Lutrons RadioRA2 - Page 64 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 143Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 1958 Old 04-10-2017, 03:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
Atypicalguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 1958 Old 04-11-2017, 08:56 AM
Member
 
sbarnesvta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greater Los Angeles Area
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl

There is some limited functionality that can be done between RA2 and Honeywell Vista Panels.

In the past the only way I have been able to accomplish this is to integrate everything with a third part control system (Crestron or RTI). You can use the alarm system to trigger anything else the control system can talk to.
sbarnesvta is offline  
post #1893 of 1958 Old 04-11-2017, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
Karl, personally I haven't done much with integrating alarms with RR2 but others are and maybe they can chime in. I know it is supposed to work with Alarm.com which I think opens the doors some more options and control, but specifically they only have these notes on the support website:

Alarm.com integration: http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ntegration.pdf

Honeywell Vista128 Panel (VCRX): http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ary/048451.pdf

Honeywell with 4232CBM: http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ary/048488.pdf

Honeywell's take on RR2: https://www.security.honeywell.com/h...aqs/index.html

General/Basic Security System integration through contact closure (VCRX): http://www.lutron.com/PasswordProtec...ary/048362.pdf

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
 
post #1894 of 1958 Old 04-11-2017, 09:50 AM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,431
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Hello and thanks for an informative thread. I am in the middle of a large remodel and will be putting in a limited amount of RR2, for interior lighting primarily. Shopping for home security however I realized that I would like the security system to be able to turn on all the lights, based upon motion or glass breakage etc. I will also have twelve music zones on a casatunes server and it would be great to have it turn outside speakers on in response to motion etc., or speak through the speakers via phone by internet through the security camera android app.

What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
A better place for that question is the Cocoontech forums, which is focused on automation and security with many industry guys (and enthusiats) that help out immensely. I use CQC (CharmedQuark) as my control software (runs on Windows) but there are several choices.

David Gage
Deep Sea Sound
"You don't listen to our subs, you EXPERIENCE them!"
dgage is offline  
post #1895 of 1958 Old 04-11-2017, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
What sort of security hardware/software would allow control of the RR2 lighting and audio most easily? I need to spec a security system and am not sure what to buy (or if they even work, but having it turn music and lights on and off responsively would seem to be a worthwhile deterrent strategy).

Thanks,
Karl
CQC, Homeseer and certainly Allonis's myServer can do exactly what you want.
They all support ELK security systems which is highly recommended.
The ELK supports full 2 way integration.

The "Master Controller" applications support other security panels as well, but those panels don't provide quite the same level of integration.
The ELK can swap a less capable security panel and reuse most all sensors.

myServer supports RadioRA2 (and Caseta, Homeworks, Insteon, Z-Wave, others).

The Master Controllers all support control of Media hardware and streaming services.
The myServer controllers are also streaming renderers (Pandora, Google Music, etc).
smoothtlk is online now  
post #1896 of 1958 Old 04-12-2017, 01:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothtlk View Post
CQC, Homeseer and certainly Allonis's myServer can do exactly what you want.
They all support ELK security systems which is highly recommended.
The ELK supports full 2 way integration.

The "Master Controller" applications support other security panels as well, but those panels don't provide quite the same level of integration.
The ELK can swap a less capable security panel and reuse most all sensors.

myServer supports RadioRA2 (and Caseta, Homeworks, Insteon, Z-Wave, others).

The Master Controllers all support control of Media hardware and streaming services.
The myServer controllers are also streaming renderers (Pandora, Google Music, etc).
Can this Allonis server generate multiple simultaneous feeds? Does one simply add as many sound cards as needed? Can one select higher or lower end sound cards?

Seems like a matrix switch is in order, and probably one with a separate eq on each output.

How would I get sound from my AV receiver back up to this server and down again to various zones? Say I want the CD player output to go to the whole house?

