Turning on lights with Homelink - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-01-2011, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
laxman1100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a fairly easy problem, but can't seem to find an easy answer.

Basically I want to control some outdoor lights with my car's homelink transmitter.

The switch is inside, the lights are outside and I need a way to program the homelink visor.

I've been looking at x-10, z-wave, Leviton, etc...and I'm really confused. I just want a simple, elegant solution.

Leviton looks like the most simple, but not sure if it will allow me to program homelink.

Any insight would be appreciated.
laxman1100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-13-2011, 06:28 PM
Newbie
 
trip42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just wanted to bump this thread because I too am I asking the exact same questions. I'd love to get some recommendations. I have no idea where to begin and feel overwhelmed.
trip42 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-13-2011, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
BradKas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
RadioRa 2 will allow you to do this.

Your vehicles Homelink system will communicate with Lutron's RadioRa 2 Visor Receiver.

You will need a RadioRa 2 Main Repeater, and RadioRa 2 dimmers or switches on the loads you wish to control. This will seem like an expensive solution to your single problem, but the Main Repeater and Visor Receiver will lay the foundation for a larger lighting control system in the future.

I would suggest contacting some local installers in your area.
BradKas is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-13-2011, 06:58 PM
Newbie
 
trip42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That does seem a little above and beyond what I'd be looking for. Any thoughts on Insteon or X10 as a DIY starter approach before going all out on a Lutron setup?
trip42 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-15-2011, 07:11 PM
Member
 
jpclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jpclement is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-16-2011, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
trip42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, the remote is actually not what I'm after.

Essentially, the remote is already "built in" to the car. It's called Homelink. And it can communicate with several different protocols, X10, Insteon (with a X10 link), RadioRa2, etc

I'm just looking for anyone has advice on using Insteon or X10 or recommendations to use with Homelink
trip42 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-20-2011, 03:34 PM
Member
 
aka23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by laxman1100 View Post

I have a fairly easy problem, but can't seem to find an easy answer.

Basically I want to control some outdoor lights with my car's homelink transmitter.

The switch is inside, the lights are outside and I need a way to program the homelink visor.

I've been looking at x-10, z-wave, Leviton, etc...and I'm really confused. I just want a simple, elegant solution.

Leviton looks like the most simple, but not sure if it will allow me to program homelink.

Any insight would be appreciated.

The Homelink website lists compatible lighting. Leviton is not among the ones listed. I just setup the Homelink buttons in my car to link to my RadioRA (classic) system this morning. Linking the Homelink buttons to the RadioRA buttons was trivial, taking ~3 seconds per button. If you buy parts on eBay, you could get everything required for an outdoor light RadioRA-Homelink setup, for under $100. This cost is probably on par with X10 (or Insteon via X10), but even if it's not, I think the more robust performance is worth the difference, particularly if you may later expand to other lighting.
aka23 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-02-2011, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
andymo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Smarthome now has a christmas lights project page:

http://www.smarthome.com/projects-16a.html
andymo is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aka23 View Post


The Homelink website lists compatible lighting. Leviton is not among the ones listed. I just setup the Homelink buttons in my car to link to my RadioRA (classic) system this morning. Linking the Homelink buttons to the RadioRA buttons was trivial, taking ~3 seconds per button. If you buy parts on eBay, you could get everything required for an outdoor light RadioRA-Homelink setup, for under $100. This cost is probably on par with X10 (or Insteon via X10), but even if it's not, I think the more robust performance is worth the difference, particularly if you may later expand to other lighting.
Hey aka hopefully your still around I am having some trouble getting this programmed.
I have the radiora2 system with visor receiver and I tried to just learn the remote from lutron into the home link and it works for the garage door but not the lights.
I tried pressing "learn" on the lutron visor receiver and then press keypad button 1 (which I programmed my outside lights to turn on) so now both "learn and button one" are both lit up.

I go to my homelink car and press both outer buttons for 1-2 seconds then press and hold one button to learn the lights on my lutron visor receiver but it never learns..
And ideas?

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 03:35 PM
Member
 
ChrisCicc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OP: I believe this is what you are looking for: http://www.smarthome.com/projects-8a.html

Founder for the CastleOS Home Automation System, featuring Kinect integration www.CastleOS.com
ChrisCicc is offline  
Reply Home Automation



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off