Are there any simple switched power outlets that work with a 12V trigger? - for sub-woofer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
metropole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of upgrading my receiver. My current receiver has a switched power outlet. The one doesn't.
However, I like the idea to cut power form my sub when the receiver is off.

Are there any simple switched power outlets that work with the receivers 12V trigger?
metropole is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2013, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by metropole View Post

I am in the process of upgrading my receiver. My current receiver has a switched power outlet. The one doesn't.
However, I like the idea to cut power form my sub when the receiver is off.

Are there any simple switched power outlets that work with the receivers 12V trigger?

They are, but not exactly cheap. Niles AC-3:

http://www.nilesaudio.com/product.php?prodID=AC-3&recordID=120Volt%20AC%20Power%20Switching%20Systems&categoryID=Switching%20Systems&catcdID=&prdcdID=FG00242

Does your subwoofer not have an automatic on/off?

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Old 01-28-2013, 07:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
metropole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NW Chicago burbs
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty sure that my sub has an automatic on/off.

Just like the idea. smile.gif
metropole is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Totalcontrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monroe NJ
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have been using the WattBox line which has full IP control.

Total Control Remotes
www.totalcontrolremotes.com
Totalcontrol is offline  
Old 01-31-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,327
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by metropole View Post

I am pretty sure that my sub has an automatic on/off.

Just like the idea. smile.gif

Note that if you're doing this to "save power", the cost of any of these switching devices at >$50 would take years to break even (and that's assuming the sub's standby power isn't a modern <1W standby - ratings for EnergyStar, etc.)

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Old 02-01-2013, 09:00 PM
Newbie
 
controlguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could also do something like an AMX PC1. New price is actually a little higher than the Niles (and only through an AMX dealer), but you can usually find them on ebay for $50 or less.

http://www.amx.com/products/PC1.asp
controlguy is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off