Am I missing something here? Is this wiring quote accurate? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 04:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MMMorish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone,

The first wiring quote for the automation is in and I have to say I'm pretty shocked at the sticker price. This quote is based on a meeting I had with an automation company at their office. No site visit could be possible at this time as I won't take possession of the home for another 6 weeks. Here's the senario:

House is as follows:

3600sq/f retrofit consisting of two storeys with an unfinished basement. I mentioned to the automation company here in Toronto that I was replacing all the floors in the home and will be painting so poking holes in walls to fish wires was a non issue.


Wiring to be pulled is as follows:

Family room and/or Home Run location for Distributed Audio/Video:
- 5.1 wiring for home theater
- Low voltage wiring for shade control (3 wires to large two storey window)

Outdoor:
- 1 pair outdoor speaker wire + keypad control or volume control wire

Living/Dining Room:
- 1 pair in-ceiling speaker wiring + keypad or volume control wire
- Low voltage wiring for shade control (3 wires to large two storey window)

Kitchen:
- 1 pair in-ceiling speaker wiring + keypad or volume control wire

Den:
- Flat panel display wiring (3 Cat5e + 1 RG6)
- 1 pair in-celing speaker wiring + keypad or volume control wire

Bedrooms (4):
- Flat panel display wiring (3 Cat5e + 1 RG6)
- 1 pair in-celing speaker wiring + keypad or volume control wire

Master Ensuite:
- 1 pair in-celing speaker wiring + keypad or volume control wire

The Sub-Total for the wiring only came to just over $10,000 plus additional provincial taxes.

Does this sound right to you guys? Is that what it costs to wire a home?

Thanks for reading. Your thoughts are valuable to me.

Cheers,
Nick
MMMorish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 80
That does sound a little high. Are the speakers included? Maybe a small rack in the LR?

I don't recall the specifics of your other threads but what about category cables for ethernet and the 'distributed video' ' you mentioned?

After a repeat discussion with the salesman to confirm, I'd probably keep looking, for a competing quote. If you want the best, and these guys are it, you may have to pay for it.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MMMorish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

That does sound a little high. Are the speakers included? Maybe a small rack in the LR?
I don't recall the specifics of your other threads but what about category cables for ethernet and the 'distributed video' ' you mentioned?
After a repeat discussion with the salesman to confirm, I'd probably keep looking, for a competing quote. If you want the best, and these guys are it, you may have to pay for it.

No speakers, no rack, no equipment of any kind except wire and labor. The wires I posted in the first post are what the company said I would need for distributed audio and video (3 cat 5e's and an RG6 cable).

I'll most definitely keep looking for competing quotes as I'm not sure they're the best, they're simply the closest to me but in a city like Toronto, I know there are many more.
MMMorish is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 08:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The future is hard to predict. If I can't run conduit I then run 4 CAT6 and 4 RG6 to each potential A/V location.

Once the drywall is up, running cable is expensive - holes or no holes.

You should talk to the vendors about this. Depending on labor and material costs in your area it may be cheaper to rip down some of the drywall and replace it.

Good luck.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MMMorish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

The future is hard to predict. If I can't run conduit I then run 4 CAT6 and 4 RG6 to each potential A/V location.
Once the drywall is up, running cable is expensive - holes or no holes.
You should talk to the vendors about this. Depending on labor and material costs in your area it may be cheaper to rip down some of the drywall and replace it.
Good luck.

Why 4 Cat6 and 4 RG6?
MMMorish is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by MMMorish View Post

Why 4 Cat6 and 4 RG6?

Several reasons:

Much new A/V gear needs a network connection.

Some methods of distributing A/V use one or two CAT lines

Some equipment may need multiple RG6 runs - for example some DishNetwork DVRs may need three runs, some AVR's many need two runs.

You never know what the future will bring - conduit is best for this but not always an option.

Nice to have a spare.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 04:27 PM
Member
 
AVService's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: STL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You really can not run too much wire.

If you need something down the road and it is there you look like a genius and if it is not there you look like...........

I think you get the idea?

Yo can not run too much wire!
AVService is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,070
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVService View Post

You really can not run too much wire.

I'd add that I don't think you can run too much wire...

biggrin.gif

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-16-2012, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,070
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

The future is hard to predict. If I can't run conduit I then run 4 CAT6 and 4 RG6 to each potential A/V location.
Once the drywall is up, running cable is expensive - holes or no holes.
You should talk to the vendors about this. Depending on labor and material costs in your area it may be cheaper to rip down some of the drywall and replace it.
Good luck.

This is a very good point. For the number of locations you're talking about, if you give them full access to just rip down whole sections of drywall, you might end up with a cheaper overall total, since having someone patch a 2' square of drywall won't be much difference from a 6' square.

Basically, you're paying for the electrical labor by the hour vs. the drywall repair labor. Guess which is cheaper...

But definitely get another quote. If you're buying gear from them at the same time, that may help on the retrofit wiring quote, too.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off