TCP/IP on powerlines-based systems? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-30-2012, 03:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
HSPalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, first post here.
There are plenty of TCP/IP over powerline adapters available http://www.conrad.com/Powerline-Sets-%26amp;-Accessories.htm?websale7=conrad-int&ci=SHOP_AREA_17132_0415139

I have tried hard to find home automation products that use this technology, but have failed. This would have all the benefits of a wireless system (no extra wiring) without the downsides of wireless signals (plus, two-way communication would be easier).

So is there anything like this out there?

Thanks,
Henrik
HSPalm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-30-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Don't know of any. The market for automation components is already small. If you couple a product to powerline networking, it further limits it. The wireless systems have already been cost-optimized, I don't think we'll see much movement into powerline...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-30-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
What specifically are you trying to accomplish Henrik?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-17-2013, 02:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
HSPalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So sorry for my late reply.

What I am trying to accomplish is basic on/off switching of lighting. Without the need for extra wiring, without the need for wireless signals. By using the power lines as a way of communicating.
HSPalm is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-17-2013, 04:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Check out UPB.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_powerline_bus

http://www.cocoontech.com/portal/articles/reviews/home-automation/383-automating-your-home-with-upb?showall=1

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off