Thanks.
Atypicalguy is offline  
post #1897 of 1958 Old 04-12-2017, 04:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DMILANI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For simplicity, I recommend a 2GIG GC3 panel. It integrates easily with Radio RA2 through an Alarm.com account, and I have mine setup to turn on all interior lights and flash the porch lights whenever the panel goes into alarm. There are two general purpose trigger outputs from the panel that you could use to trigger your sounds system.

http://2gig.com/products/control-pan...ads/gc3-panel/

Plus, the GC3 panel can act as a Z-Wave controller to accomplish other types of automation based on alarm activity, etc.
DMILANI is offline  
post #1898 of 1958 Old 04-12-2017, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atypicalguy View Post
Can this Allonis server generate multiple simultaneous feeds? Does one simply add as many sound cards as needed? Can one select higher or lower end sound cards?

Seems like a matrix switch is in order, and probably one with a separate eq on each output.

How would I get sound from my AV receiver back up to this server and down again to various zones? Say I want the CD player output to go to the whole house?

Thanks.
Hi, yes, multiple feeds work. You need to have a unique Pandora account for each (and Google Music etc). Yes, you can add sound cards. You are limited to 4 outputs from any one of the streaming services (7.1) It is highly unusual for requiring more. Keep in mind that is concurrent usage. If you require more, we can modify the software for that. On some streams you can also stream 4 more to DLNA devices or to web clients or to remote PCs. Yes, you can upgrade the card.

You can also use a whole house audio amp for the matrix ability. myServer's sound drivers includes eq ability and a customizable user interface for it.

Yes, AV matrix switches are also supported to tell them which source, which output(s) to use.

You can use the sound card Mic Input. But...we recommend to rip the music to hard drives. We have a solution just for that. Much easier than a CD player.

Last edited by smoothtlk; 04-12-2017 at 05:15 AM.
smoothtlk is online now  
post #1899 of 1958 Old 04-12-2017, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMILANI View Post
For simplicity, I recommend a 2GIG GC3 panel. It integrates easily with Radio RA2 through an Alarm.com account, and I have mine setup to turn on all interior lights and flash the porch lights whenever the panel goes into alarm. There are two general purpose trigger outputs from the panel that you could use to trigger your sounds system.

http://2gig.com/products/control-pan...ads/gc3-panel/

Plus, the GC3 panel can act as a Z-Wave controller to accomplish other types of automation based on alarm activity, etc.
Thanks but I am hard wiring everything. That panel is wireless.
Atypicalguy is offline  
post #1900 of 1958 Old 04-13-2017, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothtlk View Post
Hi, yes, multiple feeds work. You need to have a unique Pandora account for each (and Google Music etc). Yes, you can add sound cards. You are limited to 4 outputs from any one of the streaming services (7.1) It is highly unusual for requiring more. Keep in mind that is concurrent usage. If you require more, we can modify the software for that. On some streams you can also stream 4 more to DLNA devices or to web clients or to remote PCs. Yes, you can upgrade the card.

You can also use a whole house audio amp for the matrix ability. myServer's sound drivers includes eq ability and a customizable user interface for it.

Yes, AV matrix switches are also supported to tell them which source, which output(s) to use.

You can use the sound card Mic Input. But...we recommend to rip the music to hard drives. We have a solution just for that. Much easier than a CD player.
So the server would also fully control an AV receiver driving surround sound and a projector, and take an audio feed from the internet video and send that audio to the whole house amp?
Atypicalguy is offline  
post #1901 of 1958 Old 04-13-2017, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Yes, the server would control the AV receiver (via a serial cable, ethernet or worse case, IR).
and yes, the server can also be a streaming renderer that can be plugged into whole house audio (like a russound MCE88 or Nuvo Grand Concerto) audio input(s).
The Server would also control the whole house audio matrix amp. (which Source, which Zone(s), what volume, turn on and off)
jerfletcher likes this.
smoothtlk is online now  
post #1902 of 1958 Old 04-20-2017, 08:26 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
d

No one has really asked me, but this just became available for Caseta and straight from the RR2 page they published this recently:

"Google Assistant Integration.

Coming Soon!
Lutron just announced a new integration with Google Home that allows homeowners to easily control their RadioRA 2 lighting systems using the Google Assistant, offering a greater flexibility and peace of mind. Now – with a few words – you can have hands-free assistance controlling lights in your connected home, whether you’re in your living room relaxing on the couch, or out of town on vacation."

