Elan D16 - Reprogram to function as S1616a? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > A/V Control & Automation > Home Automation > Elan D16 - Reprogram to function as S1616a?

Home Automation

Scottthorton's Avatar Scottthorton
12:10 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 3
01-23-2013 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2013
I am an avid AV home owner. I have been advised by my very trusted AV professional that I should buy a used Elan D16 and that he can reprogram it to function as what is essentially a S1616a. Is this true? I am only asking because I cannot find it mentioned anywhere in any of the forums or info available online. I trust this guy very much, I just want a second opinion that what he says can be done, can be done. This is a true D16 not a 1650, etc..
az1324's Avatar az1324
03:13 PM Liked: 21
post #2 of 3
01-23-2013 | Posts: 380
Joined: Dec 2004
I have no experience with these products, but it sounds like the S1616A is just a firmware upgrade from the D16 so it's probably possible, but probably not ELAN approved unless they are getting an upgrade fee somewhere. So if you do it keep it on the DL. wink.gif
Scottthorton's Avatar Scottthorton
05:20 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 3
01-23-2013 | Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2013
Thank you. It certainly seems like an economical way to get where I need to go. I had my doubts, but love getting a second opinion. He is a talented deisgner, been with me for 20 years.
Reply Home Automation

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3