Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 11-11-2011, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

New here with a question.

I'm curious what's out there for automation systems that are non-proprietary?

I'm a Canadian electrician and have done a fair bit of work in installing and programming commercial automation (HVAC) systems, but looking for something geared more towards the home/small commercial market.

Something that can do the AV/security/lighting and power integration and can be controllable from a smartphone, and doesn't need a license to install and program.

I've done a few searches here, maybe using the wrong keywords, but have not come up with anything.

TIA.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 11-11-2011, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I would check out Premise Home Control software.

Originally developed in 2001, Motorola open-sourced it in 2005.

http://www.cocoontech.com/forums/index.php?showforum=51

I don't know of any home control 'systems' that are non-proprietary. Elk M1 and HAI OPII might be good starting points, for sub-$1K.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
post #3 of 14 Old 11-11-2011, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter

Hi Neuro,

Thanks for the response.

I'm thinking "non-proprietary" may be the wrong term. Just looking for something I can use without having to travel half-way across the continent to obtain training so I can install and program their product. It's ok if the system is tied to a company and they exclusively sell that line, but the travel and training thing is a bit burdensome.
post #4 of 14 Old 11-11-2011, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member

Then yes, Elk M1 or HAI OPII.

Each has a subforum at cocoontech.com, under Marketplace.