Advice on seeTemp thermostat - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-16-2012, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dallas, TX , USA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been looking for a clean way to retro-fit a zoned HVAC system to my house... but until I saw Lutron's seeTemp thermostats, I didn't like the controls for each room. However, after reading how tight Lutron is with their software, I was hoping someone could give me some insight.

I am extremely technical (programming, wireless engineering, etc) and not looking for professional install. I currently have a mix of Insteon and Z-Wave, but if the HVAC had to stand alone I could live with that.

Is anyone using the seeTemp thermostat in a mixed environment? Is so are you doing active zoning? What zone controller did you use? Did you have to use RadioRA 2 repeaters? Is the Lutron TouchPRO thermostat a requirement for the seeTemp (ie will it only bind to it?)?

Thanks,
Roy
rwalker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-17-2012, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dallas, TX , USA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I know the seeTemp is the only "gang-able" thermostat. I have read up on RadioRA 2 a little...

If you take a seeTemp and connect to a TouchPRO, it extends the zone right? Looks like this would work without any other devices/software...
rwalker is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-18-2012, 06:45 PM
Member
 
ELECTRICDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The seeTemp needs to be used with an hvac controller along with a main repeater. You cannot integrate a Touchpro with a seeTemp. Consider them as separate ways of hvac control. It's either one or the other, but not both. The Honeywell Touchpro is a sexy unit and has a myriad of functions. The seeTemp is a wall box controller that can be installed in place of a t- stat and/or be added in a 120v wall box for additional room controls. Check the Lutron website for further info on multi zoned systems with an hvac controller.
ELECTRICDON is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-18-2012, 06:52 PM
Member
 
ELECTRICDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You will also need the RR2 software for either the Touchpro or SeeTemp. You can pm me for further info. The way I see it is that Lutron may be trying to shy away from hvac controllers in an attempt to streamline the Touchpro for hvac control. Regardless, you may want to look further on the Lutron website for more info...especially the functionality of the TouchPro.
ELECTRICDON is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-19-2012, 04:46 AM
Newbie
 
wags_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The seeTemp can be associated with either the HVAC controller or the TouchPRO. The software will need to be used with either option.
wags_1 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-20-2012, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rwalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Dallas, TX , USA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so if I wanted to do this in stages:

1. Get a Lutron touchPro and a seeTemp. Link them (have to use a Main Repeater yes?) to get some basic temperature control in another room...

2. Get a Main Repeater so I can link it to my home automation for control. Using a Vera 3 controller, which just recently added RadioRA 2 support.

3. Put a zone controller and dampers in so I can have a true zoned HVAC system. This is the part I am having trouble with... what zone controller is going to work with this setup?

Lutron is not exactly forthcoming with information.

Thanks
rwalker is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off