ELAN System in new Home - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 12-27-2012, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I am very new to the Home Automation system, so I hope you will all forgive me for my ignorance. I recently moved in to a home that has an integrated speaker system in the ceilings throughout the home and on the porch. No controller was present when I moved in, but in the documentation left behind by the previous owners I see they had an invoice for the ELAN system (ELAN 600 and ELAN 660). I believe I found the connection location which appears to be a CAT5 (QTY 2) and a standard telephone cable.

In my research on the internet I see that the ELAN 600 is the controller and they 660 is the amplifier. I have found a few systems on Ebay, but I am not sure its worth procuring. My desire is not to utilize the telephone paging capabilities, but to use the system to distribute music throughout the house.

Anyone have any ideas or recommendations for me?

Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 12-29-2012, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Not familiar with that system, but where do all the speaker wires go? Are they exposed somewhere or do they go to a panel (Elan)? Are there volume controls in each room with speakers?

Guessing if you don't care about the telephone aspects, you'll be better off with a new system and utilize the speakers in place. We'll have to know what wiring is where to give any advice on what system to use...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

post #3 of 5 Old 12-30-2012, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10