Elan g! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 120 Old 03-26-2012, 12:16 PM
Member
 
Jongoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the feedback. Any idea if it works with Macs?
Jongoldman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 120 Old 03-26-2012, 05:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If what works with Macs?

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #93 of 120 Old 03-26-2012, 06:02 PM
Member
 
Jongoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

If what works with Macs?


Can I Mac OS X computer control a house running Elan g!? Right now HomeLogic has a crappy Java interface but it is somewhat useable.
Jongoldman is offline  
post #94 of 120 Old 03-26-2012, 06:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I don't know.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #95 of 120 Old 03-27-2012, 03:08 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard rumor that SDK was killed.
JOJO888 is offline  
post #96 of 120 Old 03-27-2012, 08:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Heard that as well but a rumor is just that.

I think it would be a big mistake for them to do that - yes its a lot of work for them but it would make the system a lot more versatile and competitive in the market place.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #97 of 120 Old 03-27-2012, 07:36 PM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can not agree more. Yes, killing SDK means killing Elan self.
JOJO888 is offline  
post #98 of 120 Old 04-02-2012, 04:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jongoldman View Post


Can I Mac OS X computer control a house running Elan g!? Right now HomeLogic has a crappy Java interface but it is somewhat useable.

Yes and no. No, you cannot run the g! Connect software directly in OS X. Yes you can run the g! Connect software on a Mac if you are running Windows through VMWare Fusion, Parallels, Bootcamp, etc.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #99 of 120 Old 04-02-2012, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOJO888 View Post

I heard rumor that SDK was killed.

I haven't heard anything different from what I reported last time which is that they are just pushing it back to coincide with a Rev. 2 release of the HC controllers, not that it's getting killed. We will have to wait and see though.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #100 of 120 Old 04-04-2012, 08:53 AM
Member
 
slm95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is so stupid, I emailed elan a year ago and they said the android app was coming out very soon. Wtf takes so long
slm95 is offline  
post #101 of 120 Old 04-07-2012, 05:28 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slm95 View Post

This is so stupid, I emailed elan a year ago and they said the android app was coming out very soon. Wtf takes so long

It seems Elan team work very slowly and can not keep the word.
It is very disappointing.
JOJO888 is offline  
post #102 of 120 Old 04-12-2012, 10:29 AM
Member
 
rays's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Encinitas, CA USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded the G! practice software. It seems to connect to one of Elan's servers.

Does this mean that every time one uses the G! system at home, it connects to a remote server? If so, what happens if Elan goes away (and presumably so does their server)?
rays is offline  
post #103 of 120 Old 04-12-2012, 12:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rays View Post

I downloaded the G! practice software. It seems to connect to one of Elan's servers.

Does this mean that every time one uses the G! system at home, it connects to a remote server? If so, what happens if Elan goes away (and presumably so does their server)?

No.

You can pay a fee to Elan to enable you to connect to your home system without worrying about firewall settings, IP tracking, etc.

But you don't have to. You can connect directly to your home system.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #104 of 120 Old 04-13-2012, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You can log into the system either remotely by computer or 3G on your phone/iPad or when at home on you're home network wifi
chomperoni is offline  
post #105 of 120 Old 04-22-2012, 05:29 AM
Member
 
Jongoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tried the new iPhone release from April? Its not showing Irrigation or Messaging for me (but I am still on HomeLogic, not g).

Apparently I would have to rebuild every single last screen to do the upgrade, at least 40 hours of work. Can't spend the $$ on the upgrade and then the time rebuilding every last page/event map, etc. I wonder if anyone has tried an import/export from HL to g to see if anything comes over.
Jongoldman is offline  
post #106 of 120 Old 04-28-2012, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOJO888 View Post


It seems Elan team work very slowly and can not keep the word.
It is very disappointing.

I know it can be frustrating at times, trust me, no one knows this more than dealers such as myself. That being said, Elan has finally started working with a third party programming group who will do nothing but right drivers for them. This will allow Elan to focus solely on feature sets while this other group of programmers does nothing but bang out new/updated drivers. Start expecting new driver releases every month starting in May, compared to every 3-4 months when Elan was doing it all.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #107 of 120 Old 04-28-2012, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jongoldman View Post

Anyone tried the new iPhone release from April? Its not showing Irrigation or Messaging for me (but I am still on HomeLogic, not g).

