Quote for NYC 3BR apartment - $50K for Crestron system. Feels like a rip-off, but I'm new to this. Some insight would be appreciated. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 56 Old 11-20-2012, 08:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am moving into a 3BR apartment in Manhattan next year that's currently under construction. The apartment size is about 2000 sq feet.

The developer connected me with a friend of his who runs a company that sells Crestron. The company gave me a quote on the different systems I could buy to fully automate my apartment. The big selling point they're pushing is that they will have special access by the developer to do pre-wiring before the sheetrock goes up in my unit. They claim that the installation costs will be 2-3x what they are quoting today if I were to do this after the apartment is built and the walls are all up. I can see the appeal of doing the pre-wiring before the walls go up, as it makes logical sense to me that it should be a lot easier to deal with than to have to do some type of cut and paste job later on, although I'm not sure if that should be that much more expensive given their current quote is extremely expensive in my mind. This is my first time dealing with any of this, so I'd appreciate some insight.

The details of the quote:

Audio:
Head-end, rack, 4 sets of episode-500 in-wall speakers around the apartment and Crestron AES to control the audio.
Equipment: $13K, Wiring $1.5K, Installation 4.5K, Head End assembly and testing 1K, programming 2.5K, project management 0.5K totalling 24K

Shade control wiring and integration:
Wiring: 1K, Installation 2.5K, programming 1.5K, total of 5K

Lighting Control:
Crestron Lighting processor and gateway, 6 Crestron dimmers, 6 Crestron 4-way keypads, 6 Crestron Light Switches
Equipment: 5K, Installation 2K, programming 2K, total of 9K

Climate Control:
7 Crestron Thermostats