internet switch rack mountable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-25-2012, 12:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
airliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all, I'm looking for an internet distribution switch rack mountable with the connectors on the back, so to have a clean faceplate when installed.
Any suggestion?
airliner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-25-2012, 04:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I work with network gear on a daily basis, and unfortunately I'm not aware of any switch with rear facing ports. You can try racking the switch backwards, but then you'd have the power cord in front.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dharel is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-25-2012, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 79
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1368918

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-25-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,939
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Just get any inexpensive switch, and velcro it to the underside of a non-vented shelf, facing the rear.

I actually mounted mine facing the side, since my rack pulls out from the wall...

You can still dress the cables to your desired level of OCD.

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-25-2012, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Mizzer-d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Depending on the depth of your rack, most switches won't be deep enough to fill the whole depth of a standard rack. Thus, you can install a rack mount switch facing the rear and use a 1u blank on the front. The power cord will still have room without hitting the blank.

The bigger issue is heat that I've found. Some dell switches get HOT. Make sure there is adequate ventilation.
Mizzer-d is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-25-2012, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
cshepard is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-04-2012, 12:20 PM
Member
 
mwne2nks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zyxel brand with the "P" in the title. They have rear facing ports.
mwne2nks is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-04-2012, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by airliner View Post

so to have a clean faceplate when installed.

As mentioned, the reason they are front-faced is that it allows you to service the connections ezly, but no, they don't have to be messy at all, they sell all kind of cable management accessories to hide the wires EVEN if they are front-faced. I like the PANDUIT accessories, basically once you have all wires layed out, you snap on a plastic cover over and it's neat & clean. To make change you simply snap off the cover and the wires are in front of you for ez servicing.

If u live in Silicon Valley, these things can be had for cheaps at various electronics surplus, look eBay.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MrBobb is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-04-2012, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
DaveGee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also worth mentioning there are some switches (stand-alone) that have or can be adapted with wings. You might have some luck that way too.
DaveGee is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off