New to Automation - Questions about Controller and software. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 08-02-2012, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
So I'm setting up my home theater and I'm new to automation. I have a 50" Panasonic Plasma for the kids to play games on and such, then a 106" Screen that will lower in front of it for movie time. Basically what I want to do is is a one room solution where I can:

- Turn one/off lights and ceiling fan (Wifi)
- Turn on/off TV or Projector (50" Panny Plasma and Panny 100U) - (IR)
- Lower/Raise Projection Screen (IR)
- Turn on/off Denon (IR)
- Turn on/off HTPC (IR)
- Control XBMC and Windows Media Center
- Control Thermostat (wifi)

So I'm looking for something that support Wifi and IR w/ DIY install and a good UI on an android or iOS device. It has to be simple to use for wife/kids acceptance factor smile.gif

I was looking at a Control4 but didn't realize it was a closed system. I like their interface though and the abilities it has. I also looked at iRule and a VeraLite as maybe an option. Anyone else have a suggestion for systems similar to this? I'd love to have something simple to use like the Elan/Control4 interface, but not closed.

Right now I have no hardware as far as dimmers/switches/thermostat. So I'm open to anything.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance and feel free to follow up with any questions you may have for me. Have a great day guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-02-2012, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24