s) or Level(s) have changed away from how the seen was programmed, whether that was initiated from another scene button or locally at a dimmer(or switch) it just "sees" the lights are not where they are supposed to be and reacts. In other words when you are switching between scenes there is no "off" command sent from to the previous scene, if you get my meaning... So I don't know if you can get the Indigo to react differently, but it sounds like something I would bring to their attention. I'm guessing the Indigo is just reacting to communications and not polling scenes.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1298 of 1302 Old 01-23-2015, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Swancoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's correct. I've since talked with the guy who wrote the plugin, and what he's doing is treating the buttons and LEDs separately (so the behavior I was seeing wasn't a 'fail' as much as 'by design'). You can set up another Indigo device referring to just the LED that will show the state of that LED. The buttons in RadioRA2 are weird in that there's no such thing as sending an 'on' or 'off'. Just a 'press'.

So I told Indigo to just PRESS the button in response to an IR signal and am effectively controlling RadioRA2 scenes in my media room via IR without a Lutron IR receiver. (There's a small (1 sec?) lag between hitting the IR button and seeing the scene change, but that's acceptable for this use for me).

The plugin author also seems receptive to changing the plugin slightly so a 'device' will reflect the STATE of the LED, and issue a button PRESS when turned on or off. That should basically replicate a keypad button perfectly.

Regardless, it looks like it's going to work great.
Swancoat is offline  
post #1299 of 1302 Old Yesterday, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 376
I was reading the Lutron RadioRa2 8.1 Release Notes and under 8.0 there was this under New Products. What does this mean in terms of RadioRa2? Thanks.

4. Standalone Maestro Sensor Dimmers and Switches
dgage is offline  
post #1300 of 1302 Old Yesterday, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,510
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgage View Post
I was reading the Lutron RadioRa2 8.1 Release Notes and under 8.0 there was this under New Products. What does this mean in terms of RadioRa2? Thanks.

4. Standalone Maestro Sensor Dimmers and Switches
IIRC, this is just the ability to enter standalone dimmers/switches into the software so that those locations can be accounted for in a design and inventory (color, model, etc.).

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
post #1301 of 1302 Old Today, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,950
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post
IIRC, this is just the ability to enter standalone dimmers/switches into the software so that those locations can be accounted for in a design and inventory (color, model, etc.).
Makes sense. Thanks Jautor!
dgage is offline  
post #1302 of 1302 Old Today, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post
IIRC, this is just the ability to enter standalone dimmers/switches into the software so that those locations can be accounted for in a design and inventory (color, model, etc.).
Agreed, they've always had a number of non-RA2 devices capable of being added to designs. This so stuff like wall plates would have the proper number of devices present, and to allow using the reports by the installers on-site.
wkearney99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off