IR Light Switch for 10 Lights - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-27-2012, 12:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
penti01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have the Logitech Harmony One, so my choices are pretty much limited to IR.

My one requirement is that I want one that can control around 10 lights separately (actually, around 20, but some only need one control for 2-3 lights). I've been looking at the Lutron ones, but since I have lots, I don't want to have the switches take up so much space! Looking for something that takes up just one set that can handle all those.

Hope someone can suggest something.

::edit to add: even if it's not necessarily a switch, even if it's just the sensor so it's just controlled by the remote.
penti01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-29-2012, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'd start with a different remote.
cshepard is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-29-2012, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
penti01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshepard View Post

I'd start with a different remote.
I'd rather not spend for remote light switches AND a new remote, not until I make a new set-up from the ground up..
penti01 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-29-2012, 08:41 PM
Member
 
sv650s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.lutron.com/Products/WholeBuildingSystems/Grafik4000/Pages/Overview.aspx
A 6 load and a 4 load will fill your needs and you then can put scene controllers where ever you want. You trigger scenes on the g eye.
sv650s is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-30-2012, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,330
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Is this for new construction or for retrofit? That can change the answer dramatically...

For new construction, if there's a lot of switches / loads near each other (even in different, adjacent rooms), the GrafikEye is definitely one to look at. If you can utilize a 6 or 8-zone GE setup, it will be cheaper than individual controllable dimmers (or at least, easier to deal with).

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-31-2012, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
az1324's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Are all the lights in the same room or are you going to carry around the Harmony?

Some combination of Insteon IRLinc, Switchlinc, InlineLinc may work for you.
az1324 is offline  
Reply Home Automation

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off