Apparently I would have to rebuild every single last screen to do the upgrade, at least 40 hours of work. Can't spend the $$ on the upgrade and then the time rebuilding every last page/event map, etc. I wonder if anyone has tried an import/export from HL to g to see if anything comes over.

In order to get any of the new features of the new iOS app, you would have to update your system to the latest Elan software (5.5.126). Unfortunately for you, its not even as easy as just updating your HomeBrick and reprogramming. HomeBricks can only ever be updated to 5.0, due to hardware limitations. You would have to upgrade your HomeBrick to an HC controller to get any of the updated features beyond 5.0.

And the answer to your last question is no, you cannot import a HomeLogic configuration into a g! system, as I've verified on an old HomeBrick in the past.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #108 of 120 Old 09-15-2012, 08:37 PM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any good news in this CEDIA Expo?
JOJO888 is offline  
post #109 of 120 Old 10-09-2012, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Airric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOJO888 View Post

Any good news in this CEDIA Expo?

Sorry for the late response, although there is not a lot of Elan news on the hardware front, lots of cool stuff on the software side. The new 6.0 software will be chock full of new features and capabilities such as:
1) Android compatibility (finally)
2) A full blown door locks interface that not only allows for lock/unlock and status, but also full account management, real time battery status, and a history view that will show time of entry and who's pass code was used. Also the ability to setup temp passcodes for maids, delivery men, etc. All directly from the Elan interface.
3) Full blown integration of the Logitech Squeezebox platform. This is huge as Elan has only given access to Pandora and Rhapsody from Squeezebox in the past. Now you get full access to ALL that Squeezebox has to offer (i.e. Spotify, MOG, iTunes integration, etc.). This also includes integrating with the new Fusion Ovation music server that is based on the Squeezebox platform.
4) A new "programming platform" that will make it much easier and efficient to program interfaces across all devices (mostly beneficial to dealers/programmers)

Plus many more updated drivers to control more devices/subsystems.
chomperoni likes this.

Eric
Current Concepts
Home Automation Specialists
Airric is offline  
post #110 of 120 Old 10-11-2012, 06:31 AM
Member
 
JOJO888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is cool!
Thank you for information. Waiting for that 6.0.
JOJO888 is offline  
post #111 of 120 Old 12-01-2012, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
DrewD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to stream movies off a server to my g! System/HDTV. Is there an easy solution?
DrewD is offline  
post #112 of 120 Old 01-10-2013, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrewD View Post

I would like to stream movies off a server to my g! System/HDTV. Is there an easy solution?
I believe you can do that using xbmc and a jailbroken device such as apple TV or Xbox. I am currently using a jail broken apple tv with no issues. I use an HDMI matrix switch to my TV's and the apple TV runs through that. Elan only controls the TV functions not the content.
chomperoni is offline  
post #113 of 120 Old 02-11-2013, 12:03 AM
Member
 
Sampson0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can use a vortexbox server as your NAS, LMS server/players, and movie server. It also has auto ripping features.
Sampson0420 is offline  
post #114 of 120 Old 05-24-2013, 11:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chomperoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampson0420 View Post

You can use a vortexbox server as your NAS, LMS server/players, and movie server. It also has auto ripping features.

Have you done this ? I'm interested for my home
chomperoni is offline  
post #115 of 120 Old 12-23-2013, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
mikemy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I feel the need to share a very bad user experience with Elan out to the world.

 

For 12 months one of their installers has struggled to get basic functionality working with Elan. Is it my installer or the equipment? I don't know but I would never use this stuff again and I would encourage other to purchase anything but Elan.

 

Here are the troubles we still have after 12 months:

 

1) Took 10 months just to get basic load control of lights. But, we still have lights that don't always turn on or off. We have switches that have the switch lights on all the time and sometimes don't go off. Because of our trouble just getting this equipment to function, we have never even done scenes.

 

2) We still cannot get a picture to one TV.

 

3) We have feedback in our master bedroom speakers. So much so, that we don't use the TV of music there. We also can't navigate the DirecTV guide because each push gets translated to two, meaning if we push channel up it goes up two. Try navigating the DVR list and playing something with those kind of controls. Too frustrating to use.

 

4) The FM signal from the Elan tuner makes the speakers sound like they are shot. If we source from an Ipod, it sounds OK. So, we know it is the Elan tuner. That tuner also turns on even when we don't use it as a source.

