Control 4 vs Savant - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 02-11-2012, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am building a house and I am looking into home automation. I understand selecting the right person to perform this is very critical and I am in the process of doing that. One installer is proposing the Savant system and another is proposing the Control 4 system. The Control 4 system is less expensive than the Savant and since i am not an expert on this, I need to find out if they are both properly installed, do they perform the same functions and in a similar manner or are they huge differences in performance?

Thanks,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 02-11-2012, 05:07 PM

What functions of home automation are you planning on implementing? Lighting, Thermostat control, distributed audio and/or video. Is on-screen TV GUI important to you? What about iOS device control or remote control.
post #3 of 15 Old 02-13-2012, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter

All of them. Lighting, Thermostat control, distributed audio and video, surveillance and window shades. How the system will operate is not of great importance to me, but I would like to access it fully from far away.
post #4 of 15 Old 02-13-2012, 05:27 PM

http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin...read.cgi?22515

Read through this. These guys install this stuff.
post #5 of 15 Old 02-14-2012, 05:02 AM - Thread Starter

Thank You
post #6 of 15 Old 02-14-2012, 06:39 AM

Liked: 12
A word of caution: Most of the info in that that is hopelessly outdated.
post #7 of 15 Old 02-14-2012, 10:32 AM

Savant (IMO) is a better overall product... But as you know it will cost more. You haven't outlined a budget/what you're looking to install list either which could help people pick a direction.