Need Help: Non-Monitored Security systems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 05-08-2012, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I just moved to a new house and I am looking at adding to my existing security system (which I think is a GE Networx), or putting in a completely new system. I am a total noob when it comes to security systems as I have never had one before and I am looking for some direction.

Here is a quick list of things that I wish my system to support.

- I do not want a monitoring company. I believe that it is a waste of money and will eventually end up calling the Police due to a false alarm one day.
- If my alarm is tripped, I want to be alerted by email/SMS, notifying to me which sensor has set off the alarm.
- Instead of having keypads at each door, a wireless keyfob to arm/disarm would be nice.

Notes:
- All of my doors and windows have already been wired with sensors
- Motion sensors also been pre-wired in

My background:
I am an IT pro so I am quite familiar with getting my hands dirty and setting up complex systems.

So, where should I start looking?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 05-08-2012, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Take a look at the Elk M1 Gold and the HAI OmniPro II.

Cocoontech forums are a good resource for alarm DIY. The General Security subforum is the place to start. The Elk and HAI subforums, hidden in the Marketplace section, are where to look next.

http://cocoontech.com/forums/

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
post #3 of 7 Old 05-08-2012, 05:01 PM

Liked: 11