Started out with irrigation, then security...now the works - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 05-23-2012, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firstly -I am new to home automation. I have a strong will to learn though. Just a quick question -where would you recommend I start? Books/sites?

I am in the process of installing a complete irrigation system to my home and began researching controllers. As I learned that there isn't currently anything on the market for irrigation integration (control4 has something pending though). In addition to this we purchased this home that has a Brinks security system wiring -glass breakage / door and window sensors. I believe the keypads are locked down. I began to research replacing the keypads and this has led me to investigate whole home automation as I am installing LowVoltage lighting along with the irrigation system.

I have a THX home theater system also -another back burner project that I have wanted to get started again is a LinuxMCE system and a whole house media server to begin the digitization of a library. Is is possible that a PC can perform the whole house automation eventually? Instead of a particular panel, perhaps a software solution and a specific kinds of remote devices that will perform functions? ie... turn on lights, lock doors, report openings... etc... (?)

In short I need to know where to start! There are a few technologies out there... Looked at the vede vera stuff and it seems to simplistic... I would like something perhaps a little more robust and future proof? I do not mind the idea of installing Cat 6 cable throughout... in fact the home is partially wired with Cat 6 cable.

Thank you in advance for information on where to begin to learn more about current trends.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 05-23-2012, 07:11 AM
AVS Club Gold

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by leftpawdog View Post