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1903 of 1958 Old 04-20-2017, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks for the head's up Paul. I wonder if you'll need the newer Connect Bridge or if the original one will work w/Google Assistant. Unlike HomeKit I don't think there are any hardware specific requirements which would preclude the original bridge, but who knows with Lutron.
freeoscar is offline  
post #1904 of 1958 Old 04-20-2017, 11:45 AM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,431
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1480
Quote:
Originally Posted by freeoscar View Post
Thanks for the head's up Paul. I wonder if you'll need the newer Connect Bridge or if the original one will work w/Google Assistant. Unlike HomeKit I don't think there are any hardware specific requirements which would preclude the original bridge, but who knows with Lutron.
I'm pretty sure there will be another hardware revision to add Google access. Haha. Just kidding...but barely.
schalliol and Neurorad like this.

David Gage
Deep Sea Sound
"You don't listen to our subs, you EXPERIENCE them!"
dgage is offline  
post #1905 of 1958 Old 05-08-2017, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Anyone here a Control4 dealer, I need to help a customer out and get 2 brown switches. Please email me directly if you can. paul (at) hankselectric (dot) net

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1906 of 1958 Old 05-09-2017, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Needed this like a hole in the head...


Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1907 of 1958 Old 05-09-2017, 06:07 PM
Member
 
rapamatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Glencoe, IL
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
Needed this like a hole in the head...



I ordered two this morning :P


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rapamatic is offline  
post #1908 of 1958 Old 05-10-2017, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapamatic View Post
I ordered two this morning :P


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If they have some sort of intercom function, I'll need 3 right away, I was looking at "Nucleus" but they have my attention...

...Rapamatic, I thought you were the Apple die hard....

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1909 of 1958 Old 05-10-2017, 08:55 AM
Member
 
rapamatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Glencoe, IL
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Lutrons RadioRA2

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiwrx View Post
If they have some sort of intercom function, I'll need 3 right away, I was looking at "Nucleus" but they have my attention...

...Rapamatic, I thought you were the Apple die hard....


I believe they do have a sort of intercom function. You can have certain contacts able to initiate a video/audio call without you needing to answer. They have a name for this feature but I forget it now. They show it in their intro video.

I'm a big Apple fan, but we love our Alexa in the kitchen and it's much easier than Siri to hook into Lutron and Indigo for automation. Plus it's always on and listening (a bit creepy). I'm also holding out for that Alexa/Sonos integration, which is supposedly coming soon.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rapamatic is offline  
post #1910 of 1958 Old 06-27-2017, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
spiwrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapamatic View Post
I believe they do have a sort of intercom function....
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
---Slightly Off Topic---

Stumbled on this CNET article today, on Amazon/Echo Intercom function....

https://www.cnet.com/news/bug-your-f...ercom-feature/
Foos-Man likes this.

Paul W.
'Lutron Grafik Eye & Radio Ra Specialist - or anything Lutron'
Hanks Electrical Supply
www.hankselectric.net
FB Page
paul@hankselectric.net
spiwrx is offline  
post #1911 of 1958 Old 06-28-2017, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 25
schalliol is offline  
post #1912 of 1958 Old 06-28-2017, 07:24 PM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,431
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1480
My wife and I talk about our illegal activities in the bathroom, where we won't allow an Echo. However, the rest of the house is game and if the FBI wants to hear us yelling for the kids, set a timer, or turn on/off lights, more power to them. But I don't doubt they might have an ability to get in and eaves drop. Let's see, the US government can listen to our cell calls without permission, the government allows all of our ISP surfing to be sold, so why not something that is at least convenient.

If you want voice control without the cloud, check out Charmed Quark, which is a PC-based home automation system.

