Baseboard Heater Automation with ELK M1 Gold - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-29-2011, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gasbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I really need help. my walls are open right now so i want to make all necessary wire run before closing it up. I have installed 8 baseboard heaters in 8 different zones in my house. Each heater has its own circuit breaker at the panel and I ran a high voltage wire from the heaters to each digital thermostat. But what i want to do is to be able to control my heater thru my elk m1 gold from outside. For example, I want to be able to turn on my heater 30 minutes before I get home. can someone recommend how I can accomplish this. Please, list the parts that I need. Please I need to do this asap before closing the walls. thanks
gasbie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-29-2011, 09:29 PM
Member
 
knowinnothin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need to find a thermostat that is compatible with elk that is for line voltage, then wire from thermostat location to elk panel with whatever cabling that thermostat requires for control.

I have 12 zones of baseboard heat in my house, each room has a temperature sensor in it that is wired back to my Hai system. The heaters are wired back to a relay panel that is controlled by my Hai system with low and high voltage relays. If I were to do it again I would have just used controllable thermostats in each room for simplicity.
knowinnothin is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-30-2011, 05:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
gasbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
knowinnothin, thanks for the quick response. I found some AUBE thermostat that has floor sensor and remote connection. http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/300607b.pdf
will this work. 2 wires from the thermostat remote contact to my elk-m1 gold
gasbie is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-30-2011, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Pretty sure that Aube is for radiant heated floors, I have 2 (rebranded as NuHeat). Not sure if a floor temp probe would be appropriate, but I think it can sense ambient as well.

I would get the heater manual, read it closely, and then call Aube Tech Support. Aube makes many different thermostats, and at least 1 would work. But 8 would be pricey.

IIRC, I couldn't find many details on my NuHeat/Aube thermostats, in terms of contact functionality. Maybe Aube can provide more details on that.

Also, any bathroom/kitchen/basement heaters will probably need to be on GFCI breakers - although I think some thermostats provide that functionality, eliminating the need for a GFCI breaker.

I would suggest posting in the Elk Cocoontech subforum - but I see you've already done that.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-30-2011, 07:54 AM
Member
 
knowinnothin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gasbie View Post

knowinnothin, thanks for the quick response. I found some AUBE thermostat that has floor sensor and remote connection. http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/300607b.pdf
will this work. 2 wires from the thermostat remote contact to my elk-m1 gold

That thermostat looks correct, double check with aube that it is fine to use with baseboards. Also check to see what's needed to trigger the aube through the 2 wire interface, does it want 12 volts? 2 wires from thermostat to elk is correct, make sure you use in-wall rated cable.

As far as gfci's go, check your local electrical codes, where I'm located gfci's are needed when within 3 feet of a water outlet.
knowinnothin is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off