How does CEC work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-01-2013, 05:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
stefuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marshfield, MA, USA
Posts: 5,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I want to take my old projector down which was controlled via serial and replace it with a Samsung UN65ES8000. From a automation point of view, I only see IR as a option. Then it was suggested that CEC might be a option. The AVR in the rack (50 feet away)will provide the audio and all source switching. So all I need to run to this location is one HDMI cable, one ethernet cable and a extension for a IR emmiter (if I use IR). All I really need to do is turn it on/off. So how does CEC work and is it a good option if I only want it for power?

Current owner of the last/best AmPro on the planet. The mighty 4600HD, and it's still running...better than Barco's, especially southern ones.
stefuel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-02-2013, 12:34 AM
Member
 
SweetSpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most of the current Samsungs (including the one you listed) have an RS232 (EX-Link) port, so you could simply use that rather than go through the trouble of injected CEC commands--which require even more equipment to do so. If you're controlling with Crestron send me a PM and I can send you a working module.
SweetSpot is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-03-2013, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefuel View Post

So how does CEC work and is it a good option?

Poorly, and no.
cshepard is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-04-2013, 10:10 AM
Member
 
SweetSpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshepard View Post

Poorly, and no.

I use CEC control of displays almost exclusively (including some source devices) when working with Crestron DM systems and it works perfectly.
SweetSpot is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-22-2013, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I didn't read in the OP that he was using Crestron.
cshepard is offline  
Reply Home Automation

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off