Lutrons RadioRA2 - Page 50 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2015, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
shaun5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I stripped my Casablanca fan down to the motor. Control board, inteli-touch wall switch, sensors, and light kit (added cans to the room): all in the trash (after I scavenged the starting capacitor from the control board). I then direct wired the motor / capacitor as a true PSC motor to the Lutron switch. Everything is working as it should, but on 75% (3rd speed) there is a slight hum from the switch.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? A couple of my incandescent cans hum slightly at low levels and I think I have one other switch that has a slight hum...
shaun5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-31-2015, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaun5 View Post
I stripped my Casablanca fan down to the motor. Control board, inteli-touch wall switch, sensors, and light kit (added cans to the room): all in the trash (after I scavenged the starting capacitor from the control board). I then direct wired the motor / capacitor as a true PSC motor to the Lutron switch. Everything is working as it should, but on 75% (3rd speed) there is a slight hum from the switch.

Has anyone else had a similar experience? A couple of my incandescent cans hum slightly at low levels and I think I have one other switch that has a slight hum...
Depending on the intensity I think this is "normal". Also some people are audibly more sensitive to this. If it's very loud I would try to do something about it. If you have someway to check heat or current (motor) I would check to see these are not elevated to make sure it's safe.

Lights can do that to, especially MLV (MR16). Cheap incandescent lamps are prone to this as well. Even some LED, if you have the joy of a certain generation/version Halo 4" LED as I do you know what I'm talking about.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
Old 08-10-2015, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
9.2 Software is now available

This maybe more for installers and programmers of multiple systems. But it came up a few times last week that they returned to an old job to update or add and they could not directly upgrade the job file to current version because it was so old. It's helpful to write the version number as part of the file name when saving the job file. Otherwise you have to guess and open in multiple versions, until it will accept or ask to upgrade. And unless you've updated all you jobs keep your old versions of the software.

Secondly, it's not important to update if you are having no problems. But I would try to stay within 1 version. (e.g. If you are on 7.x wait until 8.x if you want but once you get to 9 you likely will not be able to directly update.)

If you are on something previous to 7, I would recommend updating as you cannot extract versions previous to 7. (also you cannot extract without inclusive software, so keep a copy of your file in a safe place)

Lastly, if you are an APP user, please occasionally update your changes ("Sync homeowner edits"(?)) and save them to your stored job file.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
Old 08-10-2015, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 41
For anyone that is using a 3rd party VPN, any recommendations on providers?

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
Old 08-16-2015, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
For anyone that is using a 3rd party VPN, any recommendations on providers?
I use StongVPN.com, which is part of ReliableHosting.com. Very reliable, but I really can't comment on pricing vs other providers. I only use it occasionally, mostly when we're traveling.
FlyingDiver is online now  
Old 08-16-2015, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Low Voltage light control

Electricians are starting the rough-in on our new house, and we've still got a couple outstanding Lutron issues to resolve.

Most of the house is using Wallbox Power Modules (6‐zone triac) with some RRD‐6CL modules in places where I needed an individual switch anyway. Most lights are recessed cans with TCP BR30 LED lights.

The area we're still not set on is a few low voltage lights. The electrician is recommending the Halo H1499TAT low voltage housing for the recessed spots (mostly art lights). We also have a location that's going to require low voltage puck lights. For those he's recommending the EuroFase #0087 ELV transformer. I'm not sure what specific puck light he wants to use.

Any experience or recommendations for these lights, especially since we're already committed to the WPM modules for some of those zones. Is there a Lutron driver I should be getting to go between the WPM and the transformer? And for the one location that will use the LV recessed light on a stand-alone switch, which dimmer should I use if not the RRD-6CL?

Thanks!

joe
FlyingDiver is online now  
Old 08-19-2015, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Bump. Any input on the low voltage light control?
FlyingDiver is online now  
Old 08-19-2015, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,419
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I would call Spiwrx for a rec. He sells them too.

----------------------------------------------
Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Old 08-19-2015, 06:48 PM
Member
 
rapamatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Glencoe, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post
I would call Spiwrx for a rec. He sells them too.

I second that. He won't lead you wrong.
rapamatic is offline  
Old 08-19-2015, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I didn't want to bug him direct, since the electricians are installing this round of equipment and they're not buying from him. I was hoping he'd just pop in here and chime in. He usually does.
FlyingDiver is online now  
Old 08-20-2015, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,419
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 102
My electricians haven't had any interest in selling me hardware. They have all [over]charged me by the hour.

Ask them if you can supply hardware, and ask Paul for details on installation before they show up.

Today, last minute, Paul provided me with important details on drivers and wiring, while the electrician was on site.

Thanks again, Paul. I wish I had the LED drivers in hand, before the electrician showed up to prewire. He had no experience with Lutron Hi-lume. Next time, I will know better.

----------------------------------------------
Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Old 08-20-2015, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post
My electricians haven't had any interest in selling me hardware. They have all [over]charged me by the hour.

Ask them if you can supply hardware, and ask Paul for details on installation before they show up.
This is a new home build with electricians contracted to the GC. I have very limited control over what they get from where. The only things I can provide directly (at this point) are items they do not have a distributor for. Not what I would have preferred, but I nothing I could change.

joe
FlyingDiver is online now  
Old 08-21-2015, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,419
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 102
You might want to call Lutron Tech Support or Sales, directly.

If the electrician is installing RA2, shouldn't he be on the hook for making sure everything works, that he specs? You're paying the retail price, not wholesale. That 'added value' provided by the installer is the reason you are paying MSRP. If he doesn't know, he should ask his Lutron supplier/distributor. Maybe he could tell you which distributor he uses, and you could ask.

Lutron forums might be a good place to post - Lutron employees answer questions there pretty well.

https://forums.lutron.com/forumdisplay.php/32-RadioRA-2

----------------------------------------------
Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Old 08-21-2015, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Spiwrx answered me directly, so I'm good. I was just looking for confirmation on the electrician's recommendations here. I'm not sure why people are trying to beat up on them about this.
FlyingDiver is online now  
Old Today, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 86
My electrician was unclear on how to install a RA2 dimmer and accessory switches on a 4-way lighting circuit (outside spot lights involving 3 entry door locations and the dimmer in the master bedroom). The Lutron phone tech was VERY helpful and understood exactly what the electrician was unclear about. The tech used terminology the electrician understood and they got the circuit wired very quickly. So if you run into a situation the installer doesn't understand don't hesitate to call Lutron's support line.
wkearney99 is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off