Control 4 VS Elan G! - New system install..Help? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 05-09-2012, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to home automation and looking to install one of these systems in my house.

I would like to eventually build the system to run the below. I want a system that is simple to operate, stable, but flexible when changing minor details(lighting timers, schedules, ect..) Just moved, and I am coming off a full house Bose lifestyle system in the old house with LCD remotes and would like to control media like this but be able to offer the automation side in a all in one package. House is roughly 5,500 sf.

-4 to 7 cameras
-Garage and Door locks
-2 full home theater systems
-Digital media storage
-Additional 4-5 tv's
-10 to 15 speakers throughout
-Various lighting/dimming throughout
-3 zones (HVAC)
-Option for pool and irrigation.

Would like to view and control automation while away for security purposes on i-pad/i-phone.

I have received a proposal from two separate authorized control 4 and elan G! dealers both ranging in the $20-30k mark. I have tried reading numerous articles and forums on these systems while coming up short when looking for a true comparison.

Again, mainly focused on which system will offer a better foundation and be stable.

Please list pros and cons of each system and offer your advice.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2012, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I personally haven't used either in my home, but be sure to take into account the quality of the installation company. Speak with references, if possible. Hopefully, it's a long term relationship.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Old 05-10-2012, 09:44 AM