David Gage
Deep Sea Sound
"You don't listen to our subs, you EXPERIENCE them!"
dgage is offline  
post #1913 of 1958 Old 06-28-2017, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Heh

I like convenience too. I can be anywher and just say ?Hey Siri? and my watch will take care of it.
schalliol is offline  
post #1914 of 1958 Old 07-02-2017, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post
I have been promised by my HD dealer that they can integrate HD with Lutron but so far no help
This is pretty easy with an always on computer of some kind to do the integration. I use a super cheap raspberry pi, wrote a quick script to integrate with lutron and with my shades, and now keypad button presses can also trigger shade scenes and away mode also adjusts shades.

The only downside is that HD is super unreliable. Scenes rarely work, so I just trigger shades individually, which seems to do the trick.

If If you're interested I can share the scripts I've written. It's really hacky and in ruby - not something I wrote to share - but relatively easy to setup if you're familiar with scripting.
spherex is offline  
post #1915 of 1958 Old 07-02-2017, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I like RR2 because it works 100.0% of the time. Anything else doesn?t make sense for lighting.
dgage and spiwrx like this.
schalliol is offline  
post #1916 of 1958 Old 07-03-2017, 05:43 AM
Deep Sea Sound
 
dgage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 3,431
Mentioned: 183 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1663 Post(s)
Liked: 1480
Quote:
Originally Posted by schalliol View Post
I like RR2 because it works 100.0% of the time. Anything else doesn?t make sense for lighting.
Concur completely. Read about issues with Zwave, UPB, and Insteon but have never had issues with RadioRa2. It's been completely solid (100%) the last 5 years.

David Gage
Deep Sea Sound
"You don't listen to our subs, you EXPERIENCE them!"
dgage is offline  
post #1917 of 1958 Old 07-03-2017, 10:47 PM
Senior Member
 
schalliol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carmel, IN, USA
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 25
My original entry to automation was trying X10 in the 90s, which left a lot to be desired.
schalliol is offline  
post #1918 of 1958 Old 07-15-2017, 11:37 PM
Newbie
 
Freiberg75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for some help on a RadioRA2 system.
Installer has left town I'm looking to switch some settings, add a couple of new switches and reconfigure the current wireless pad's where we have blanks to operate existing equipment.

This may be a real dumb question.. so apologies before hand... but why would it be recommended to mount all the switches on the wall in a data closet... was told that is normal, but seems kinda crazy to not have the switches local to the rooms, and prohibitive in cost to have a switch in a closet and a keypads on the walls.

I have been able to download the current configuration to an xml file, but not sure I will have the patience to go through the training to get the basic software to configure it.
If anyone would be willing to help, PM an idea around what you would need and costs and maybe we can get something moving.

Thanks!

HD4L
Freiberg75 is offline  
post #1919 of 1958 Old 07-16-2017, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smoothtlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,695
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 42
"why would it be recommended to mount all the switches on the wall in a data closet... was told that is normal, but seems kinda crazy to not have the switches local to the rooms, and prohibitive in cost to have a switch in a closet and a keypads on the walls."

This is common so as to reduce the number of episodes of "Wall Acne".

There is typically a switch at the entrance to a room...that switch is programmed to "tell" the multiple circuits in that room to turn on / off / dim as a "scene".

If the room is large, and requires multiple switches to handle the light load, then you don't have these multiple switches on the visible wall - they are in the wiring closet.

It's a stair step towards a home run high end lighting controller like Lutron Homeworks and Vantage Infusion that uses low voltage switches in the room telling the lighting controller what you want to do. The Lighting controller then tells the dimmer and relay modules which circuits to On / Off / Dim.
smoothtlk is online now  
post #1920 of 1958 Old 07-16-2017, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
Freiberg75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Alpharetta GA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks smoothtlk! That helps, I was having a hard time getting my head around that.
I haven't seen one, but that seems like a great opportunity for a company like Lutron to come up with a 24 port type switch... and include that as part of the automation product backlog.

But at least I know why it's being done, and can make some sense out of it, so that is a huge help.

Now to find some help tweaking the system going forward.
I have exported the config xml.
Is it true that someone would be able to update the switch locations remotely based on that xml file and then we could re-upload the modified xml to the RA2 control unit?

Thanks for the feedback!

HD4L
Freiberg75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Automation

Tags
lighting control , wireless switch

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off