 

5) We have a son that has just headed to college. So, we wanted to be able to turn his access/control on and off. Four months later, we still don't have it.

 

6) Once in a while we have a glitch. Because we have to go through the dealer to fix, we loose that function for days. As a user, not being able to fix, adjust, or change the small stuff is just not acceptable. It is costly and takes weeks before anything is done. There is NO customer support. Everything must go through authorized dealers. What a disappointment.

 

I think there is more but I am tired of typing all this stuff. Suffice to say, I would never use Elan again. I may even have it ripped out (seriously...just sent emails to dealers of other equipment last night). I trust that will cost a fortune but getting something that works for the next 20 years is important to me.

 

To anyone considering using a whole home control system, don't believe Elan dealers that is as good as others and less expensive. From my experience, the equipment and the dealers are very very poor. It is the worst decision I made on the remodel of my home. It is the only one I regret as I have patiently waited for six months while it is supposedly being fixed. But it isn't.

 

Mike

mikemy is offline  
post #116 of 120 Old 12-23-2013, 08:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I am quite comfortable saying the problem is your dealer and/or installer.


After the hardware is installed setting up basic light control is at most a few days work. Refining it would take additional time but 10 months is insane.

Regards no picture to TV: Not directly an Elan issue but an installation issue. Need more information as to what equipment is being used and how the equipment is installed.

Regards the feedback: Need more information. Cannot imagine how this happening. Perhaps the intercom feature is enabled?

The DirectTV issue is likely because the IR coding is wrong. The symptom indicates it is. A few IR controlled devices require special attention to the IR coding, it is not difficult, it just needs to be done. Perhaps the dealer/installer does not know this.

The Elan hardware is good quality. You might have a defective tuner but that is a simple swap.

Controlling remote access is a simple problem.


Do Elan a favor and write a calm and reasoned letter to the home office. They will want to know that one of their dealer/installers is seemingly incompetent. Any company that depends on dealer/installers will likely have a number of duds signed up and they need to be weeded out.


If you are anywhere near SW Virginia perhaps my guys could come and fix your setup.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #117 of 120 Old 12-23-2013, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
mikemy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Frederick,

 

I appreciate your offer to help but I am in Minnesota.

 

And yes, it is insane! But I don't think it is just the dealer anymore.

 

I have written and talked with Elan. They apparently did some programming after we fired the first guy but that was several months ago. With things still not working, I have lost faith in them and felt the need to share this publicly.

 

I do appreciate and understand this stuff can get complicated (as I am in the software business). But, I have spent a ton of money now and given everyone involved time to solve the issues. My installer/dealer isn't getting the job done nor is Elan. I feel I got taken by both parties and Elan equipment simply does not work well. In the end, I am the one responsible and am left holding the bag.

 

It is too bad Elan doesn't have a place for user feedback. Good companies want feedback so they can make their products better.  Based on my experience, Elan is not in that class and others should know that before buying.

 

Thanks again for your offer to help. Clearly, I need it.

 

Mike

mikemy is offline  
post #118 of 120 Old 12-23-2013, 01:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Trust me on this Elan g! will work just FINE when installed by someone who knows what they are doing.

I have Elan g! in my own home.

It handles the security system (ELK), security cameras (AXIS), HVAC control via thermostats (8 RCS), irrigation control (Hunter), lighting (60 some UPB devices), AV control (4 locations STB, BD player, Dune player, TV/Projector) and other misc control (whole house water shutoff, garage door control, bathroom towel warmers, bathroom steam generator, lake/air temp monitoring, weather reporting).

I have had some equipment failures in the past when lighting struck our wireless dog fence and the surge got into the house wiring. I have had zero failures with the Elan branded hardware (I probably just jinxed myself).

And the system just works, day after day, month after month.

Will you accept a private message? I have a solution that may work for you based on postings.

Once the system works as intended you will be glad you have it.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #119 of 120 Old 12-23-2013, 03:34 PM
Newbie
 
mikemy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am open to a private message Frederick. How does that work?

mikemy is offline  
post #120 of 120 Old 12-23-2013, 03:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Look at the box where your avatar image and you screen name displays. You will see a little triangle with options. One is to send a private message. You will get a notice that you have one waiting sometime after it is sent to you.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off