Cost for whole house wiring (New Construction) and can I do it myself? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 06-20-2012, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So like most people here, I'm a tech guy. I plan to do a good bit of home automation, focusing primarily on A/V and security

I'd like to prewire my entire house with CAT 6 to make sure that I don't have to go through the trouble of wiring with the walls up later.

The house is about 2500 sq ft finished, does anyone have a ballpark cost for what it would cost for someone to do it in my area (there is only one dealer, and I am going to get a quote but wanted to ask here first)

I don't plan to finish anything until afterwards, again this is walls down full house wiring.

Also, is this something you would advise me to do myself? With some planning is it that difficult to run the wire myself?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-21-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by jms5180 View Post

So like most people here, I'm a tech guy. I plan to do a good bit of home automation, focusing primarily on A/V and security. I'd like to prewire my entire house with CAT 6 to make sure that I don't have to go through the trouble of wiring with the walls up later.

Are you just talking about adding additional cat6 on top of a basic wiring package, or are you doing "everything" low-voltage (cat6, alarm wire, coax)?
Quote:
The house is about 2500 sq ft finished, does anyone have a ballpark cost for what it would cost for someone to do it in my area (there is only one dealer, and I am going to get a quote but wanted to ask here first)

What's your area? Put your location in your user profile...
Quote:
Also, is this something you would advise me to do myself? With some planning is it that difficult to run the wire myself?