Lutrons RadioRA2 - Page 64 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 132Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 1910 Old 04-10-2017, 03:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
Atypicalguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 1910 Old 04-11-2017, 08:56 AM
Member
 
sbarnesvta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl

There is some limited functionality that can be done between RA2 and Honeywell Vista Panels.

In the past the only way I have been able to accomplish this is to integrate everything with a third part control system (Crestron or RTI). You can use the alarm system to trigger anything else the control system can talk to.
sbarnesvta is offline  
post #1893 of 1910 Old 04-11-2017, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
Karl, personally I haven't done much with integrating alarms with RR2 but others are and maybe they can chime in. I know it is supposed to work with Alarm.com which I think opens the doors some more options and control, but specifically they only have these notes on the support website:

Alarm.com integration: http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ntegration.pdf

Honeywell Vista128 Panel (VCRX): http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ary/048451.pdf

Honeywell with 4232CBM: http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ary/048488.pdf

Honeywell's take on RR2: https://www.security.honeywell.com/h...aqs/index.html

General/Basic Security System integration through contact closure (VCRX): http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ary/048362.pdf

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is online now  
 
post #1894 of 1910 Old 04-11-2017, 09:50 AM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,374
Mentioned: 177 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1616 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
A better place for that question is the Cocoontech forums, which is focused on automation and security with many industry guys (and enthusiats) that help out immensely. I use CQC (CharmedQuark) as my control software (runs on Windows) but there are several choices.

David Gage
Deep Sea Sound
"You don't listen to our subs, you EXPERIENCE them!"
dgage is online now  
post #1895 of 1910 Old 04-11-2017, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
CQC, Homeseer and certainly Allonis's myServer can do exactly what you want.
They all support ELK security systems which is highly recommended.
The ELK supports full 2 way integration.

The "Master Controller" applications support other security panels as well, but those panels don't provide quite the same level of integration.
The ELK can swap a less capable security panel and reuse most all sensors.

myServer supports RadioRA2 (and Caseta, Homeworks, Insteon, Z-Wave, others).

The Master Controllers all support control of Media hardware and streaming services.
The myServer controllers are also streaming renderers (Pandora, Google Music, etc).
smoothtlk is offline  
post #1896 of 1910 Old 04-12-2017, 01:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothtlk View Post
CQC, Homeseer and certainly Allonis's myServer can do exactly what you want.
They all support ELK security systems which is highly recommended.
The ELK supports full 2 way integration.

The "Master Controller" applications support other security panels as well, but those panels don't provide quite the same level of integration.
The ELK can swap a less capable security panel and reuse most all sensors.

myServer supports RadioRA2 (and Caseta, Homeworks, Insteon, Z-Wave, others).

The Master Controllers all support control of Media hardware and streaming services.
The myServer controllers are also streaming renderers (Pandora, Google Music, etc).
Can this Allonis server generate multiple simultaneous feeds? Does one simply add as many sound cards as needed? Can one select higher or lower end sound cards?

Seems like a matrix switch is in order, and probably one with a separate eq on each output.

How would I get sound from my AV receiver back up to this server and down again to various zones? Say I want the CD player output to go to the whole house?

Thanks.
Atypicalguy is offline  
post #1897 of 1910 Old 04-12-2017, 04:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DMILANI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For simplicity, I recommend a 2GIG GC3 panel. It integrates easily with Radio RA2 through an Alarm.com account, and I have mine setup to turn on all interior lights and flash the porch lights whenever the panel goes into alarm. There are two general purpose trigger outputs from the panel that you could use to trigger your sounds system.

http://2gig.com/products/control-pan...ads/gc3-panel/

Plus, the GC3 panel can act as a Z-Wave controller to accomplish other types of automation based on alarm activity, etc.
DMILANI is online now  
post #1898 of 1910 Old 04-12-2017, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Can this Allonis server generate multiple simultaneous feeds? Does one simply add as many sound cards as needed? Can one select higher or lower end sound cards?

Seems like a matrix switch is in order, and probably one with a separate eq on each output.

How would I get sound from my AV receiver back up to this server and down again to various zones? Say I want the CD player output to go to the whole house?

Thanks.
Hi, yes, multiple feeds work. You need to have a unique Pandora account for each (and Google Music etc). Yes, you can add sound cards. You are limited to 4 outputs from any one of the streaming services (7.1) It is highly unusual for requiring more. Keep in mind that is concurrent usage. If you require more, we can modify the software for that. On some streams you can also stream 4 more to DLNA devices or to web clients or to remote PCs. Yes, you can upgrade the card.

You can also use a whole house audio amp for the matrix ability. myServer's sound drivers includes eq ability and a customizable user interface for it.

Yes, AV matrix switches are also supported to tell them which source, which output(s) to use.

You can use the sound card Mic Input. But...we recommend to rip the music to hard drives. We have a solution just for that. Much easier than a CD player.

