Elan Vs. Control4?! - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > A/V Control & Automation > Home Automation > Elan Vs. Control4?!

Home Automation

Schmitt Sabry's Avatar Schmitt Sabry
03:32 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 5
04-25-2010 | Posts: 2
Hi all,

I am really new to this so easy on me please.

I just want a little help comparing control4 to Elan systems taking into consideration the following points:
Reliability
Functionality
Cost
Ease of use

Generally the pros and cons for each of them.
Detailed as much as you can please.

thank you very much in advance.
Mattbrotzge's Avatar Mattbrotzge
12:27 PM Liked: 13
post #2 of 5
04-28-2010 | Posts: 23
I have sold both & feel C4 is a better solution:

Elan has been very very slow to respond to the needs of the consumer in the touch screen/home automation market. Many co's have passed them by & I guess the reason for this is that they did not want to alienate their legacy product. Elan purchased Home Logic a few yrs ago in hopes to regain its share of the market. Unfortunately they have done very little to integrate the technologies of Home Logic into the Elan line.

Then more recently Linear purchased Elan, Niles, & Xantech with the same vision.
In my opinion Elan does not have a clearly defined, integrated, and networked based product offering for whole house automation, lighting, security and HVAC control customers.

In my opinion these are the negatives of an Elan system:
(it has been a yr since I sold there product so I am not sure how much has changed but from what I have heard I believe evrything listed below is still true)