Are there any cheap but reliable ways to control lights via IR? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-07-2010, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I just want to control 2-3 lighting circuits by IR cost effectively and reliably. I keep Googling but end up confusing myself. I came across x10 and everything at smarthome.com but they all need this, that, and a controller. I just want an IR receiver within my rack, and have my remote control send signals to the IR blaster to take care of the lights. Is anything like this out there? TIA
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-07-2010, 08:03 PM
Member
 
knowinnothin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lutron makes ir controllable dimmers. There priced around $40.00 and they include a remote. There on the shelf at Depot and Ctire in Canada and I imagine most box stores in U.S.
knowinnothin is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-08-2010, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
herdfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 2,826
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like knowinnothin stated, Lutron makes an IR dimmer:

http://www.lutron.com/Products/Stand.../Overview.aspx

Lutron also makes what they call the Spacer System which allows scene control via IR:

http://www.lutron.com/Products/Singl.../Overview.aspx

You didn't mention what remote you were using, but URC has a line of Lutorn made dimmers that are controlled natively via RF from URC remotes. If you have a URC remote, this is probably the best solution:

http://www.universalremote.com/solut...ng-control.php

There are also Z-Wave based remotes that can do similar. Stay away from X-10 and Insteon if you can.

Please do not send me PM's asking for software! You will not get it.
herdfan is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-08-2010, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thank you for the replies. Can I relocate any of those IR receivers into my equipment room though?
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-08-2010, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
These threads may help

You can put an IR emitter into the light dimmer/switch junction box. Though, the wire you should use for the IR should be 600V rated, to legally be located in the box with the line voltage wiring.

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...cgi?sid=277614

I'd go with Lutron Spacer, or Maestro RF. Maybe a cheap UPB option?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-12-2010, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Insteon isn't as complex as you think. You need an IRLinc in your equipment closet to receive IR commands and then dimmer modules where you want to control the load. It's very straightforward. But people have experienced reliability issues. But I have not with 30+ devices. It has worked great for me!
erkq is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-13-2010, 01:07 PM
Member
 
bayshoresupply's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Lutron Spacer system lets you put the dimmers in the equipment closet. You pair the dimmers with a remote-mounted keypad (SPS-5WCR) which includes a IR blaster to connect the keypad to the equipment room.
bayshoresupply is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-14-2010, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the replies everyone. So can I just get one of these: http://www.smarthome.com/2411R/IRLin...nverter/p.aspx
And a bunch of these: http://www.smarthome.com/2876DB/ICON...-Switch/p.aspx

?
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-14-2010, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by scl23enn4m3 View Post

Thanks for the replies everyone. So can I just get one of these: http://www.smarthome.com/2411R/IRLin...nverter/p.aspx
And a bunch of these: http://www.smarthome.com/2876DB/ICON...-Switch/p.aspx

?

Yes. I'd try to see if you can get them from Amazon to take advantage of their return policy. Then get just one switch with the IRLinc and try it out.

Hmmm... Amazon seems to have the IRLinc (Prime, too) but not the cheaper ICON dimmer:
http://www.amazon.com/Smarthome-2411...9&sr=8-2-fkmr1

They do have the regular dimmer though:
http://www.amazon.com/Smarthome-2476...2380202&sr=1-1

I use those ICON modules as they're about $10 cheaper than the regular ones. But they don't have some features. For example you can't program the dim/bright rate. It's set at 2 seconds.

They come in different colors and color change kits are available, so you're not stuck with white.
erkq is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-14-2010, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkq View Post

Yes. I'd try to see if you can get them from Amazon to take advantage of their return policy. Then get just one switch with the IRLinc and try it out.

Hmmm... Amazon seems to have the IRLinc (Prime, too) but not the cheaper ICON dimmer:
http://www.amazon.com/Smarthome-2411...9&sr=8-2-fkmr1

They do have the regular dimmer though:
http://www.amazon.com/Smarthome-2476...2380202&sr=1-1

I use those ICON modules as they're about $10 cheaper than the regular ones. But they don't have some features. For example you can't program the dim/bright rate. It's set at 2 seconds.

They come in different colors and color change kits are available, so you're not stuck with white.

Ah thank you for the tips. This is something I can retrofit after everything is done right? I don't have to run any wires before sheetrocking is up? How does the IRLinc communicate to the switches? I still haven't figured out what INSTEON is lol.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-14-2010, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erkq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by scl23enn4m3 View Post

Ah thank you for the tips. This is something I can retrofit after everything is done right? I don't have to run any wires before sheetrocking is up? How does the IRLinc communicate to the switches? I still haven't figured out what INSTEON is lol.

You can put the sheetrock up. Just make sure all your switch boxes have a neutral available. All modern wiring has that. But really... I would test it first so you don't limit your options with hard wired systems if it turns out you need that. I'm almost 100% sure you won't, but sheetrock installation and finish is expensive! Up to you, of course.

Insteon communicates through the house wiring like X10. But then they added radio communications too. It's a grid network.

Now they have "dual-band" dimmers that are even more expensive... $65. I don't know what they are about.
erkq is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off