Home Automation in the UK - Lighting and Power control @240v - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 09-19-2012, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for a central controller that i can wire all my sensors to (PIR's, Thermostats, Light switches etc ...) and that I can program to control all my outputs such as lights, electric heaters and alarm sounders etc .....

I am a PLC software engineer so familiar with writing control programs but I have no experience of what may be available for applications in the home. Key to all of this is the ability to do everything at 240v if possible. All help & advice greatly appreciated. Just need pointers to whichever control equipment suppliers may have that kind of kit.

I am hoping that it is possible to interface to the chosen controller using smartphone/tablet/laptop or the like using WiFi or even Blutooth. Intention is that the user can set parameters and control the system from a handheld device or a local touchscreen

Thanks in advance for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 09-19-2012, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Take a look at CQC, a pc-based system. I've seen some screen shots of EU installs.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
post #3 of 13 Old 09-19-2012, 10:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Keeping in mind that that is a custom built screen. You won't get that out of the box.

Dean Roddey
Chairman/CTO, Charmed Quark Systems, Ltd

www.charmedquark.com

post #4 of 13 Old 09-19-2012, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter

Am OK with custom building the screens. Key element to all of this is that I find a controller that works directly with 240V I/O.