Control4 and Jandy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-06-2012, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a pool built and lutron installed at the same time and I am considering using Control4 to use for my lighting and pool functions. I have a few questions as I can't seem to see the reason or benefit in using the Aqualink RS6 vs the PS6. The RS6 needs a serial adapter and touchpad or all button controller that then plugs into the control4 brain. With the PS6, I can use a contact closure on the the relays to turn equipment/lights on and off. I was told that the only thing control4 can do through the serial adapter is turn things on and off and not set temps/programs etc. If there is really no benefit or function to be gained by spending the extra $800 on the RS system, I see no reason not to stick with the PS6. Am I missing anything? Has anyone else done this? I only saw one other Jandy Control4 thread and the guy ended up using Autelis instead.

Thanks,

John
J.K.B. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-07-2012, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If no one knows the answer, does anyone have any thoughts on the idea? See any potential drawbacks/likely problems by doing it with contact closures?

Thanks
J.K.B. is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-09-2012, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, this has had a lot of views so I'll update with what we go with and how it works along the way. So far I've heard 2 consistent versions of what control4 will do with the serial adapter:

1. It only controls on/off functions and NOT valves to switch from pool/spa mode and heat temps, light color/dimming, etc

2. It does everything that the jandy one touch wall mount does and you can put it in a closet or garage out of sight. I'll probably start with it in the garage and see if it is something I will need to access. If so, I'll have to move it to the back hallway next to the porch so you don't have to go through the house wet to get to it.
J.K.B. is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-13-2012, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For anyone else wanting to automate their pool. They said not to go over 50' from the relay box to the hardwired Jandy controller and to use an 18awg stranded 4 connector wire. The serial adapter goes from there to the control4 system.

I think I'm going to put the Jandy controller upstairs b/c I have conduit running from the side of the garage where the pool equipment is going to the attic and another conduit to get me from there into the mechanical closet by the study on the other side of the house. With the home having spray foam insulation, that will likely be my easiest/best choice. It's going to be about 110' overall to get there, but I should be able to keep my Jandy controller within the 50' limit from the relay - If not, I guess I'll find out how important that 50' really is...
J.K.B. is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-14-2012, 02:17 PM
Member
 
weddellkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.K.B. View Post

For anyone else wanting to automate their pool. They said not to go over 50' from the relay box to the hardwired Jandy controller and to use an 18awg stranded 4 connector wire. The serial adapter goes from there to the control4 system.

I think I'm going to put the Jandy controller upstairs b/c I have conduit running from the side of the garage where the pool equipment is going to the attic and another conduit to get me from there into the mechanical closet by the study on the other side of the house. With the home having spray foam insulation, that will likely be my easiest/best choice. It's going to be about 110' overall to get there, but I should be able to keep my Jandy controller within the 50' limit from the relay - If not, I guess I'll find out how important that 50' really is...

If I understand this correctly (I'm familiar with the Jandy RS solution integrated with Crestron), you're unlikely to see any issues with a relay-based solution over distances like 50' or 100'.
weddellkw is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-14-2012, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by weddellkw View Post

If I understand this correctly (I'm familiar with the Jandy RS solution integrated with Crestron), you're unlikely to see any issues with a relay-based solution over distances like 50' or 100'.

Just to make sure I'm understanding correctly, with the 18awg wire you think I could go the whole 110' without issues from the Jandy RS6 box by the equipment to the Jandy 1-touch controller and then hook up the serial to that and go right into the control4? That would be nice to have it all in one place that way.
J.K.B. is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-15-2012, 09:26 AM
Member
 
weddellkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.K.B. View Post

Just to make sure I'm understanding correctly, with the 18awg wire you think I could go the whole 110' without issues from the Jandy RS6 box by the equipment to the Jandy 1-touch controller and then hook up the serial to that and go right into the control4? That would be nice to have it all in one place that way.

Can you list the actual part numbers for the equipment being installed?

If I can find the time to pull the manuals/etc for the specific equipment I'll confirm that, but the point I'm making is that a contact-closure is much less susceptible to wire length issues than a communication protocol (serial, etc) would be.

At the same time I don't want to tell you to ignore the manufacturers recommendation either. I'm a Crestron installer/programmer, not a pool installer
weddellkw is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-15-2012, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jandy RS6 Aqualink 1 touch - 7956
Jandy 7620 Serial adapter

I guess I didn't explain well enough in my earlier posts, but I am using the serial adapter now since it will allow Control4 to switch from pool to spa, change temps, valves, etc. Almost everything the Jandy 1 touch will. But, I'm planning on mounting the serial adapter in the computer closet abt 110 ft away from the pool equipment and the 1 touch inside the master bedroom door by the back porch which will probably end up being about a 120+' run (I think I'll still need to use that to change the light color).

Thanks for the help!
J.K.B. is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-15-2012, 03:06 PM
Member
 
weddellkw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.K.B. View Post

Jandy RS6 Aqualink 1 touch - 7956
Jandy 7620 Serial adapter

I guess I didn't explain well enough in my earlier posts, but I am using the serial adapter now since it will allow Control4 to switch from pool to spa, change temps, valves, etc. Almost everything the Jandy 1 touch will. But, I'm planning on mounting the serial adapter in the computer closet abt 110 ft away from the pool equipment and the 1 touch inside the master bedroom door by the back porch which will probably end up being about a 120+' run (I think I'll still need to use that to change the light color).

Thanks for the help!

Thats the piece I'm familiar with. Not in love with it but we don't have much in the way of options.

We usually use a second processor (QM-RMC) at or near the pool equipment to manage the pool application and communicate back to the main program/processor via ethernet. Not sure how or if that would translate into a C4 application.

Also, depending on where you live/how frequent lightning strikes are, you may want to look at a fiber isolator:
http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/289310/...solator001.jpg

The 'isolator' piece shipped with the Jandy is a joke.
http://yhoo.it/xWbRCA
weddellkw is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-16-2012, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
J.K.B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure either about the second processor at the pool equipment. This is the first I have heard about doing that.

Right now, the Jandy technician is saying to run my 18awg wire from the pool equipment to the computer closet 110' and put the serial adapter in that and daisy chain from there back up into the attic to go to the bedroom location about 30' or so away.

I'll ask about the separate processor at the pool equipment and look into finding a better fiber isolator.
J.K.B. is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off