Elan g! Not refreshing music library - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 09:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mario_66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for double post. I think this is the right place for the topic.

My élan g! Is not updating the music library it is pointed to ( home server) for network music. The initial set up found all the music on the folder but now when I drop new music into the same folder , the new music doesnt show up on g! Just the old music that was on there during the initial set up. Any ideas on how to get it to update when new music is added to the home server?
Mario_66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 09:35 PM
Member
 
jmaxbrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What media server are you using?
jmaxbrod is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 09:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mario_66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Acer aspire home server.

Élan is g! HC6 with T7 panel. It found all the music on the initial set up no problem but just won't pick up new music that has been saved on there since yesterday.
Mario_66 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-22-2011, 09:53 PM
Member
 
jmaxbrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I do not know anything about your set up, but kinda sounds like you are using the internal player to store from the acer computer. Maybe the storage on the HC is full. If that is not the case then try to access the music folder, typically C:MUSIC folder, on the network at \\\\hlgateway\\music. You will need to rescan the folder to re populate the updated library.

I am shooting in the dark not knowing any of the programming or system set up
jmaxbrod is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-23-2011, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Sampson0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your HC6 does not have internal storage for music, so you are either sharing a folder from you PC or have a NAS drive. doubt either one is full since you would get an error when copying files to the folder.

You most likely don't have the HC6 setup to automatically scan the folder for new content. This is done through programming.

Some installers don't like to auto scan because it can cause system slow downs, so what you can do is have a button configured to scan the library either on the home screen or somewhere on a media settings page.

hope this helps.
Sampson0420 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-23-2011, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mario_66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. My dealer said they set it up to auto index every midnight but so far the new mp3's I added to the home server it was initially pointed to still haven't shown up on the T7 screen. Maybe it was just a programming error I hope.

I'll share what the issue was if/ when it gets resolved. Thanks
Mario_66 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-26-2011, 03:49 AM
Member
 
Sampson0420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when in doubt reboot.... the hc6 that is. Just hit the power button on the front, wait 2 minutes, power it back up.
Sampson0420 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-17-2012, 11:19 PM
Newbie
 
HDBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try having your dealer remote in and refresh library on the fly. Recheck file name and have him update HC6 to newest update to fix any small bugs.. Hope that helps.
HDBOX is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off