Elan g! - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 120 Old 10-02-2011, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by acurlik View Post

Hello, I have a question about the CVRM Component Video Receive.
I have a rack located in my basement with 3 Verizon Fios HD cable boxes along with my Elan system. HC12, M68A and V85. I want to sent HD video to
4 TV's along with IR controll from the TV back to the rack. Can I do it with the CVRM. I am going to use the RSWP for audio just incase i want to use the TV speakers.

Thanks, Andrew

The CVRM does Component video only, no IR passthrough. That being said, if you are going to use the RSWP for audio, that plate does have provisions for IR on the same CAT5 used for audio.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 120 Old 10-18-2011, 03:25 PM
Newbie
 
komlosy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

No.

Yes.

Just to let everyone know...Elan is coming out with an SDK for Q1 2012 that will enable you to write your own 2-way drivers.
komlosy is offline  
post #63 of 120 Old 10-18-2011, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
komlosy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOJO888 View Post

Yes.I am international. Now I am in Beijing.Next month I will be in Australia. I will get a set of homeworks system to test. I heard it is good for Elan g!. You know,Lutron is a bit expensive. I hope to find a better way to apply 2-way control for cheaper lighting and climate system even though not included in Elan driver list.I am looking for detail progamming advice. But it seems hard to send and get accurate feed back via RS-232/485 manully in g!(Frederick's advice is helpful,thanks very much) This situation make me down.So far I hope g! more powerful. I will try more after I get its HC6 and TS7.Any achievement will be post here to share with you.

You can always use Insteon as a lighting option. It's cheap and it works....i think. Elan has drivers for them. I, personally, use Lutron RadioRa 2. It works pretty well.
komlosy is offline  
post #64 of 120 Old 10-18-2011, 03:31 PM
Newbie
 
komlosy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chomperoni View Post

Another question. Sorry but my installer seems to be mediocre at best.
I had heard that there is a sun sensor that is available that can sense when to lower automatic shades.
My installer says it doesnt exist.
Is this correct ?

Your best bet would be Lutron. They will be having this available soon on their RadioRa 2 product line. Lutron also uses an astronomical time clock, so that at a certain time, your shades can go down...or up.
komlosy is offline  
post #65 of 120 Old 10-18-2011, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
komlosy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airric View Post

No, you could just use IR to control your DVR if it didn't have RS232, it's just not quite as reliable (emitter falling off, etc).

Hot glue is the key to emitters not falling off. Not silicone, superglue. HOT GLUE.
komlosy is offline  
post #66 of 120 Old 10-28-2011, 06:46 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I use the SDK to change layout of item button? Elan's page is not pretty as Control4,Savant even though Bitwise.
JOJO888 is offline  
post #67 of 120 Old 10-28-2011, 08:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOJO888 View Post

Can I use the SDK to change layout of item button? Elan's page is not pretty as Control4,Savant even though Bitwise.

Not sure what you mean by "layout of item button".

Do you mean the arrangement of buttons on a page or the appearance of the button itself?

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #68 of 120 Old 10-30-2011, 01:45 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes,both of them.
JOJO888 is offline  
post #69 of 120 Old 10-30-2011, 04:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The configuration utility allows for arranging buttons, etc and altering many of the characteristics of the buttons, etc. You also can customize the colors within limits.

I don't know what the SDK will allow.

The older HomeLogic system came with many different "color sets" but the new g! just has the basic black scheme.

I don't know why folks worry so about this sort of thing - the point of a tool such as g! is to be functional and user friendly. Clearly Elan is trying to keep things looking much like the iPad/iPhone design - and that will help with users being comfortable when starting to use the system. I don't hear a lot of end users asking for works of art - just something that works well.

That's just my two cents.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #70 of 120 Old 11-01-2011, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To answer JOJO's question, technically I don't know the answer to your question since the SDK isn't released yet, but I'm pretty confident that the answer will be no. The purpose of the SDK is not to customize the "look" of g!, it's for software developers to be able to write drivers for 3rd party equipment to work with g! with full 2-way communication.

