TCP/IP on powerlines-based systems? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > A/V Control & Automation > Home Automation > TCP/IP on powerlines-based systems?

Home Automation

HSPalm's Avatar HSPalm
04:09 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 5
12-30-2012 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Hi, first post here.
There are plenty of TCP/IP over powerline adapters available http://www.conrad.com/Powerline-Sets-%26amp;-Accessories.htm?websale7=conrad-int&ci=SHOP_AREA_17132_0415139

I have tried hard to find home automation products that use this technology, but have failed. This would have all the benefits of a wireless system (no extra wiring) without the downsides of wireless signals (plus, two-way communication would be easier).

So is there anything like this out there?

Thanks,
Henrik
jautor's Avatar jautor
03:05 PM Liked: 379
post #2 of 5
12-30-2012 | Posts: 8,313
Joined: Jun 2001
Don't know of any. The market for automation components is already small. If you couple a product to powerline networking, it further limits it. The wireless systems have already been cost-optimized, I don't think we'll see much movement into powerline...
Neurorad's Avatar Neurorad
05:43 PM Liked: 81
post #3 of 5
12-30-2012 | Posts: 5,112
Joined: Sep 2007
What specifically are you trying to accomplish Henrik?
HSPalm's Avatar HSPalm
03:33 AM Liked: 10
post #4 of 5
01-17-2013 | Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
So sorry for my late reply.

What I am trying to accomplish is basic on/off switching of lighting. Without the need for extra wiring, without the need for wireless signals. By using the power lines as a way of communicating.
Reply Home Automation

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3