Last edited by smoothtlk; 04-12-2017 at 05:15 AM.
smoothtlk is offline  
post #1899 of 1910 Old 04-12-2017, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMILANI View Post
For simplicity, I recommend a 2GIG GC3 panel. It integrates easily with Radio RA2 through an Alarm.com account, and I have mine setup to turn on all interior lights and flash the porch lights whenever the panel goes into alarm. There are two general purpose trigger outputs from the panel that you could use to trigger your sounds system.

http://2gig.com/products/control-pan...ads/gc3-panel/

Plus, the GC3 panel can act as a Z-Wave controller to accomplish other types of automation based on alarm activity, etc.
Thanks but I am hard wiring everything. That panel is wireless.
Atypicalguy is offline  
post #1900 of 1910 Old 04-13-2017, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothtlk View Post
Hi, yes, multiple feeds work. You need to have a unique Pandora account for each (and Google Music etc). Yes, you can add sound cards. You are limited to 4 outputs from any one of the streaming services (7.1) It is highly unusual for requiring more. Keep in mind that is concurrent usage. If you require more, we can modify the software for that. On some streams you can also stream 4 more to DLNA devices or to web clients or to remote PCs. Yes, you can upgrade the card.

You can also use a whole house audio amp for the matrix ability. myServer's sound drivers includes eq ability and a customizable user interface for it.

Yes, AV matrix switches are also supported to tell them which source, which output(s) to use.

You can use the sound card Mic Input. But...we recommend to rip the music to hard drives. We have a solution just for that. Much easier than a CD player.
So the server would also fully control an AV receiver driving surround sound and a projector, and take an audio feed from the internet video and send that audio to the whole house amp?
Atypicalguy is offline  
post #1901 of 1910 Old 04-13-2017, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Yes, the server would control the AV receiver (via a serial cable, ethernet or worse case, IR).
and yes, the server can also be a streaming renderer that can be plugged into whole house audio (like a russound MCE88 or Nuvo Grand Concerto) audio input(s).
The Server would also control the whole house audio matrix amp. (which Source, which Zone(s), what volume, turn on and off)
smoothtlk is offline  
post #1902 of 1910 Old 04-20-2017, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
d

No one has really asked me, but this just became available for Caseta and straight from the RR2 page they published this recently:

"Google Assistant Integration.

Coming Soon!
Lutron just announced a new integration with Google Home that allows homeowners to easily control their RadioRA 2 lighting systems using the Google Assistant, offering a greater flexibility and peace of mind. Now – with a few words – you can have hands-free assistance controlling lights in your connected home, whether you’re in your living room relaxing on the couch, or out of town on vacation."

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is online now  
post #1903 of 1910 Old 04-20-2017, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the head's up Paul. I wonder if you'll need the newer Connect Bridge or if the original one will work w/Google Assistant. Unlike HomeKit I don't think there are any hardware specific requirements which would preclude the original bridge, but who knows with Lutron.
freeoscar is offline  
post #1904 of 1910 Old 04-20-2017, 11:45 AM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,374
Mentioned: 177 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1616 Post(s)
Liked: 1439
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeoscar View Post
Thanks for the head's up Paul. I wonder if you'll need the newer Connect Bridge or if the original one will work w/Google Assistant. Unlike HomeKit I don't think there are any hardware specific requirements which would preclude the original bridge, but who knows with Lutron.
I'm pretty sure there will be another hardware revision to add Google access. Haha. Just kidding...but barely.
schalliol and Neurorad like this.

David Gage
Deep Sea Sound
"You don't listen to our subs, you EXPERIENCE them!"
dgage is online now  
post #1905 of 1910 Old 05-08-2017, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Anyone here a Control4 dealer, I need to help a customer out and get 2 brown switches. Please email me directly if you can. paul (at) hankselectric (dot) net

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is online now  
post #1906 of 1910 Old 05-09-2017, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Needed this like a hole in the head...


Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is online now  
post #1907 of 1910 Old 05-09-2017, 06:07 PM
Member
 
rapamatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Glencoe, IL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
Needed this like a hole in the head...



I ordered two this morning :P


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rapamatic is online now  
post #1908 of 1910 Old 05-10-2017, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapamatic View Post
I ordered two this morning :P


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If they have some sort of intercom function, I'll need 3 right away, I was looking at "Nucleus" but they have my attention...

...Rapamatic, I thought you were the Apple die hard....

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is online now  
post #1909 of 1910 Old 05-10-2017, 08:55 AM
Member
 
rapamatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Glencoe, IL
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Lutrons RadioRA2

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
If they have some sort of intercom function, I'll need 3 right away, I was looking at "Nucleus" but they have my attention...

...Rapamatic, I thought you were the Apple die hard....


I believe they do have a sort of intercom function. You can have certain contacts able to initiate a video/audio call without you needing to answer. They have a name for this feature but I forget it now. They show it in their intro video.

I'm a big Apple fan, but we love our Alexa in the kitchen and it's much easier than Siri to hook into Lutron and Indigo for automation. Plus it's always on and listening (a bit creepy). I'm also holding out for that Alexa/Sonos integration, which is supposedly coming soon.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rapamatic is online now  
post #1910 of 1910 Old Today, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapamatic View Post
I believe they do have a sort of intercom function....
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
---Slightly Off Topic---

Stumbled on this CNET article today, on Amazon/Echo Intercom function....

https://www.cnet.com/news/bug-your-f...ercom-feature/

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off