Home Automation: Control4 , Creston or Lutron????? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 02-26-2013, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, my name is Daniel... I'm an argentinian automation engineer and in a few weeks i'm going to miami for vacations, but i want to see some product's for home automation... i have experience programing industrial PLC (Schneider, Siemmens, etc) and this will be the first at home.... I want to know which is the best product and the more advance to program... i hear all of you!!! Thanks!!! Daniel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 11
Do you want to have the installation done by a professional where you will be locked out of the system (ir must have the professionals come back to make any future changes) or do you want to have more of a DIY scenario where you install and maintain the system?

The two methods are very different obviously. The Pro method has an expensive upfront cost and can be limiting with regards to updates. The DIY method can also be relatively expensive (although definitely cheaper than Pro when talking about $ out of pocket), but is certainly MUCH more labor and time intensive. You do have the flexibility to change the system whenever you want however.

You have to decide which method you want to go with because generally speaking the Pro hardware/software is only available through your dealer while the DIY solutions are available to the end user, but generally speaking there is no support to Pro help to set them up.

- Brian

CQC user since 2005

SageTV user since 2007

PBX in a Flash user since 2012

post #3 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter

I want the DIY method, i like to have the control of all the devices in my house and the modifications. And if i want to do a control loop in the future, or something more i will don't have problems.