Building House - Elve or Homeseer? Insteon or Zwave? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 11-27-2012, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am fairly new to the home automation scene but I am doing my best to get up to speed figuring everything out. After a huge amount of research I have noticed two things - Elve and Insteon together represents the cheapest route to automating your lighting, etc. Does this follow the "get what you pay for" saying and I would be paying for junk? Does anyone have previous experience with both insteon and ZWave devices and could offer some explanation as to why almost every Zwave device (except for GE brand) seems to be twice as much as the corresponding Insteon device? Is Homeseer 4x better than Elve since it costs 4x as much to buy? Here is a list of things I would like to do int eh house>:

- Lighting (Insteon or Zwave devices)
- Home Theater (remotely control a Denon AVR-2809CI, an Epson 3020 projector, and a Cable Box)
- HVAC (2 thermostats)
- Whole Home Audio (4 zones, Sonos)
- 4x4 HDMI Distribution

After meeting with several dealers in town it became apparent i will need to DIY this thing. The Control4 dealers want a minimum of mid-20k to do everything, and the prices for other brands just goes up from there. Does anybody have a similar setup using Homeseer or Elve that would care to comment on some of the pitfalls I might face using said solutions? Is one considerably better than the other?

Thanks in advance!

DWP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 11-27-2012, 02:36 PM
LVS
Advanced Member

Liked: 17