Opinions on this Elan G! Proposal - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 03-15-2012, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Newbie here, both on the forums and in home automation. I am about to start building a home for my family and figure it's probably a good idea to get this stuff planned out now.

I've only spoken to one installer and had no idea what I was looking at in terms of price. What I'd like to do is control lights, HVAC, security cameras, and sound in the main areas of the house (kitchen, family room, basement, backyard). The system recommended to me was Elan G and the quote was for $42,000 including taxes, installation, and hardware.

I know that I may not have given you enough information (house is about 3800 sq feet) but considering the above as a ballpark estimate can you:

Comment on the quote?
Do you think it's too expensive?
Good components?
Overkill?
Things missing?

Thanks all!!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-15-2012, 11:01 PM

Liked: 12
It's not itemized, as is pretty standard. But it is pretty straight up an Élan g! System quote with ra2 lighting. There isn't any security listed, but the price seems very reasonable. It looks like a good solid setup. The g! is a great system.
post #3 of 14 Old 03-17-2012, 11:20 PM

Liked: 16
Tell him that you'd like to start by getting all of the items that are 0 and buy the SERCONS later on .
post #4 of 14 Old 03-18-2012, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Hehe.

Sounds like a standard price, for a solid system.

If the installation company is very professional, and does many "high end" installs, with neat racking, expert cable management, perfectly positioned keypads, and has outstanding customer service (returns calls promptly), then I say go for it.

The proposal says nothing about the quality of the installer - the most important component of a custom install.

Speak with references.