RS232 control of Marantz SR-8001 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 07-03-2012, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a Global Cache 100-12 in hopes of being able to control my Marantz SR-8001 from iRule.app on an iPhone. I haven't had luck getting it to work and there are a lot of variables in this setup, so I want to go to the basics and verify that the Marantz responds via RS232.

I am connecting to the Marantz using a straight thru (not null) female to female cable with:
baud rate: 9600bps,
Data bits: 8 bit,
parity: no parity,
stop bit: 1,
flow control: none


Can anyone explain to me in layman's terms how to turn the SR-8001 on using Hyperterminal on a Windows PC?

The manual says:
Quote:
Command is a data that requests some status change. Start character : ’@’
COMMAND : see “Command list” End character (CR) : 0Dh

The Power On command is "PWR:2"
0Dh is a carriage return?

So then what would I type into hyperterminal?
Code:
@
P
W
R
:
2
<enter>
?


Thanks in advance.
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 07-04-2012, 02:49 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 256
I am familiar with Denon serial commands: I think they are same for Marantz....these examples are for Denon:

\r is a carriage return

to turn the receiver on, I usually enter the input I want: SIDVR\r (this is DVR input and will turn receiver main zone on to DVR input)

or off: ZMOFF\r for main zone off

you do not use a null modem to the receiver but you may need one to connect to a PC for testing with hyperterminal

just try it a few times to see what happens with hyperterminal: be careful your terminal program is not adding default characters such as a line feed (check settings)

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 07-04-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm really stuck here and am beginning to wonder if there is something wrong with my Marantz receiver...

I can connect and control my Panasonic TV from the PC so I know the cable and port on the PC are working.

Using a program called RS232HD60 (http://rs232pro.com) I can control the TV.
Panasonic Manual says: STXPOFETX to power off.
Using this conversion table: http://www.columbia.edu/kermit/ascii.html I sent this HEX string:
Code:
02 50 4F 46 03
and the TV turns off.

That verifies that the program, serial cable and com port works.

According to the manual, the command to turn the Marantz Off is:
@PWR:10Dh
@ = start
PWR:1 = power off
0Dh = end

I tried sending HEX string:
Code:
40 50 57 52 3a 31 0D

No result. Have tried both a straight thru cable (with gender changer) and null modem cable.
Is my receiver broken?
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 07-04-2012, 03:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
99% sure my receiver is broken. I have a friend who has an SR 7001. I took my laptop and cable over to his house today and I was able to control it without any issues.
I hope I can get mine repaired frown.gif
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 07-04-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Re-boot the PC and try the AVR again first.

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 07-04-2012, 07:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

Re-boot the PC and try the AVR again first.

That was step 23 of 200 that I've tried wink.gif
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 07-05-2012, 12:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Dahwoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't dealt with Marantz in a while but is there a 232 setting in the menu that needs to be turned on? or where the default baud rate can be changed? Some receivers have this capability.

"I'm just a dog chasing cars. I wouldn't know what to do with one if I caught it"
Dahwoo is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 07-05-2012, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahwoo View Post

I haven't dealt with Marantz in a while but is there a 232 setting in the menu that needs to be turned on? or where the default baud rate can be changed? Some receivers have this capability.

The only thing I can find is an "ECONOMY" setting for standby mode. This makes the Power On RS232 command inoperable, but my receiver doesn't respond to any commands and its not in "ECONOMY" mode.
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 07-05-2012, 06:53 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 256
another thing to try is disconnect ethernet connection to the Marantz

if I recall correctly, both ethernet and serial inputs share the same port and sometimes can cause an issue

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is online now  
post #10 of 17 Old 08-06-2012, 04:32 AM
Newbie
 
fufik651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Prague,Czech republic
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fufik651 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 08-06-2012, 04:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update... my receiver's RS232 port is definitely broken. I plugged my laptop & cable into another Marantz (SR-7001 instead of 8001, but same exact rs232 codes) and it had no problem controlling it. What a bummer.
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 08-06-2012, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
fufik651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Prague,Czech republic
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is annoying....mode for firmware updates work?
fufik651 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-06-2012, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fufik651 View Post

This is annoying....mode for firmware updates work?

I'm actually not sure. Is it possible to DIY the firmware upgrade?
I'm game to try it if someone knows where the software & instructions are...
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 08-07-2012, 06:53 PM
Member
 
HCCDesignGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure if I missed this in your strings of posts but many Marantz receivers of this age require 5 wire crossover cables & also require pin9 connect straight through for a ground reference ( I assume ) I've worked on many of these which had come out @ various times in he life cycle and had to do different things to get RS232 to work ( using Crestron control systems )

In all these instances, the documentation made no mention of this... It was just some last ditch efforts made before boxing up the receiver.
HCCDesignGuy is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 08-07-2012, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
fahrvergnuugen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HCCDesignGuy View Post

Not sure if I missed this in your strings of posts but many Marantz receivers of this age require 5 wire crossover cables & also require pin9 connect straight through for a ground reference ( I assume ) I've worked on many of these which had come out @ various times in he life cycle and had to do different things to get RS232 to work ( using Crestron control systems )
In all these instances, the documentation made no mention of this... It was just some last ditch efforts made before boxing up the receiver.

I have tried both a straight thru (all 9 pins connected) and null modem (cross over) cables. Neither one worked. Is there another kind?
I ruled the cable out because the cable I was using worked fine on my friend's SR7001.
fahrvergnuugen is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 08-07-2012, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Have you searched at remotecentral.com?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 08-08-2012, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
fufik651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Prague,Czech republic
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fufik651 is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off