To that end, Frederick put it best. If people are looking for a completely custom look to their touchscreens, then g! is not the system for them, nor is it intended to be. As a dealer, my experience is that the overwhelming majority of my clients could care less about customizing their interfaces. They simply want a system that works reliably and is incredibly easy to use. In my opinion, Elan g! nails both of those points.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #71 of 120 Old 11-02-2011, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree that people want the Elan g system because it is so simple to use.
That was one of the main reasons I chose it over other systems as everyone in my family can use it.
Does anyone know if they are coming out with a blackberry or Android app?
Would be nice not to be tied to Apple as additional control devices.
chomperoni is offline  
post #72 of 120 Old 11-13-2011, 04:08 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frederick & Eric,
thx.What you said is what I guessed. SDK for 3rd party drivers is most important thing. For interface? maybe SDK version2.0
JOJO888 is offline  
post #73 of 120 Old 11-20-2011, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know if they are planning an android app?
chomperoni is offline  
post #74 of 120 Old 11-22-2011, 12:35 PM
Member
 
jmaxbrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am Élan dealer, and love the g! System. But I'm hoping they release the iPad app before android. Right now it's an iPhone app made bigger by iPad. And it limits GUI. But I know both are in the pipeline. I'm guess Q1 to Q2 2012.
jmaxbrod is offline  
post #75 of 120 Old 11-22-2011, 01:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaxbrod View Post

I am Élan dealer, and love the g! System. But I'm hoping they release the iPad app before android. Right now it's an iPhone app made bigger by iPad. And it limits GUI. But I know both are in the pipeline. I'm guess Q1 to Q2 2012.

That's funny - I thought it was out - on the app I messed with (very briefly) I didn't see the 1X/2X button I am used to seeing on an iPod app running on an iPad.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #76 of 120 Old 11-22-2011, 08:05 PM
Member
 
jmaxbrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post


That's funny - I thought it was out - on the app I messed with (very briefly) I didn't see the 1X/2X button I am used to seeing on an iPod app running on an iPad.

It doesn't have 1x or 2x button. It automatically enlarges to fit iPad. I didn't know it either, until I called tech complaining about a Sirius interface, and that's when they explained it. I was a little upset cause I know what g! Will do, and I couldn't make it happen. It was the limits of the app due to the actual iPhone. When they release all of the g! potential, it will be quite an amazing system.
jmaxbrod is offline  
post #77 of 120 Old 11-22-2011, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaxbrod View Post

I am Élan dealer, and love the g! System. But I'm hoping they release the iPad app before android. Right now it's an iPhone app made bigger by iPad. And it limits GUI. But I know both are in the pipeline. I'm guess Q1 to Q2 2012.

Good news. Now for a blackberry app and it will be truly universal.
chomperoni is offline  
post #78 of 120 Old 01-17-2012, 05:01 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, will Elan showcase the SDK at ISE show?
JOJO888 is offline  
post #79 of 120 Old 01-22-2012, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unfortunately, I've been told they are pushing the SDK back..again. And it may not materialize until Rev. 2 of the HC controllers due to some technical limitations.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #80 of 120 Old 01-23-2012, 07:56 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So bad news. In your opinion,will they develop it with g2 at same time based on a new technology platform?
JOJO888 is offline  
post #81 of 120 Old 02-05-2012, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOJO888 View Post

So bad news. In your opinion,will they develop it with g2 at same time based on a new technology platform?

No, same g! Platform from a software perspective, just new hardware updates to the HC processor line. Don't know if that means that drivers written with the SDK would not be backwards compatible with current HC controllers or not. We'll have to wait and see.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #82 of 120 Old 02-22-2012, 05:12 AM
Member
 
WindyCityGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chicagorep View Post

The Elan g! driver list is very extensive, over 450 products are supported. I think you would be hard pressed to find a product that supports 2 way communication that isn't on the list.

