Smart Thermostat - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-09-2012, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Fedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for recomendations for a smart thermostat. Ideally, I would like

* Ability to program a daily schedule
* Wifi/Internet accessible (incl. android app) so I can control the thermostat remotely.
* Reporting (energy use, time on/off, etc.)

Really I'm mostly interested in the remote control capability more than anything else as my schedule frequently changes (including many impromptu business trips, etc.) and a normal programmable thermostat just doesn't really cut it.

The only thermostat I've found like that is the Ecobee, and I'm looking for alternatives to compare.
Fedy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-09-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fedy View Post

Looking for recomendations for a smart thermostat. Ideally, I would like

* Ability to program a daily schedule
* Wifi/Internet accessible (incl. android app) so I can control the thermostat remotely.
* Reporting (energy use, time on/off, etc.)

Really I'm mostly interested in the remote control capability more than anything else as my schedule frequently changes (including many impromptu business trips, etc.) and a normal programmable thermostat just doesn't really cut it.

The only thermostat I've found like that is the Ecobee, and I'm looking for alternatives to compare.

Proliphix would be another option.
MurrayW is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-09-2012, 04:16 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Radio Thermostat Company of america, with one of their branded from 3m, etc. Otherwise, there is the Our Home Spaces radio for the RTCOA, but only has a iPhone app for that radio. Android app's are coming about, but for most items, they just need to be written.

For the radio that comes with the rtcoa thermostat, a lot of people have been rolling their own application, since they put out the information needed to be able to do that. There has been some mixed feelings on that particular thermostat though from a wide range of people.

Prophilix is a good one, ecobee is also, but to get the remote sensors for that one, you have to have a licensed installer get it. There is also the IAQ from Honeywell.
gregzoll is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-14-2012, 11:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Glackowitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
also look at the Nest

www.nest.com
Glackowitz is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-15-2012, 05:17 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glackowitz View Post

also look at the Nest

www.nest.com

The nest is not capable of being used on home automation. It can only be controlled from the web portal or iphone app. Plus it is a over rated appliance, that there are better ones out there.
gregzoll is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-15-2012, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:


The nest is not capable of being used on home automation. It can only be controlled from the web portal or iphone app.

Of course it can be used with automation systems...why do you post this stuff?
SAM64 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-15-2012, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Dahwoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

The nest is not capable of being used on home automation. It can only be controlled from the web portal or iphone app. Plus it is a over rated appliance, that there are better ones out there.

I didn't see him make mention of it needing to be part of a home automation setup (I know initially they could not be integrated with HA systems but they were working on protocol/firmware update for that) but in any event calling it over-rated is pretty slanderous lol.

I like the product a lot. If I cared enough to spend the money on doing this with any thermostat I would definitely choose nest. Only problem?!? They're so popular they're on back order.

"I'm just a dog chasing cars. I wouldn't know what to do with one if I caught it"
Dahwoo is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-15-2012, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
mike1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

Of course it can be used with automation systems...why do you post this stuff?

Why do you say it can? Initially, Nest replied to inquiries that it could only be controlled through it's portal or through an iDevice app, not through any 3rd party automation system because they do (did?) not make their API accessible. Has that changed? Because there are a LOT of people who would love to know that, and so far, it hasn't been announced that I'm aware of. If you have proof that the API is now open and that automation systems like Crestron, Elan, C4, etc. can communicate with the thermostat, please provide that.
mike1812 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-16-2012, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Not everybody needs an API to figure out how to access the data.
Here's a start though:
https://github.com/wiredprairie/Nest...tat-DotNET-API
SAM64 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-16-2012, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
mike1812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

Not everybody needs an API to figure out how to access the data.
Here's a start though:
https://github.com/wiredprairie/Nest...tat-DotNET-API

That will be interesting to follow. Thanks for the link. However, it appears to be only one-way - sending data FROM the Nest (I'm assuming that's what he meant by "read-only"), so it still looks like there's no easy, definitive way to control the thermostat outside of their app/website. I'll have to read more of this when I'm not slammed at the office, as I could have missed something scanning it quickly.
mike1812 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-12-2012, 11:40 AM
Member
 
TeeCue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TeeCue is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-12-2012, 02:47 PM
Member
 
adamfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out RCS, simple. http://www.rcstechnology.com/oldsite/index.htm around $200, connects to most of what you'd want for HA.
Also, Insteon has one, if you go that way a one day and a seven day, on sale for about $ 150 now.
adamfit is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-13-2012, 12:05 PM
Member
 
oldskool75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

Radio Thermostat Company of america, with one of their branded from 3m, etc.

Quote:

+1 for this low cost unit
I have the Filtrete 3M-50 thermostat..

It has both iOS and Android apps, but also works from my Playbook (and sort of via the BB, but not well).

I read it has a documented API, but never looked into it (no need yet). The web interface can be accessed through radiothermostat's 'cloud' service.. (i.e. it can reach out to their cloud service, and you can interface with it from there -- it does not need to be directly connected to from the 'outside' internet through your home network/firewall/etc)

The schedule is customizable on a per-day basis (all 7 days).. 'away' mode, and two seasons (heating/cooling) so you don't have to reprogram between the heating and A/C..

The only thing I could ask for would be a built in humidistat..

The webinterface (at http://my.radiothermostat.com) does not offer reporting, but if there is an accessible API, I imagine it's possible... A quick google search reveals the API description here:

http://central.isaroach.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

Actually, a quick look at the api.. I think I can get what I want out of it via my BB too now, sans all the pretty graphics.
oldskool75 is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off