Cheapest Z-Wave controller? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 08-30-2012, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for the least expensive option out there. I plan on hooking up maybe 4-5 z-wave light switches, and maybe a z-wave door lock. Also, is there any inexpensive way to have IR control of the zwave controller? I plan on doing all installation myself so I'm not looking to go with a "dealer only" product. Thanks for any recommendations.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 08-30-2012, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter

What about having control via iphone/android?
post #3 of 11 Old 08-30-2012, 02:56 PM

I would love to know some answers to this as well!
post #4 of 11 Old 08-31-2012, 05:01 AM

Liked: 11
If ZigBee is OK instead of ZWave (big IF, I know), the ISY-994i Z can do it and it has IR built in. It's the closest solution I can think of, but I'm no expert.

Maybe someone else knows of a version for ZWave.

post #5 of 11 Old 08-31-2012, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I've been thinking of taking the Z-Wave plunge myself. I've been eying the MiCaseVerde Vera 3 or the Homeseer Hometroller. But not sure what you consider *cheap*. They are $300 / $500 respectively. eek.gif

I don't mind spending a little bit of dough, but want to make damn sure that it is worth it!

------

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #6 of 11 Old 08-31-2012, 09:27 AM

I'm reading that Z-wave isn't super-reliable. Apparently it's susceptible to interference. Insteon appears to be more reliable. I have no experience, this is only what I've been reading.
post #7 of 11 Old 08-31-2012, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey Ervin View Post