To my knowledge they dont support Sonos.
WindyCityGuy is offline  
post #83 of 120 Old 02-27-2012, 09:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
New iPhone iPad app is now available.
chomperoni is offline  
post #84 of 120 Old 03-07-2012, 05:31 PM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any diffrence besides KNX?
JOJO888 is offline  
post #85 of 120 Old 03-10-2012, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Better graphics for iPad. Seems a little quicker than 5.3.
Thats just what's apparent to me as a user.
chomperoni is offline  
post #86 of 120 Old 03-19-2012, 10:05 PM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am really disappointed for Elan and AVC. They are too low to compete with other control producer. No SDK, how to go outside of US?
JOJO888 is offline  
post #87 of 120 Old 03-25-2012, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Jongoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, new to this thread.

I have an existing HomeLogic system, as does my father, and we are considering the élan G upgrade. My system, more so than his, has been extremely customized over the years (I was probably one of their first 100 customers). Is there a way to migrate all the Screens/Keypaids, EventMaps, etc. over to élan G?

Is there any real new functionality? Has anything been removed?

Is there a real MacOS interface yet or just the crappy Java one?

Are irrigation and/or messaging available in the iPhone iOS apps?

Are the touch screens any better now? In both homes we have 5, 3 of which freeze up all the time.
Jongoldman is offline  
post #88 of 120 Old 03-25-2012, 07:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jongoldman View Post

?

Is there any real new functionality?

Well for me the reason to upgrade was the HR2. It alone was worth the work involved in upgrading the system.

IMO the touch screens are better looking too. I had no problems with the older units but I added some newer units and they have worked fine as well.

There is a nice selection of controllers as well though the HC4 was fine for my application.

One BIG thing that I am looking forward to is the SDK which (if what I have heard is correct) should solve the problem of supporting hardware that Elan doesn't (yet) support. The SDK has been delayed (so I have been told) - I hope it does see the light of day - soon.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #89 of 120 Old 03-26-2012, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Jongoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

Well for me the reason to upgrade was the HR2. It alone was worth the work involved in upgrading the system.

IMO the touch screens are better looking too. I had no problems with the older units but I added some newer units and they have worked fine as well.

There is a nice selection of controllers as well though the HC4 was fine for my application.

One BIG thing that I am looking forward to is the SDK which (if what I have heard is correct) should solve the problem of supporting hardware that Elan doesn't (yet) support. The SDK has been delayed (so I have been told) - I hope it does see the light of day - soon.

What is the HR2? Were you able to use the old templates/Event Maps from the HomeLogic systems or did you have to recreate everything.
Jongoldman is offline  
post #90 of 120 Old 03-26-2012, 08:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jongoldman View Post

What is the HR2?

The HR2 is a "stick" type remote with a small color touchscreen for custom "buttons". It uses WiFi to connect to the g! It's very nice (IMO) and works very well.

I replaced 4 URC MX-950s with 4 HR2s and am completely satisfied with the results.

The 950s (begin IR remotes) didn't work all that well with the HomeLogic system. While the HomeLogic system could be configured to respond to the IR commands from the 950 and then control the A/V equipment there was a lag in response that was not acceptable. I ended up using a very limited set of IR commands that the HomeLogic recognized just to keep the HomeLogic in sync with the A/V gear. Then the 950s simply controlled the A/V gear directly via IR. The HomeLogic system (via the touch screens) was also able to control the A/V gear using IR and RS232.

The response time of the g! system to commands from the HR2 is very quick. So the HR2 is sending commands, via WiFi, to the g! system which is controlling the A/V gear using IR and RS232.

You configure the HR2 (more or less) as you do the touch screens. You have the small touch screen on the HR2 on which you can position buttons (9 buttons is likely the most you would want on a page but you can have multiple pages of them). And you have the "hard" buttons which you can configure.

The HR2 in addition to being you primary "Media" controller can also control the Light, Security, Climate parts of the g! system.

The HR2 really is quite good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jongoldman View Post

Were you able to use the old templates/Event Maps from the HomeLogic systems.

No I didn't find a way to do that - though I didn't try very hard.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off